We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lambs Green Inn

Lambs Green Inn
Ranked #23 of 97 Restaurants in Wimborne
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lambs' Green Inn in Corfe Mullen is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The inn has recently been through a major revamp, and excellent it is too. Ok the new ale pumps don't always perform, but the overall pre-Christmas aura is exactly what is expected.
We had the tasting platter (£11.95) which was comprised of an absolutely delicious brie and onion marmalade brulee, chicken in a paprika crumb, very fatty pork belly fritters, beer battered mushrooms, rather solid lamb meatballs and just the right quantity of crusty bread with mango and pineapple salsa and plenty of caramelised garlic and parsley mayonnaise. So much detail was presented well.

We consumed two medium (175ml) Mendozan Malbec, Argentos (£9.20) which were rich and intense as promised but I wouldn't go so far as to say the wine was smooth.

Overall, our experience was very good, and we will return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorsetgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    154
    93
    66
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice refit”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A really good job. Really lovely refit love the layout and decor. Be proud to take the family there.
Been a regular for 30+ years and this is the best its ever looked. Most of the staff are so happy and smiley but one or two could lighten up a bit.We are there to chill and enjoy thats what we pay for. A SMILE AND WILLING SERVICE is all we require to go with the great improvements from all the staff please. But WELL DONE, Great job.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tammydog51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still disappointing, but great location”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

So I used to come here a lot with my boyfriend and we stopped coming due to dirty glasses, burnt food, slow service even when quiet.

We arrived at around 230pm, we haven't booked and we were shown to a small table at the bar area. Service was fab, really lovely friendly staff who were attentive and aware...
We ordered some antipasti with olives and chicken strips to start, all lovely apart from I didn't see the point of the antipasti, there was I think. 3 different types of thinly cut meat, and there was two pieces each for around £5, I just thought that was horrendous.
I ordered a chicken breast stuffed with goats cheese foam....there was zero cheese in it and the chicken was burnt at the bottom to the point I couldn't cut it and had to tear the chicken with my fingers. The good note was my boyfriend ordered the steak and this was lovely..perfectly dome and perfect chips.
Did seem to take a while to actually pay, but all in all it does look like it's getting better again and will go back. I would just prefer the food wasn't cremated!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This looks good from the outside and is very pleasant inside. There is a good selection of food and it is pretty tasty. The ribeye steak had a little fat on it but it was cooked exactly to my liking and the desserts were delicious (especially peanut butter cheesecake). One tiny gripe was that no-one came to ask us if we wanted desserts and we eventually went and got desserts board ourselves! Small issue though - would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent, great manager lovely food, great service”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We visit this pub every Saturday as we live up the road we love it, Lesley the manageress always goes that extra mile to make our visit special, as does Georgina, her team are friendly and food excellent.
Claire

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clairefro4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lambs Green Inn also viewed

 
West Parley, Dorset
 

Been to Lambs Green Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing