We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“something for everyone at Honeybrook”
Review of Honeybrook Farm

Honeybrook Farm
Ranked #1 of 5 Fun & Games in Wimborne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A Traditional, Working Farm. We open to the public offering lots to do for children and families. Honeybrook is also a Beautiful venue for Weddings, Parties, Special Occasions and Events. We too run Wild Skills Adventures for children and young people as well as Workshops and Adult Courses in Traditional Crafts. Open seven days a week 10am - 5pm. No need to book in Easter and Summer School Holidays (much to contrary belief!) In the future we may introduce a system in the colder, quieter months whereby we would ask that you call in the morning to inform us of your visit so we can ensure we have everything open and running for you. However we would never turn you away! For a Family Day Out - River Trails, Farm Animals, Pets Corner, Tractor Rides, Pony Rides and Grooming, Adventure Play Area, Big Bouncing Pillow, Water Splash Pad, Soft Play Barn. The Wonkey Goose Cafe sells freshly ground coffee, teas and hot and cold food. Workshops and Craft Courses. Children and Young People: Wild Skills - Learn exciting Outdoor Survival Skills! Tie knots, track animals, build a den, light fires, forage for food, skin a rabbit, gut a fish and get cooking on your open fire. Watch Ranger demos and get hands on - A sense of Fun and Appropriate Clothing is the only requirement! Day courses in Traditional Crafts such as Pole Lathing, Clay Cob Oven Building, Introduction to Blacksmithing, Foraging, Porcelain Flower Making and many more. A Popular Wedding and Party Place - The Great Barn has a registered Ceremony Room and Bar, the Orchard is a beautiful spot for a Marquee if that is preferred and the Stone Circle next to the River is a magical place for a Handfasting - with vintage wagons, tractors and horses it is an ideal venue!
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“something for everyone at Honeybrook”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Since the new chef entered Honeybrook Farm I can truly say this is a great day out for EVERYONE. The kids can still cuddle bunnies and play in the amazing adventure playground and the adults can enjoy amazing food at reasonable prices. Sunday lunch was wonderful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    55
    31
    20
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Plenty to do..”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Recent first time family visit to Honeybrook Farm. Turned out to be a very good day out - we stayed for five hours! Excellent play area and unique giant bouncy pillow! Plenty to see for all, not just kids.
Food looked a little overpriced and unappealing though - I saw a very tired looking Panini pass by whilst we had an ice-cream in the café. Take a picnic as there are plenty of places to sit out and eat. Despite it being the summer hols the place never felt overcrowded.
Has all the facilities of nearby Farmer Palmers and at least half the price. To all those who say the recent price hike has put them off I say just consider what other similar attractions charge for a day out. Will definitely return again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JDL72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We went to Honeybrook farm on Sunday , our first port of call were the haunted rooms , very unexpected , but very well done . Met new arrivals peppa and George , two very cute little piglets from Cornwall . Staff very friendly and knowledgable, happy to answer any questions. Lots of animals to see, and many beautiful walks and picnic areas to enjoy, where chickens and other wildfowl are free to roam. Excellent cafés and amenities. Several original gypsy bow top wagons on display, which we were told are going to be restored to their former glory, which we look forward to seeing completed.
Will definatly be going back, thanks Honeybrook, a great day out,!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janeystewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We visited Honeybrook farm with our friends this weekend.
On arrival we waited at the entrance as there was an issue with the till, the member of staff went off to find someone to help. We waited whilst another member of staff came to have a look, but they weren't sure, so we waited some more. Eventually someone came and took a look and managed to fix it, in fairness the staff were friendly and apologised, but it appeared to be very unorganised. So we went off to have a look around, we arrived just after lunch so decided to get something to eat. We went the the cafe immediately inside of the farm, we looked through the menu and went and placed our order. The first choice wasn't available as there was a problem with the equipment and they couldn't use the cooker. So we made our second choice, paid and sat down.

The food came out pretty quickly and on first looked good, 3 of us had the Honeybrook Farm Special burger. When one of the group bit into their burger it was raw! it was bright red. We then checked ours and the middle of the burger was stone cold and red raw. I went to approach two members of staff who were stood outside talking, I waited for them to finish and they both just walked off. The guy serving then came outside so I showed him, he apologised and asked for a refund. He questioned whether both parties had paid which we had as both himself and the chef served us. He asked if we were sure that we had paid, then took one of the burgers to pay the chef.He came back out a little later and gave us our money back, however, when we checked the price of the meal we hadn't been given enough. So I went in to speak to them, I had to explain what had happened and they then managed to sort the right amount.

This had put a real dampener on the visit, the rest of the farm was OK. But wouldn't be somewhere I would rush back to and I would not eat at their restaurant again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ianb201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was looking for somewhere to meet my sister and her family and Honeybrook Farm came to my attention via a flyer in a tourist info point.
Although it is not well sign posted it is still easy to find north of Wimborne. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the facilities are very good for this type of attraction with several unusual ones. There is a fountain area where the children can wander about getting thoroughly soaked which at the moment is great fun. 30C today! Also access the the river which follows through the site giving the children a chance to do some fishing with nets or just paddle and cool down.
The special daily events such as feeding the calves are announced across the whole site by loudspeaker which is a great idea. The food and drinks available are all good value and there is a good choice.
At £5 per adult entry fee it is great value and we all had a really good time. I recommend this place for all ages up to about 12 unless you are animal mad in which case age is no barrier to having a good time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cjvalawrence1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Honeybrook Farm also viewed

 

Been to Honeybrook Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing