We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monday Menu”
Review of The Tickled Pig

The Tickled Pig
Ranked #1 of 97 Restaurants in Wimborne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set in picturesque Wimborne Minster, The Tickled Pig serves an eclectic array of traditional British and modern European cuisine. Proudly growing many of their own ingredients, The Tickled Pig also uses produce sourced from the finest local suppliers. The daily changing menu of fresh seasonal produce allows the passionate chefs to create a tantalising menu including delicious seafood and meat dishes.
New Forest
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Monday Menu”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The £20 Monday Evening Menu at the Tickled Pig continues to be excellent value, showcasing local seasonal produce cooked to perfection and served by friendly, knowledgeable staff. Restaurants having a fixed menu can occasionally cause me a problem due to a couple of food allergies, but the Tickled Pig is always flexible and will produce an alternative without any fuss - nothing is too much trouble and the welcome is always warm and inviting. I will continue to be a regular at this lovely restaurant!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Forest54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    107
    55
    31
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best in town”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our meal here last Monday was the most recent of many we have eaten in the last two years. It's the best restaurant in town. Ingredients are mostly local and top quality, menu is interesting and cooking makes the best of the fresh ingredients, service is friendly and efficient and surroundings are very nice. We'll keep going back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveandFranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Arrived not looking too smart after a day at beach but we're made to feel very welcome superb meal, lovely fresh ingredients, fab ethos of most of menu home grown or very local. 7 year old grandson summed it up in one word delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ruth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food but no pig!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have seen plenty of adverts for The Tickled Pig and so we decided to try it for a summer lunch. On arrival we found a warm welcome waiting for us and were shown to a large (for 2) and comfortable table. The menu is relatively short using fresh local seasonal ingredients and we both fancied the slow roast pork, but unfortunately this was the one dish not available! After some delicious sourdough bread, we instead settled for lamb and rump steak, both of which were served with an excellent variety of vegetables. We also really enjoyed the Apple and Elderflower Presse, which was one of a number of different soft drinks available. The menu appears to change regularly and we will definitely be back to try the next offering in the autumn.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
145 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Continues to be good!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Dinner for three was really good - all the starters and mains were outstanding (we didn't have dessert)and the staff were spot on. Although we were early (1845) the restaurant was very busy - testament to the consistently high quality of food and service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Redbaron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tickled Pig also viewed

Wimborne, Dorset
Sturminster Marshall, Wimborne
 

Been to The Tickled Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing