We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not sure” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cantina

Cantina
Ranked #3 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Wimborne
Cuisines: Cafe, Mexican, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Newly opened in prenises previously occupied by Banana Moon.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
833 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Not sure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We were looking for somewhere for lunch and decided to try Cantina. The owner was in the doorway calling out to people going past to see if they wanted to come in for lunch. To be fair he was quite friendly and asked us if we had come on a recommendation but we had not. He was a bit pushy and we could see that some of the other customers who came after us were not overly keen on his style/manner.

We sat downstairs and ordered coffees and butternut squash soup. Everything was fine and the coffee came with shortbread which is a nice touch. It was all quite reasonably priced and the menu offered varied lighter bites from sandwiches to cakes.

Downstairs there are about 4 tables and upstairs there are tables and chairs as well as sofas. The toilet is also upstairs. The place is all done out in a shabby chic style which works. They also have an outdoor seating area along the same row of properties in what looks like a former garage but it would suit anyone who doesn't mind fresh air and there was a couple sitting out there on some picnic style benches.

Not sure if I would go back as the owner put me off a bit but he probably means well, just comes across as a bit desperate. They do also offer a loyalty card so that you can get a free drink after a certain number of visits.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AngieP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    17
    5
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I work in Wimborne and have been in the cafe a couple of times now. Each time I have been left feeling cold as to the attitude of who i can only assume is the owner. He is extremely rude and condescending and i have to say alot of the people i have spoken to have expressed the same option. Shame really as this cafe used to be lovely under the previous owners!! The food is also very over priced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MoFoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe for breakfast or coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We called in at Cantina having smelled the lovely smell of bacon cooking from outside and we weren't disappointed! This is a friendly little coffee shop tucked away in Church Street - it serves a really good range of coffees, teas and drinks. We had bacon sandwiches which were perfectly freshly cooked (& no soggy bacon) served on soft focaccia rolls - gorgeous!
The owner is friendly and does do a great juggling act, there's an upstairs eating area although we've yet to try it and they offer a takeaway service. We were given a loyalty card so hope to come back for lunch soon as the tapas platter looked great.
Definitely worth a visit here instead of the large high street chain version!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food and coffee, lunch for 2 about £15.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Seemed to be the only place in Wimbourne that does food after 2.30pm, so not much other choice, however were both very pleased. Owner is a bit of a character too, amazing how many orders one man can juggle, but kept everyone happy. Would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank winters_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place, brilliant bacon and cheese sandwiches!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We called in after walking around Wimborne for 30 minutes trying to find something to eat. The milkshakes are good, I had mint choc chip, which is a change from the banana, chocolate and strawberry that you are offered at other resturants. Then we come to the food. The bacon and cheese sandwichs/baps are excellent, one of the best I have eaten. We met the owner, a nice, friendly man, as was with the girl he had in there helping. Overall a great place and can thoroughly reccomend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannypenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing