We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Fish and Chips in Dorset”

Long John’s Fish & Chips
Ranked #60 of 97 Restaurants in Wimborne
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Traditional Fish & Chip shop, producing delicious and freshly prepared Fish & Chips... which is why we have been in business for over four generations and now run SEVEN Fish & Chip takeaways and restaurants across Dorset..
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in Dorset”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I visit Longs on average once a week. The fish and chips are exceptional , especially when Alan is frying! Light batter, never oily, and the serving staff are lovely. I ve yet to find anywhere that serves better. If you re in Wimborne, give them a try, you won t regret it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jill190872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top Chippy”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Have been using this on a weekly basis for the last 20 years and can't see me changing. The haddock is always melt in the mouth and as they cook to order the fish and chips are always piping hot and taste really fresh. They also seem to staff up appropriately as at busy times they'll open up a second till, so you never wait much more than 5 minutes

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Depends which day you go”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We really like long johns and their fish and chips are usually pretty good. However depending which day you go, sometimes they're great and other times just a bit soggy. Would be perfect if just a bit more consistent

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ourseveninches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, shame about the food. I wish there was another fish an chip shop in wimborne so I can eat them again”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Used to be great a few years ago, but the last few times I have been over the last couple of years it has been a poor standard of fish and chips. Would not eat here again unless they up the quality. Its a shame this is the only fish and chips in Wimborne

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goodvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fresh crisp battered fish”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Cod and haddock were both fresh, well cooked with very good batter, in appropriate portions. On the evening we visited the chips were anaemically pale and inclined to dampness, not a 'crispy bit' in the bag - not so good - thus only four stars.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sooobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Long John’s Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Long John’s Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing