We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Holme Bush Inn

The Holme Bush Inn
Ranked #32 of 97 Restaurants in Wimborne
Price range: US$0 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our friendly team are ready to welcome you 7 days a week, and we aim to bring you the very best hospitality that Dorset has to offer. When possible, our chef's only use locally raised meat, seafood caught off the Jurassic Coast, and locally grown vegetables, which are all prepared fresh each day, cooked on the grill, griddle or oven roasted, and are never frozen. We pride ourselves on offering a wide choice of home cooked food, wine from around the world, draft and bottled beers and real ales, as well as great tea and coffee, and most importantly a warm and inviting welcome to our local community and tourists alike
Poole
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is a small country pub with home cooked food and great service.. The last time we visited we also enjoyed a fantastic guitarist/singer who played some of the best live music I've heard in years. For 3 hours without a break! They also seem to do camping there as well..

Better than a Wetherspoons! We'll be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    6
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A very tasty well presented Sunday lunch A**”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

A really enjoyable Sunday lunch. Good home cooked food served by a very polite waitress. Homemade apple pie and custard is highly recommended. Beautiful garden and views, especially in the sun. Will definitely be going back when we're in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mnjr0198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good traditional Pub Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Visited the Holme Bush on many occasions and have never been let down by its food. Menu is varied and extremely good value. You have to wait for the food as it's cooked only when ordered. The landlady cooks the food and always seems willing to adapt the menu to suit your individual needs. Good local fare and far better than that served in pub chains. Limited wine list but a good selection of draught beers. A real gem of a country pub and well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
1 review
“Great food reasonable priced with good atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We were a large party of 13 booked in for Sunday lunch, All the food arrived at the same time which is always hit and miss for a large party so were were duly impressed. We all, without exception, enjoyed our meals. Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant as was the atmosphere in the pub with a nice roaring fire which was very cosy on a wintry rainy day. All in all we had a lovely family lunch and would recommend the Holme Bush highly - the total bill was very reasonable and we will definitely return again, Nice to be in a traditional pub with a very cosy atmosphere. Most definitely worth a visit, . .,

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

My wife and I have passed this place so many times on business, and pleasure, but have never been in until this year.
We especially like the light bite meals, as they represent good value, good food, and good portion sizes. We don't all want gut buster meals that just lash out lots of cheap food. I enjoyed the actual taste of the food I was eating as it was not swamped in disguising sauces. I especially enjoyed the steak, and my wife loved the liver.
So homely, simple, well cooked food, with good variety, good specials, and nice staff. They have a good range of beers, and it all left me well satisfied.
We have now been three times, once with a group of eight people of all ages from 20 - 85, who were all well satisfied with what they received.
Well done Holme Bush, see you again soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Holme Bush Inn also viewed

Corfe Mullen, Wimborne
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 

Been to The Holme Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing