We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Holme Bush Inn

The Holme Bush Inn
Ranked #32 of 97 Restaurants in Wimborne
Price range: US$0 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our friendly team are ready to welcome you 7 days a week, and we aim to bring you the very best hospitality that Dorset has to offer. When possible, our chef's only use locally raised meat, seafood caught off the Jurassic Coast, and locally grown vegetables, which are all prepared fresh each day, cooked on the grill, griddle or oven roasted, and are never frozen. We pride ourselves on offering a wide choice of home cooked food, wine from around the world, draft and bottled beers and real ales, as well as great tea and coffee, and most importantly a warm and inviting welcome to our local community and tourists alike
Dorset
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch deal”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Cant fault the 2 for a tenner deal, we had roast dinners with real roast potatoes and the only criticism is that they should pop a yorkshire pud on every roast, it's only a couple of pennies but it completes the meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PinkPrincess24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    6
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awful rude man!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I'm not entirely sure if he was the landlord, but he was extremely rude to us - and told a group of us - to take off our hats. We had literally just walked through the door - it was cold outside and raining, so yes, we had hats and hoods on.

But apparently, he took offence and demanded that we take them off.

Rude man.

Helpful?
12 Thank LondonSkippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creekmoor
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food and nice atmosphere, but frosty management.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I visited the Holme Bush Inn as a volunteer driver with a party of 14. When I’d phoned ahead for some information, I’d found the reception frosty and not particularly helpful, so my hopes for an enjoyable lunch were not high. It wasn’t clear who I’d spoken to, but I suspect it was the landlady. As it happened, upon arrival the bar maid was friendly and helpful. The fire was going, which added to the welcoming feel of the place. The waitress was very tolerant and helpful towards members of the party who needed assistance with choosing a meal, and was equally helpful as they each paid separately. Despite being the only customers there, the meals took a little longer to arrive than I would expect, but mine was very enjoyable, and the delay was probably due to the care taken in preparing the food. The toilets were clean and well maintained. I can quite believe the less than favourable experiences other reviewers have had here, as the management need to work on their interpersonal skills, and would do well to realise that Group Drivers are more inclined to recommend establishments that look after them.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank White-Knight-1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Celebration Of Angie Simms (Inside Out)”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Thu 6 March over 200 freinds & family attended a 'Celebration of Life' for Angie. The Landlord & Lady Terry & Jill hosted the masses excelently and prepare a very nice buffet. The Real Ale, beer and Spicy Run was flowing well and the Bar staff couped well. A favourite of Angie's and the Hashers and they did not let her down. There was ample parking for everyone. Thank You.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrBeaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Dorset's weekend of bad storms needed some good news, and the Holme Bush was just the ticket for a lunchtime snack. Set on the direct road from Upton to Corfe Mullen, the Inn is well located. The menu is reasonable and well produced, but not everything is always available. The kitchen contains good skills and one of us had an absolutely delicious avocado with stilton cheese special as a main course. She complimented this very highly and this sort of praise from her is not easily achieved! My cheddar ploughmans, with warm rolls, was balanced well, being filling but not too large. Perfect. The food here is very well crafted and two good lunches and drinks for less than £20 has to be excellent value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorsetgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Holme Bush Inn also viewed

Corfe Mullen, Wimborne
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 

Been to The Holme Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing