We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog friendly café” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Horns Inn

The Horns Inn
Ranked #33 of 97 Restaurants in Wimborne
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wirral
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dog friendly café”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

I'm writing this review mainly for dog owners. I knew this place was dog friendly but couldn't find any more info.
We were staying in a cottage nearby and decided to go to the Horns Inn for breakfast before our journey back home. We are glad we did!
Dogs are not allowed into the main cafe part but have to go into the wooden floored pub bar part of the building - this is helpfully signposted - where we had the same menu and friendly service. There was water available for the dog and a jar of dog biscuits to pick from.
Our breakfasts were great - eggs benedict and the English breakfast which was accurately described and was just right portion wise.
Would certainly visit again if in the area.

Helpful?
Thank WirralBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriWatts, Owner at The Horns Inn, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Ahhhhhh thanks - 4 legged guests are always more than welcome (even horses get a bucket of water and an apple or carrot!?) We're glad you enjoyed your breakfast too :) hopefully we'll see you soon if your this way again and Merry Christmas to you! Best wishes Lori & Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    32
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Give it a try.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

If like myself you haven't visited the horns for some time, pop in for some breakfast or/and cake. Lovely atmosphere, fab breakfast & lovely staff. I noticed the beautiful cakes, as wanted to give a cake to a local business I asked if I could order one. No problem & the lovely Laurie delivered it as well. True service. This lady thinks outside the box to improve her business. Lovely to have our local back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriWatts, Owner at The Horns Inn, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure and they thought the cake was soooooo good they came in a few days later for breakfast - win win :) Hope to see you soon, thanks again and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We went for a family lunch last weekend, we received a lovely warm welcome from the manager and staff, it was very comfortable and there was a relaxing atmosphere with a lovely wood burning fire. The freshly cooked food was delicious! I had the Horns burger which is especially tasty and the kids found it tricky to choose which of the chef's delicious cakes to have for pudding as they all looked so good! We will defiantly be retuning to the Cherry Rose Cafe! i would highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PJames525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriWatts, Owner at The Horns Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you so much - we enjoyed having you and the kids here! They are a credit to you, I'm just sorry we sent you home with them on a bit of a sugar high!? Next time the weather might be better and they can let of a bit of steam in the garden! Best wishes Lori & Team xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
1 review
“Yummy, friendly and welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a really nice place to come for breakfast, lunch or just tea and their gorgeous home made cakes. The staff are really warm and welcoming and made me feel at home as I was eating on my own. The food has a slight twist on your usual café menu and is definitely not boring. I had a latte and BLT sandwich which was lovely and really filling. It's a really lovely atmosphere and will be going back with friends for the 'Fish' night this Friday. Thank you - especially to the lovely waitress Elaine who was very helpful and friendly!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsFandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriWatts, Manager at The Horns Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you - you slapped a huge smile on Elaine when she read this morning and we all appreciate you kind comments. And thank you for personally telling me how much you enjoyed fish night - the band were fab! See you soon! Lori & Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verwood
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“busy new cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Popped in the Horns today for a lovely breakfast and it was! Sat by a warm fire and served by a friendly waitress. Atmosphere was welcoming and the chefs home made cakes were very tempting,I finished off with apple cake warmed with clotted cream and toffee sauce. Will definately be back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriWatts, Manager at The Horns Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you so much for your support, we hope to being seeing you a regular basis then! Best wishes Lori & Team xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horns Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Horns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing