We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insenstive beyond belief...”
Review of The Horns Inn

The Horns Inn
Ranked #32 of 97 Restaurants in Wimborne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Insenstive beyond belief...”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My family held a wake here earlier in the year for young mum taken before her time by cancer - it was an extremely sad affair. Everything was great up until the manager decided that (noisily) getting plates, cutlery etc ready to serve the food was way more important than the crowd hearing the bereaved husband deliver his eulogy despite being asked more than once to stop. She stated that she had to get the food out to 'get you out in time'. The insensitivity left me speechless.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank deezadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andi N, Manager at The Horns Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Im so sorry to hear about you poor standard of serve at The Horns Inn.


However, the Horns Inn was Taken over by new Management in May 2014. We would love you to come back and visit us, so we could have a coffee and a chat. Just ask for Andrea or Nikki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    35
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New Management”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a great value pub lunch, 2x fish and chips for £5 with huge portions and one Sunday Roast for £7.95. Friendly, welcoming staff and a large garden with toys for the little ones.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andi N, Manager at The Horns Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely Birthday lunch”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was one of a group of eleven who visited The Horns Inn on Bank Holiday Monday for a birthday lunch.
The pub is set in a beautiful area of Dorset with lovely views and we were made to feel very welcome by the new managers, David and Andrea New.
We all declared that the food we ordered was delicious and plentiful and were very surprised that, with the pub being so busy, the food was freshly cooked and delivered within fifteen minutes of ordering. We have visited other pubs in the area and have had to wait over half an hour before our order was delivered.
Unfortunately we didn't have enough room for a sweet or try the delicious cakes made by the chef.
I shall certainly use this pub again as the food was great and the welcome and service received was excellent.


I

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Place, Good food and drinks at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We like to come here every now and then and got to say always feel very welcome and very reasonable. The foods always good tastes fresh and I would say at a very good price for the quality. We will continue to visit this pub for food. As the staff are also very friendly
Thank you Horns

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great value for the quality”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Horns is a welcome and reasonable stop off after shopping in Wimborne. Indeed the A-Board on the Cranborne Road points you in the right direction to the Cherry Rose Cafe @ the Horns Inn. I had Eggs Ooh La La (£6.25) which consists of two poached eggs on an English muffin, with smoked salmon and hollondaise sauce. This could have had a plain presentation but the attention to detail with the mini-salad topped by a grape made all the difference. This was washed down with a 175ml glass of Pinot Grigio (£4.60) which was fruity and very good value. A problem with most H&W pubs in this area is that wine is highly priced to make you drink their beer, but that has been resisted here. Apparently the management is about to change again soon and if that is the case let's hope it maintains its recent improvement.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorsetgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horns Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Horns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing