We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Millstream Bistro

Millstream Bistro
Ranked #9 of 97 Restaurants in Wimborne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set in an idyllic location, surrounded by majestic trees and a tranquil riverside setting, The Millstream Bistro is well worth a visit. Each day there is a Specials Board offering a fine selection of affordable gourmet dishes. There is always a good choice for vegetarians, and we strive to provide for people with special dietary requirements. The Millstream Bistro is also available to hire for all those special occasions, with bespoke menus available. A variety of teas, coffees and soft drinks are always available. The Bistro is also fully licensed, offering wines, beers and Purbeck Cider.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Lovely setting and good food. We had driven down from London early morning and found this bistro for breakfast via trip advisor. The toasties were delicious and generous in portion and the coffee good.They were just putting on the hog roast when we arrived. Hope to return one evening when that is cooking.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oakes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    33
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Evening BBQ”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

What a lovely setting, friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help and lovely food freshly prepared on BBQ while we waited. Will definitely be returning

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Burnt Offering”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Took my mum for lunch.
The staff were charming and attentive, my garlic prawns and salad superb, my mums' chips perfect; but her pie...
You can't, as far as I know, burn a pie in a microwave.
So it must have been burnt, and I mean well and truly charred, before it went in there, turning already burnt pastry into something resembling cardboard, rendering it doubly indigestible.
It was then drowned in gravy, presumably in an effort to disguise the embers or perhaps to put out the flames!
I heard one of the girls explaining to another customer (who was complaining about the lack of gravy-presumably it was all on my mums' plate!) that the usual chef wasn't there today.
We told the girl about the burnt pie but there was no reduction in the bill, I expect she didn't feel she had the authority to offer one, so I felt unable to leave a tip.
A shame, everything else was great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishJim_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Disappointing Cream Tea”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed with the quality of the cream tea! Visited following the review on trip advisor "Wow, the best cream tea in Dorset!" Ordered a cream tea with tea for two. The pot of tea arrived and there was only just enough tea for one small cup each. Would have hoped for a larger pot and a second pot of hot water so that we could have topped the pot up. The tea had already been finished when the scones arrived.

One of the two scones crumbled into many pieces when cut in half and would have been impossible to butter and eat. This was returned and a replacement was provided. The scone was very dry.

A slice of cake also came with the cream tea, I chose the coffee and walnut which was delicious.

The setting wasnt particularly beautiful out the front of the cafe. It was ok but nothing special.

Overall I was very disappointed when comparing this cream tea with others I have experienced. Sadly disappointed!!!

Helpful?
Thank OorHuddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a celebration”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I booked an evening BBQ party for 75 people on the recommendation of someone who had had afternoon tea here. Great decision! From the start of planning to the end of the evening the staff were so helpful, the food was delicious and the setting informal and intimate. I will definitely revisit and be passing details of this hidden gem to anyone that I hear of who wants to hire a private venue.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniPFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Millstream Bistro also viewed

 
Sturminster Marshall, Wimborne
 

Been to Millstream Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing