We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New place looks great”
Review of The Minster Arms

The Minster Arms
Ranked #14 of 97 Restaurants in Wimborne
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Newly re-opened by new owners and with new manager and chefs. Traditional pub with an exceptional range of drinks to compliment a varied and inspiring menu. Dogs permitted in bar and courtyard area. Child-friendly. Open from 10am for breakfast. Serving light lunches and dinner.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New place looks great”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I went in years ago and it definitely looks completely different with a different feel to it. I love this kind of place, its decorated really nicely and gives you a homely feel. The manager was really friendly, made us feel welcome straight away. She happily chatted through the food and draught beers which is not often seen in places now, and experiences in other places are all the poorer for it.
I had the fish finger sandwich which I loved as a kid and was a treat, it was good and gave the homely, feel good to my meal. My partner had the burger and chips though and that was amazing, will be having one to myself next time.
Well worth a look.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    118
    59
    51
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better Than Ever”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The Minster Arms was always a bit ropey and run down but since it re-opened the place is looking great. There's a really good atmosphere there and the staff are great. The manager's called Kat and takes the time to chat and make sure you're okay.

There's a decent selection of beers and the outside seating area was a fantastic sun trap. We didn't eat this time but for somewhere to enjoy a few drinks it's one of the best in Wimborne.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank StewyGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Really loved the place. Nice feel and atmosphere. Staff friendly, polite and efficient. It's pretty huge but well thought out. Loved the Cyder! Liked the menu try the fish pot ;-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visiting the re-opened Minster Arms”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A visit to the Minster Arms under its new team was a very pleasing experience. Front of house staff were friendly and attentive. The food was excellent certainly not your bog standard "pub food". Prices were sensible considering the quality of the food. We will certainly be visiting the Minster Arms again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Checking out re-opened Minster Arms”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We called in Sunday lunchtime to see what changes had been made. We liked what we saw, the more spacious opened up interior, but unfortunately no diners.

We decided to have a pint each, the locally brewed beer was very tasty, but rather expensive at £3.70 per pint.

We located ourselves on the delightfully charming decked terrace/court yard, and were so comfortable we decided to have a light lunch, one camembert and one meat platter, both were very attractively served, tasty and we thought good value.

We will go back and try the dinner menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ejcannings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Minster Arms also viewed

 
Wimborne, Dorset
 

Been to The Minster Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing