We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great site and Sanbanks only 25 mins” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merley Court Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merley Court Holiday Park
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great site and Sanbanks only 25 mins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Been to this site about half a dozen times now. Mixture of tents, vans and motor homes. It has a heated outdoor pool which I have used once. Loads of kids in it but this week, hardly any.
ITthas a club house which serves food and drink. Bit expensive though. They'd got rid of all the arcades last time and installed new loos. Wasn't much for the kids to do.
There is a social clubs called the Cobham Sports and Social just through the woods where the cabins are. Costs 50p an adult, has a great playground for kids and the food is spot on at a reasonable price. Takes five minutes to walk.
Back to the site. Has plenty of loos but they seem to be getting dirtier as time goes on. The loos near the entrance (clock tower) seem to be the cleanest. Maybe it's because it's mainly caravans and motor homes at that end Nd these mainly cater for older people with not as many kids. The other block in the far corner can get a bit dirty especially when wet. Need a bit attention on the cleanliness stakes.
The site as a whole caters for all parties. From couples to large groups. If you want to get away early, the pitches that face the woods/log abins are ideal as they catch the sun and dries it our tent quicker.
Sanbanks is only 25 minutes away. There is parking at the beach for £1.50/hr. That's over ten quid a day. It was chocked when we went so parked where it is signed posted Alternative Parking on the front. I think the road is Haven Rd. In the end, we parked here each day. Dropped wife and kids off at the beach, parked down this road and saved myself over ten quid a day. It's a lot your going all week. Be prepared to walk about 20 minutes back to the beach. And ou pass a Tesco Express on the way.
As for Merley Court, great site but toilets could be cleaned more often.

Room Tip: Get a pitch facing the woods. Gets the sun in the morning. If you get one by the loos, expect lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Merley Court Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Merley Court Holiday Park.

We are pleased to hear you have visited several times and like the site.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the toilets, we shall pass these comments on to the park.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    39
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
66
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

we arrived at merley court on sat 17th august it was raining and our old tent got wet we got very wet inside it so the next day went off and bought a new tent - we planned to go to the local tip to throw the old one away but couldn't as we wasn't residents in the area, so we were left with a problem. I ran into one of the park wardens who was only too happy to help us and he took the canvas away for us another warden took a great big bag of poles too they couldn't have been more helpful - so thankyou very much .The campsite was immaculately kept and facilities were of a high standard the park rangers were always going round cleaning emptying bins picking up litter they worked very hard on this site and it showed. The bar was nice but food did take a long while to come out even when not really busy and the pool a little old could do with updating the shop was good although a little expensive but I found most campsites are though. All in all it is a lovely place to stay small enough for the kids to explore on their own mine made some friends and didn't want to go home!! Thanks merley court particularly the wardens who are great !!!

Room Tip: ask for pitch away from toilets and bins wasps attack!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 905karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Merley Court Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Merley Court Holiday Park.

We are so pleased to hear that the wardens helped you out with your old tent and were very helpful; we shall pass your thanks on.

We hope you will be visiting us again soon.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The kids had a great time as previous review this campsite is not massive so kids could play outside with their friends. Pool lovely and warm, lifeguard on duty when open. Great campsite but be awear of the noise from the evening entertainment, so if looking for quiet ask for a pitch neare the back away from the entrance. Nice and close to Sanbanks beach which rivals any beach in Spain and 10 mins from Tower park for those rainy days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Merley Court Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your review of Merley Court Holiday Park.

We are pleased to hear your family enjoyed their stay and we hope you will visit us again.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Have been here twice in the last 3 years, and both times we have found nothing to complain about. The pitches are flat and spacious, the bathroom facilities are very well kept, the shop is not overpriced and the clubhouse is a pleasant place to go for an evening's drink or two. The location makes places such as Bournemouth, Southampton or Salisbury less than an hour's drive away, and the New Forest is practically on your doorstep. A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cryptus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Merley Court Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Merley Court Holiday Park.

We are pleased to hear you recommend the site to others and hope you will visit again soon.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Not near beach but has a lovely pool, between ringwood and poole. The shower and toilet blocks are lovely and clean and plentiful, its not a big site so you can let the kids roam, it has a bar with some entertainment but low key, a spar shop so not hiked up prices. There is a lifeguard pool, a tennis court, pool table and a small playpark, and through the woods you can take a walk or bikeride on the castleman line (old railway now a path) to wimbourne or branksome, where there are streams and ropeswings and bridges to entertain on the way. A very chilled campsite and we got 3 nights for £82 last week giving us 4 lovely days for 6 people. We went the very first week of the summer holidays, I believe just before all the schools borke up, because of a few cheeky inset days and the site was half empty, the reception said when we left on thursday that they were fully booked on saturday! I know its not beach location, but its well worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Merley Court Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Merley Court Holiday Park.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the park and its facilities.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having camped here twice whilst visiting friends and visiting the south coast I would fully recommend this site to anyone. The pitch was nice and flat with electric hook up and drinking water tap nearby. The showers were hot and along with the toilets were kept immaculately clean. Staff in the shop were helpful, check in and out were both painless. Well located for Bournemouth and Durdle Door / Lulworth Cove which are well worth a visit. The pitch costs are not cheap but you get what you pay for and this is a first class camp site with excellent facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Merley Court Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Merley Court Holiday Park.

We are pleased to hear you had such a good stay and hope you will stay with us once again.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

+
fantatsic hot tub
well kept park
good base for visiting dorset coast
staff helpful

-
not a lodge, quite small
snags need looking at
lodges all in a row so no privacy in hot tub
swimming pool full because of touring park, strange atmosphere around pool for adults
quite expensive for what it is and where it is

Stayed in a Cranford "lodge" for 3 nights. The park is really well kept and staff were nice. The setting for the lodges is separate from the main touring park, with only around 8 "lodges".

The lodge was only 2 years old, and was very modern and nice, but in comparison to other lodges we ahve stayed in it is well below par for comfort and feeling homely. There was nothing left at all in the lodge, no cleaning products or bath mats and barely enough kitchen utensils to cook with. Other lodges we have stayed in have some form of welcome pack, if you want a lodge to be taken care of by guests you have to leave some products to help!

The lodge itself, isn't really a lodge, it's a large static caravan, which is fine (apart for it sounds like a caravan in the rain), but don't charge lodge rates. Everything was plastic.

There are some snags that need looking at such as no light in the bedroom except the bedside wall lights, the water was scolding hot with both taps in the kitchen labelled cold (obvious safety issue if you have children starting to help themself to water), the doors hadn't been painted and some didn't fit. The heating system seems to have a life of it's own and the exterior door handles were coming loose.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LampoonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Merley Court Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Merley Court Holiday Park.

We are sorry to hear you had some issues with your accommodation; however we do ask that any problems are raised at the time of your visit so they can be rectified while you are staying with us.

We are glad to hear you liked the campsite and found the staff helpful.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne
10.2 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
5.8 mi away
Oakdene Forest Park
Oakdene Forest Park
#2 of 4 in St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.7 mi away
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merley Court Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merley Court Holiday Park

Property: Merley Court Holiday Park
Address: Merley, Wimborne BN21 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Wimborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Merley Court Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merley Court Holiday Park Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing