We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
86
61
39
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
61
39
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister site hot tub touring park lovely site outdoor pool welcome pack shower block woodland lodge x box hard standing pitch lodge owners camping shop reception staff are bike ride sized pitches spent a week here woodland walk
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We had eight nights up until Easter Saturday. Two adults and a 4 year old. We enjoyed the holiday until midweek when people in tents turned up and we returned to find someone had flooded the awning and a side table was missing. Some people felt it ok to play frisbee or football (until late in the evening) around our pitch, ride bikes etc over the pitch between the car and caravan, use our water tap, random shouting and swearing etc.

The site is well located for visits to Adventure Land and Bournemouth which has a lovely sandy beach, (Oceanarium should not be missed - book online for cheaper tickets) although the traffic in this area is very busy at times and it works out very expensive for parking, food, drinks and fair rides as well. I'm sure I burned through £50 on Sunday morning alone.

It cost approx £250 for the 8 nights and this was quite pricey as there was only a small play park suitable for up to about age 7.

An indoor pool could be visited at Oakdene a few miles away for free which was nice.

Not sure about WiFi as we purchased 4G in advance.

I would visit again except for the Summer Holidays as I think the facilities and the area would be too busy.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Merley Court Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for the review and we are pleased that your stay was enjoyable. We're sorry to hear that you encountered some disruptive neighbours, as we do have a park warden on site to keep an eye on things.

We're also delighted that you managed to make the most of the fantastic range of attractions nearby and we do hope that you will return to stay with us again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Firstly, Merley is lovely, a great location and generous pitches, it is one of our favourite campsites.
However...
We hadn't realised the pool would not be open until arrival. Seems odd to not open for the Easter break.
Also felt very much side lined with the numerous signs for 'lodge owners only' appearing - why are some facilities only for lodge owners especially as hardly any new ones sold since being built last year? In addition many lodges have hot tubs yet the spa facilities are only for lodge owners? Think that approach needs rethinking. Merley court is your nicest touring park are we to assume the intention is it will no longer be a touring park?
The second shower block really needs updating & has done for some years, toilets were regularly blocked and the block in general needed more regular cleaning.
Unfortunately there was a young group of 6 in a tent near the second toilet block who arrived for the Easter bank holiday & were v inconsiderate, loud music immediately on arrival which the warden did come round to ask them to turn it down, they did briefly, they were then inappropriately behaving for a family park with the men dropping their shorts, alongside music with v inappropriate language blaring out again. They drank all day walking round with bottles of alcohol at 9am & suspect it was them that then threw up all over the men's toilet block beside them.... really surprised the booking was taken. They left Sunday so not sure if they were actually asked to leave early.
This was at the end of our 8 night stay, and we did have another lovely time and we were lucky with the weather, so have rated our holiday on an overall basis. Really hoping this was a one off, we've never stayed at Easter before instead staying for the May half term and never seen that element at Merley before, there was a definite change around the Easter bank holiday.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank aw12aw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Merley Court Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

We're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were lucky with the weather throughout the 8 nights you were here.

Touring will continue at the park for some years and we look forward to welcoming our touring guests for more memorable holidays during this time.

As we are a family run park we do our best to keep noise to a minimum in the late hours and a warden is always on hand to help. We hope that this occurrence did not ruin your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

First time myself and my partner have been camping, and I cannot wait to go again. Had a noisy neighbouring tent on the first night which was a shame. The facilities are good, the gents, ladies, disabled toilets and the washroom was all in one block. The shower was really powerful, it is a push button operation but you can't complain for the price you pay. I would stay here again. Unfortunately the bar on the camp is closed until easter however there is one down the road, we didn't use this. Only 30 minutes from monkey world and the tank museum. I recommend this to those who want to be close to the towns but also want peace. Can not wait to stay again!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CyndiLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Merley Court Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you for the review and we're really pleased you enjoyed your first camping experience. A Park Warden is always on hand should you need them and will happily investigate any matters with noisy neighbours on your behalf. We have also been working hard to refurbish and renovate our bar area and hope that you will return to try this out in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

We came here years ago and thought then it was one of the best campsites in Dorset. O how things have changed.
We arrived and were told the pitch number. We ended up on a pitch that looked rather like a car park. This toilet block is ok but not great. Every morning the showers were luke warm so on a chilly day this was not great. This was not a cheap site either. We didn't get any luxury for the price so won't be back!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Apatche1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Merley Court Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are however saddened to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations as we pride ourselves on providing fantastic holidays. Had we been made aware of your disappointment on your pitch we would have sought to place you in a new one. Please can you supply us with your pitch number so we can look into this further?

We also regularly inspect the shower block and apologise you feel these were not up to standard. In the mornings if you are the first guest to use the showers they will simply need running a little longer than usual to reach temperature. We often get many compliments from guests on our facilities and regularly score 9 on our guest survey results.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Stayed in a 2 bedroom lodge, which was clean, modern and kitted out very well. Had its own hot tub, which was wonderful!. Set in a great location, with plenty to see and do in the surrounding areas. Very dog friendly with lots of lovely walks on the doorstep. Staff very helpful on site and couldn't do more to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Would definitely go back.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maxine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Merley Court Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Hi Maxine and thank you for such a fantastic review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our luxury lodges at Merley Court as well as the beautiful scenery locally. We're delighted our fantastic staff made you feel welcome and will pass on your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews