We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creaky, friendly and atmospheric18th century hotel”
Review of Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wimborne
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We had room One on the first floor in this old 18th century hotel. The hotel is showing its age but that is part of the charm of this Georgian town house hotel. In contrast to the keen young staff, the building and especially the floorboards creaked .. a lot..
Room One is large, clean, modernised to a small but comfortable degree with a 4 poster bed , comfortable sitting area with settes and large bath / bathroom. It is also situated directly above the bars, and so is quite noisy on Friday and Saturday nights. The hotel itself, is situated prominately at the corner of the main traffic entrance and exit to the attractive Wimborne town square. This just adds to the noise level. However discounting this, we had a really enjoyable time here, and Wimborne town is a joy of small shops and local pubs / eateries.
Breakfast was hugely enjoyable with the usual cerals, morning goods and fruit, but all other items were freshly cooked to order. Very good selection including kippers. The breakfast / dining room was well managed on both mornings by exceptionally good and well organised ladies.
Our evening meal for both nights was in the hotel restaurant. Nice laid back atmosphere with attractive choices and good wine selection. Great beer choice available as you would expect from this chain. Restaurant service was good and cheerful. Food equally welcoming, and good value.
The Kings Head is an really enjoyable stay, although as I previously mentioned, it is showing its age. If you are looking for slick uber modern fixtures and fittings, with night life until breakfast: you are in the wrong town and hotel. Wimborne oozes charm, and so does the Kings Head. It also has the advantage of being well run, and staff who are interested in their guests. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: there are other rooms at the rear, no view but probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherriesfan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

The food I had in there the other day was excellent. I notice it belongs to the same group as The Fox & Hounds which I reviewed before.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Just come back from a 2 night stay over New Year. The staff at this Hotel are very friendly, our room was lovely quite large(could have done with a bit of paint on the window) but overall very good. The food on N.Y Eve was amazing, couldn't fault it,there were 8 of us and we go somewhere different each year, but we all agreed that it was the best food we have ever had, they even had ice sculptures!
In the square at midnight the Militia fired their muskets, it was really lovely, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We were in Room 4, and had no complaints, it wasquite large we had a settee in there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerie219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

After the excellent

After we were very well looked after when we stayed at this hotel a few times earlier in the year, when my mother in law was in Wimborne hospital, we decided to have our Christmas break here . The bedroom was comfortable and the quality of all the Christmas food was superb. Adam is particularly impressive with his attention to detail and he manages his team very well. There was a very positive atmosphere and everyone gave of their best, trying to make our stay as pleasant as possible. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone and we will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter as the hotel is in the town square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I have stayed many times in this hotel which is need of some serious TLC and has a very small car park, but there the problems stop great position, helful friendly staff, good food and great atmosphere in the bar with live music. I will be staying here again

Room Tip: Small car park arrive early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planewatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

What a fantastic surprise this hotel was. We booked a last minute Fri/Sat weekend with some friends and got a great deal. We were a bit sceptical as to what the hotel would be like as it was so cheap but we were very pleasantly surprised. spacious rooms, very clean, comfy beds and hot showers. The evening meal was superb and out waitress, Cathy, was wonderful, friendly and efficient. the food was yummy, we had the friday sizzler!
Breakfast on both days was superb. The hotel was lively in the evening and had a great buzz. all in all a fantastic weekend.

Room Tip: we had a 2nd floor room at the front. it was a bit noisy outside with people going home at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moutrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We spent two nights at the hotel 2nd and 3rd December - having had a special offer from our local newspaper. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Friends of ours joined us on Friday evening for a meal in the restaurant. This proved to be a good choice as we all thoroughly enjoyed our meal - our friends taking advantage of the two meals for £9.95 offer. So much so, that we chose to eat again in the restaurant on the Saturday night. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqui78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne
1.9 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne
25 reviews
6.8 mi away
St. Leonards Hotel
St. Leonards Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Leonards
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
864 reviews
7.5 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
814 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Address: The Square, Wimborne BH21 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wimborne
Price Range: £50 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Wimborne
Kings Head Hotel Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing