We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average”
Review of Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wimborne
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Went here for a birthday meal with the family on spice night. you get less than wetherspoons and no naan bread, food not hot and not as tasty as expected by description on menu. One of us had Salmon which was not worth the money, not only was it small but was dry and just poor. When we queried the bill the manager was rude & ust defensive of their machines. Simply will go elsewhere next time as there are better pubs. Also only 1 ale on !! (2 if you can call IPA real ale).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonRonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    240
    128
    55
    33
See reviews for
118
307
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level Contributor
189 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised with the re furb since I visited 5 years ago - the rooms were fabulous. Meal was brilliant at night - only criticism - us northerners like our bacon and sausage butties on toast!!!!!! Other than that have no complaints.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank biddy24Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Head very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We were made welcome at the Kings Head by the staff at this recently refurbished hotel/restaurant. It is a great location in the centre of Wimborne and promised to be a good stay.
But, it was not to be. The room was large and the bed comfortable. However, the window was a sash type opening onto the central well of the hotel. It had no position other than open or shut! And we needed it open as the room was hot.
Opposite the window was an air conditioning unit which came on and off periodically through the night. It started with a clang, droned on for 10 minutes or so and then switched off with a clonk. 5 or 10 minutes later, the whole cycle started again!
If you must stay at this hotel, avoid rooms 3 and 4.
On checking out, we complained about the disturbed night that we had experienced. Not an iota of concern or disappointment was expressed. We left with the resolution not to return.
I recommend you avoid this place if staying in Wimborne.

Room Tip: Avoid any room opening on the cental well or you will share the night with a very noisy air conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigT H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wimborne hotels

Dorset
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We didnt stay here just booked for evening meal. We ate here on a Thursday night, not a busy night. Service was slow, food was poor and not very warm. Could not eat my steak and chips, steak very tough, and none of it was warm, chips were cold and a very dark brown colour, peas cold, even the peppercorn sauce was luke warm.

My friends salad was missing the apple and chicory, she had to ask for it - had been left in the kitchen. Her starter should have come with melba toast but it was thick ordinary toast. I had one of the specials starters as it sounded really nice, prawns cervesa with lime and chilli on ciabatta. Bread tasted stale, 4 prawns one of which was really cold in the middle as though just defrosted and very poor presentation. All round very poor. Although we were given a full refund and free coffeees did not make up for a spoilt night out and the attitude was " well no one else has complained" Do not eat here, lots of better places in Wimborne, we went over to Weatherspoons and had a plate of piping hot delicious chips as we had not eaten all day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allnamesunderthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were booked for a two night stay bed and breakfast in a room overlooking the square. First impressions were very good, although the lift really has to have some serious attention as it smelled dreadful and was dank and gloomy. Aside from that initial poor impression, the corridors and our room were newly decorated, with the room being large and spacious and having a reasonable bathroom. Staff will bring ice buckets and fresh milk to the rooms free of charge.

One complaint about housekeeping has to be noted, we put two of the towels on the bathroom floor (clearly far away from the towel rails and in the far corner of the bathroom). When we returned from sightseeing that afternoon, all four towels were on the rail and all were damp and creased - two of them were dirty from being on the floor. This was rectified as the receptionist brought us a clean set of towels and an earnest apology.
We ate at a local restaurant and slept well that evening knowing that we could have a long lie in as the hotel information sheet noted that breakfast was served until 12 noon. As this was reinforced by the hotel's barman we presumed this was correct. However, the next day we arrived at 10.40 am to find everything cleared away and we were told breakfast ended at 10.30. After complaining about the misinformation the very busy and harried waitress found us some jams and toast and took an order for cooked breakfast.
On the whole, this is a comfortable and very reasonable place to stay in Wimborne, very well situated and friendly staff. Whilst we didn't eat dinner there we can recommend the lunch time specials and snack/bar menu and drinks are reasonably priced. It is within two minutes of the Minster and there are many local, varied eateries. A good base, spacious and clean but definitely a pub with rooms rather than a hotel - but great value for a short break with staff who work hard to help when things go wrong.

Room Tip: We had room 21, on the second floor and near to the lift and stairs. Great view over the square and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDAPamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I will use this in my next team meeting to highlight areas in which we as a business need to address. Myself and my team look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Head very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We combined an overnight stay with a visit to the Tivoli Theatre and wished we could have stayed longer. The refurbished hotel was spotless and the staff were friendly, polite and helpful without exception. We dined in the restaurant and thought it was excellent value. We mentioned to the waitress that we needed to be at the theatre by 7.30 and she made sure we were served in plenty of time. My husband is dairy free and the waitress happily checked with the chef who advised which items were safe for him to choose from (not always the case.) We couldn't fault the quality of the food either at dinner or breakfast the following morning. Based on our experience we have already recommended the hotel to friends and hope to return ourselves for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Myself and my team look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Head very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Today was mum's 90th birthday and the family travelled down 90 miles to be with us. We booked the restaurant for 14 people. Couldn't get in the car park (OK not their fault but not a good start).
Service was slow. Food was warm or cold, served on cold plates. They ran out of basic vegetables and substituted on plate without refering to us. My dish was mussels (in a cold dish) and un dercooked chipsand the temperature varied from a couple hot, a few warm, and a lot cold. I left my dish alone and had it deducted from the bill.
I think the coolness of the meals were that they were standing in the kitchen until all 14 meals were ready. Waiting staff did not check with us during the meal to see if we were satisfied. Too many basic errors and we will never go back.

Room Tip: Did not use accommodation - only the restaurant, which has just had a massive makeover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KeithLDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne
6.8 mi away
St. Leonards Hotel
St. Leonards Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Leonards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.9 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth/Ferndown Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Property: Kings Head Hotel
Address: The Square, Wimborne BH21 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wimborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Wimborne
Kings Head Hotel Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing