We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wimborne
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights on business. Lovely old hotel which has been sympathetically refurbished to quite a high standard. Room (no. 26) was through a warren of corridors and stairs in keeping with the historic nature of the building, and was very quiet and comfortable with a fantastically comfortable bed. Bathroom had a strong and large shower and everything was very warm and clean. Only minor downsides were that sound-proofing to the neighbouring room wasn't great (fortunately the guest was relatively quiet!) and that the sash window couldn't be left open without a family of pigeons moving in! Food in the bar was typical Greene King pub grub but well-executed, and breakfast was lovely. Above all though, the staff were really good - polite, welcoming, relaxed yet attentive and seemingly happy. It really makes a difference, so thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    238
    128
    55
    33
See reviews for
117
307
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford Essex
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel has been refurbished and is pleasant. The situation on the square is ideal with many shops and restaurants nearby. The food in the hotel was typical bar food but quite good. The room we had was up numerous stairs which would not be suitable for more elderly people, especially carrying cases.
Breakfast was good with fresh cooked food. The waitress was cheery and welcoming although rushed off her feet.
A real downside to this hotel is the parking. If you have been out for the day then the car park will be full! The directions given verbally by the reception staff were tricky to follow in a town with most roads one way and having no knowledge of the area! We then had to be up at 7.30 to move the car/pay for a few hours. This is not ideal when on a holiday. The hotel need to give you a map of local car parks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theoldone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from another enjoyable stay at the kings head...all staff on hand and helpful...as always.
Unfortunately the male member of staff serving on the bar in the evenings... who we later found out to be the Bar manager was not at all happy or welcoming during our stay ... His lack of enthusiasm stood out ...which was a shame

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend.. Our room was a really good size with a huge bed. Shower was good. Everything was very clean. The breakfasts were lovely. The staff are all really friendly. They seem to be always working so hard. Unfortunately the lift was out of order when we were there and so I wouldn't recommend it to a disabled person unless they checked first that the lift was working. The hotel is in the middle of the high street so there was loads of places to go for a drink if you a change. Beautiful town and surroundings..
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
151 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We enjoyed our short break very much. The hotel has been well refurbished, the décor is good and our superior room was tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Its a nice location, right on the Square and just 50 yards from the Minster Church. The young team of staff are friendly and attentive, and the bar was used by locals and guests alike - you could do a pub crawl of several other pubs within 50 yards if you prefer a change! Good, freshly cooked English breakfast included in the price and we enjoyed bothy our evening meals here too. The only downside was that the lift was out of order and our rooms were on the second floor - we will book again when its fixed!

Room Tip: Check that the lift is working before you book if you have any mobility issues!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

been their for meal with kids twice, FIRST VISIT....... all staff very welcoming & very frendly, food a lot not too say very poor for price,asked for salad a few lettice leaves smothered in garlic-powder+ oil-! a bit of diced tomato/ ie; less than 1 slice that was it. when paying nearly £6 for sandwich. children meals well no quality at all chicken nuggets half size thimble not fresh £4 for 4 + 3- chunky re-cooked chips sogy in oil. steak very let down asked for medium/ tuff and burnt asked for salad instead of chips a handfull salad leaves garlic powder yep cheap oil as well...... SECOND VISIT..... WONT BE GOING BACK same problems shame lovely plaice and staff

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wimborne hotels

Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for two night in feb, We had a lovely stay, the staff were all welcoming and friendly. Our room was at the front of the hotel (no 10) It was spacious, comfortable and stylish. Would definitely stay here again.Meals were delicious and ample.

Room Tip: No 10.... Perfection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne
6.8 mi away
St. Leonards Hotel
St. Leonards Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Leonards
627 reviews
1.9 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
277 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth/Ferndown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Property: Kings Head Hotel
Address: The Square, Wimborne BH21 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wimborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Wimborne
Kings Head Hotel Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing