We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good B&B in centre of town”
Review of Gordon House

Gordon House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gordon House
Ranked #9 of 27 Wimborne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had on overnight stopover last week and attended a gig. We have stayed in Wimborne previously but much preferred the Gordon House to our previous accommodation.
It is an imposing house very close to the centre of town, only a minute from the Town Square. Wimborne is a lovely small town with tasteful shops, plenty of eating venues and lot of pubs. Our visit coincided with the beginning of the Wimborne Folk Festival weekend so the town was gearing up for that event.
Our room at Gordon House was on the top floor and had both a double bed and a single. It had modern decor which my wife considered quite masculine, maybe that's why I liked it. It was very comfortable well equipped and spotlessly clean. We arrived early and were able to check in immediately to enjoy the town. There was ample parking. Breakfast was lovely, traditional English and freshly cooked so piping hot. We have stayed in loads of hotels (& cruise ships) over the past few months and it was such a pleasant change to actually get a properly hot breakfast rather than a kept warm buffet affair.
We thoroughly enjoyed our very short stay and would have loved to have stayed longer but had to depart early.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil&Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Not a bad word to say. 3 nights spent here and everything spot on. Nice en suite room with one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in. Lovely towels too. Delicious breakfast, just remembered an extra knife would be handy for the toast and marmalade! Friendly owners and good location in this superb old town. Would definitely book Gordon House again.

Room Tip: We hsd a nice quiet room at the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieandMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife & I visited the Gordon House hotel for one night in May. The hotel is in the centre of Wimborne close to all amenities.
The hotel itself is of excellent quality throughout, lovely rooms, which were extremely clean with the breakfast being of great quality. Annie was a very attentive host making sure that all was fine with our stay, which it definitely was.
We highly recommend staying here and look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here for one night with my two young daughters. Our room had one double with one single bed. The guest house is very well presented, is in a great location for the village, and the owner was lovely and very helpful. We would stay here again and would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtriper110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room was on the top floor and finished to a very good quality with large bathroom. Breakfast is freshly cooked from 7am onwards in the dining room. Fantastic location. Highly recommended. We will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank SteveFox13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This really is a great B&B. Such a lovely welcome from the owners and our little westies were made to feel very welcome too! The location is fantastic, rooms comfortable and clean and the breakfast is freshly cooked. Will be back soon!!
A big thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa9152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I have been staying at Gordon House for over 5 years now & found it be just great every trip. Annie is lovely & she is so welcoming & friendly. The location is perfect for walking into Wimborne & it is good value too. Breakfast is always freshly cooked & personal but not intrusive, I would highly recommend her & the b & b

Room Tip: choice of different size rooms & bed configurations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muscat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wimborne hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
663 reviews
1.9 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
2.1 mi away
Canford Crossing B&B
Canford Crossing B&B
#1 of 27 in Wimborne
274 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 6 in Corfe Mullen
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon House

Address: Gordon House 42 West Borough, Wimborne BH21 1NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Wimborne
Price Range: £25 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Gordon House Wimborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing