We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a function.”

Les Bouviers Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 102 Restaurants in Wimborne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$87
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place for a function.”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Had a party here, in the function suite on Sunday 4th September 2012. The occasion was my parents golden wedding anniversary and was attended by 60+ guests. Elizabeth helped with my planning, and was efficient in answering my questions and in giving suggestions to make the day go smoothly. The weather was good on the day, and we made good use of the patio and beautiful grounds. The food was good. The staff were attentive but unobtrusive, Kate and Elizabeth were great hostesses. The function room is light and airy, with doors opening out onto the patio. I would definitely recommend this venue for an enjoyable function, a good time was had by all at mine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mellypxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Guest Relations Manager at Les Bouviers Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Visitor

Thank you for your feedback, we are always extremely pleased when our valued customers take the time to write up their thoughts of our establishment

It is fabulous to know that you all had such a pleasant experience with us here at Les Bouviers. Kate and Elizabeth alike took great pleasure in attending to everyone's needs and was most happy to reciprocate the warmth felt from the celebration

Your recommendation to others is most appreciated and we hope to see you again very soon

Have a very merry festive time

Kind Regards

Les Bouviers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    30
    21
    14
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely anniversary meal”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I apologise that it has\taken a litlle while to write this review we visited in June 2012.to celebrate our silver wedding . We have meant to try it for a number of years but never got around to it. We had also been slightly put off by some of the reviews.
We had a lovely evening, the resturant was quiet but it was mid week. We were made very welcome and decided to have the chefs suprise menu. This was wonderful we both had things we hadn't tried before, both food and wine. We will definately return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Guest Relations Manager at Les Bouviers Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Visitor

Thank you for your feedback, we are always extremely pleased when our valued customers take the time to write up their thoughts of our establishment

It is very warming to know that you enjoyed your visit, and James (Head Chef and Patron) was delighted in having the opportunity to serve you with a diverse 'Surprise Menu'

Since your visit in June we have had a few changes that has enabled us to see why, on occasion, our restaurant was 'quiet'. Reassuring to know that it certainly isn't the food or the service, we discovered that people were just not aware of our location. You'll be pleased to know that has since been rectified and the quiet setting is almost a thing of the past

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Have a very merry festive time

Kind Regards

Les Bouviers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yet Another Delightful Visit”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

As always our stay at Les Bouviers was a complete success. We enjoyed the best attention from our arrival to our departure. The room was comfortable, airy and well stocked with all the usual essentials.
The breakfasts were all cooked fresh and exactly to our request. In the evening we ate in the restaurant, with other customers who also commented that they found menu had good choice options and the food, which is cooked to order, was again delicious and without fault.
The service we received both in the bar and the restaurant was exemplary.
We will be sure to make our regular booking and look forward to meeting both the owners and the staff again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Owner at Les Bouviers Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Here at Les Bouviers Restaurant with Rooms we value every form of feedback and thoroughly enjoying reading reviews such as yours. We would like to say thank you for your comments and are very pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Curate's Egg”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My wife and I were recently invited to a celebration supper at Les Bouviers and we found the experience to be somewhat less impressive than we had expected.

Firstly, lets deal with the bit they got absolutely right. The food. This was delicious, and presented with flair and imagination (except the rather dull cheese board).

On the downside was the atmosphere (I've never eaten in a restaurant with less ambience). The place was lit like Wembley stadium and was almost entirely charmless. Also, despite having ordered our food weeks in advance (literally), the service was indescribably slow. We were called to the table at 7.45 and our starters were served 45 minutes later. The main course arrived at 9.30 - almost 2 hours after we sat down. We had to gulp down our coffees but we were still unable to get out before 11.15. I'm glad we didn't have a babysitter to pay!

The staff were very young and did pretty well given the size of the party.

All in all... a strictly average experience in many ways. The good bits were good, and the bad bits were disappointing - especially as the same observations seem to have been made by lots of other reviewers. I wouldn't have been happy if I had been paying the bill!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank eucera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Owner at Les Bouviers Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for your recent comments. We always like to receive constructive feedback so that we can continue to provide exceptional food and service. After receiving your feedback we were very concerned with the response, especially as my wife and I worked that evening. The response feedback, cards of compliments from the hosts and other guests dining that evening was very positive; with already new bookings.

Firstly let me thank you on your comments regarding the quality of the food, we are pleased that you enjoyed it. I am surprised however that you can compare the atmosphere of the room to Wembley Stadium, as you were in a private dining room, with music brought in by the hosts as well as constant conversation by all the guests, I find it difficult to see the resemblance.

Regarding the service of the food, even though we do ask for a pre-order we do still cook everything from fresh so there is always a slight delay on large parties. You also need to take into account that people do eat at different speeds and we don’t clear any plates until everyone has finished. You sat down around 8pm and within 2.5 hours you had bread, starters, sorbet, main, desserts, cheese and coffee. The evening was planned by the hosts, and delivered accordingly. There was no time restriction on you leaving so you did not have to leave at 11.15pm as you previously mentioned.

It is a shame that you feel the way you did regarding the evening when all the other guests mentioned what a lovely time they had on such a special occasion. They wanted a relaxed evening where all their close family and friends could catch up over some lovely food and wine. The hosts spent a lot of time and effort creating the event for everyone to enjoy. With reference about the bill, I do find this comment very unnerving when the whole evening was paid for by the hosts, including pre-dinner drinks, unlimited wines (which some indulged on) and port offered.

Should you have any further comments then do call me directly to talk through your evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor service, poor food, and poor welcome”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We went there on a Groupon voucher given to us as a present, we arrive may be 10 minites early but we were totally ignored by the two adolescent girls washing glasses on top of the bar. When we asked for a drink no one spoke but one of the children ran off. A short time later a woman appeared and greated us with the statement "Your early!" From this high point the evening got worse. The serving staff were all very young, I found out later they were friends of the proprietors children. They had obviously been told to walk and serve with one hand behind the back was the height of sophisticated service. It's not, in ones so young and untrained it's pretentious. The food was obviously somewhat reheated in parts and stone cold in others. I guess a faulty microwave. My wife knocked over her complimentary drink. We appologised and another drink was offered. Two minites later a girl stomped up to us and said "Because you are on a voucher you'll have to pay for that" And there we were thinking that vouchers were to encourage people to try a new venue. At the cost to them of may be £2 they could have bought a lot of good will.
Will we go there again? NEVER.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank deuxchein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Manager at Les Bouviers Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your recent review. After reading the review we would like to investigate the incident further especially as we stopped the groupon offers in March 2012. If you could let me know your name and the date that you dined with us. You can contact me directly on 01202 889555, or drop me an email at info@lesbouviers.co.uk.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Bouviers Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Les Bouviers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing