We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent meal”

Les Bouviers Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 109 Restaurants in Wimborne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$87
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Groups, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I have visited both Les Bouviers Restaurant and Bistro three times over the past 6 months and I have to say the food and service alike have been nothing but excellent. My father's 70th surprise celebration was held at the restaurant back in June and both Kate and James made sure that everything went without a hitch. I booked my parents in for lunch on New Years Day last year and again they had the most wonderful experience. Anyone wanting excellent food in a relaxed atmosphere must try it for themselves.

I visited the food festival in Wimborne last Saturday and watched James prepare 8 dishes and every one was cooked to perfection (the empty plates proved how good his food was).

I am looking forward to a return visit to both establishments in the run up to Christmas and would highly recommend either one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Guest Relations Manager at Les Bouviers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Dear Visitor

Thank you for your feedback, we are always extremely pleased when our valued customers take the time to write up their thoughts of our establishment

We are delighted that you had another 'excellent' visit!

Also thank you for recommending us, we endeavour to deliver the same level of service to all of our customers

We hope to see you again very soon

Have a very merry festive time

Kind Regards

Les Bouviers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 179 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

My partner & I visited Les Bouviers at the end of Jan, we complained on 1st Feb via email, 2 further emails & 3 calls later I finally got a response on 10th April!!
Firstly the service was very poor, the staff were not attentive & the restaurant was not busy, they forgot to take our wine order, then we had to ask 3 times for our wine to be topped up as our glasses & the staff hadn't noticed they were empty & our wine was stored somewhere in a staff area. At the end of the meal no coffees were offered or even a bill! After being left for 20 minutes with our taxi waiting outside we had to go & find a member of staff who were sat in the office to prepare our bill.
The food portions were not even enough to satisfy my 18 month old toddler. The food was also extremely over seasoned.
We were on a groupon offer and I think the owners believe that we should be treated as second class customers.
During my third call to chase a response to my complaint I was told that 'we can't afford to give groupon customers the same offering or we would loose money, it's just a taster'. It was advertised as a 2 course meal not a taster! I also found the owners very patronising. Surely the idea of a groupon is to get numbers through the door not give 1/4 portions & poor service so that new customers don't return. Another comment from the owner was about one of the members of staff who served us- 'she's worked here for .. Years (exact Years I can't remember but a very long time), she's great when you get to know her, you have to get to know her, some people really like her & some don't' 1 - why does she work for you if that's you opinion of her & 2 - how long do you think we've got to get to know her, I just want to enjoy a meal with my partner on a rare occasion we had a babysitter.
Finally we were offered a voucher to use as good will. However our mistake- when I tried to make a booking to use the voucher it had actually lapsed by a few weeks without us realising. I asked if they would extend their offer of good will so that we could give the restaurant a second chance, but again I found the owner to be patronising & the result was they were not willing to extend their good will. Word of mouth is the best form of advertising & I will be happy to tell people not to bother! How are they still in business???

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank Missbossypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Sadly the service and the attitude you fit with us and not customer facing attention was the order of the day. Do not go if you really want a meal and not a long long wait for anything. What a pity

    • Service
9  Thank Rona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, General Manager at Les Bouviers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Dear Visitor

Thank you for your feedback, we are always extremely pleased when our valued customers take the time to write up their thoughts of our establishment

We are sorry that your experience was unpleasant. In order to rectify this issue of poor service, please may you advise me of which day in October that you visited and any specifics of what you were less than pleased with. This will enable me to look into what happened and make sure it never reoccurs

Have a very merry festive time

Kind Regards

Les Bouviers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Had a party here, in the function suite on Sunday 4th September 2012. The occasion was my parents golden wedding anniversary and was attended by 60+ guests. Elizabeth helped with my planning, and was efficient in answering my questions and in giving suggestions to make the day go smoothly. The weather was good on the day, and we made good use of the patio and beautiful grounds. The food was good. The staff were attentive but unobtrusive, Kate and Elizabeth were great hostesses. The function room is light and airy, with doors opening out onto the patio. I would definitely recommend this venue for an enjoyable function, a good time was had by all at mine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mellypxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Guest Relations Manager at Les Bouviers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Dear Visitor

Thank you for your feedback, we are always extremely pleased when our valued customers take the time to write up their thoughts of our establishment

It is fabulous to know that you all had such a pleasant experience with us here at Les Bouviers. Kate and Elizabeth alike took great pleasure in attending to everyone's needs and was most happy to reciprocate the warmth felt from the celebration

Your recommendation to others is most appreciated and we hope to see you again very soon

Have a very merry festive time

Kind Regards

Les Bouviers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I apologise that it has\taken a litlle while to write this review we visited in June 2012.to celebrate our silver wedding . We have meant to try it for a number of years but never got around to it. We had also been slightly put off by some of the reviews.
We had a lovely evening, the resturant was quiet but it was mid week. We were made very welcome and decided to have the chefs suprise menu. This was wonderful we both had things we hadn't tried before, both food and wine. We will definately return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Guest Relations Manager at Les Bouviers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Dear Visitor

Thank you for your feedback, we are always extremely pleased when our valued customers take the time to write up their thoughts of our establishment

It is very warming to know that you enjoyed your visit, and James (Head Chef and Patron) was delighted in having the opportunity to serve you with a diverse 'Surprise Menu'

Since your visit in June we have had a few changes that has enabled us to see why, on occasion, our restaurant was 'quiet'. Reassuring to know that it certainly isn't the food or the service, we discovered that people were just not aware of our location. You'll be pleased to know that has since been rectified and the quiet setting is almost a thing of the past

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Have a very merry festive time

Kind Regards

Les Bouviers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Bouviers Restaurant also viewed

 
Wimborne, Dorset
 

Been to Les Bouviers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing