We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration let down”

Les Bouviers Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 105 Restaurants in Wimborne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$87
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 2:45 for a 3pm sit down for afternoon tea on a rainy afternoon.

Our coats were taken and we were shown through to a bar area. We thought that this was just a holding area but it soon emerged that we would be taking tea in here.

The waitress arrived after approx 10 minutes and sharply asked if we would like tea or coffee. There was no further elaboration on which tea or coffee was available. I expected at least a range of teas. My partner asked if she could have a soft drink as she is not a hot drink drinker but the waitress could not answer by herself.

Tea and sandwiches were delivered shortly after but we had to ask the waitress to explain what was in them, surely she should have explained to us.... On a lighter note the sandwiches were good.

Scones then arrived which were fantastic.

Finally we had a selection of cakes which were lovely but again it was not explained what they were.

Overall food was good but service was very unorganised and lacking in passion and attention to detail.

After initial excitement of attending a special place for afternoon tea we left feeling deflated and will not return.


3  Thank banyard2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Public Relations Manager at Les Bouviers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for you review. I can understand your disappointment, I believe the waitress for your afternoon tea was a temporary member of staff who should have been more informed. We will endeavor to train our staff thoroughly before allowing them to be customer facing. Our aim is to surpass expectations, so to hear you left feeling deflated is very disappointing. I will direct all of these issues to our owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Food was good, but not exceptions and therefore overpriced.The overall experience was very disappointing. Soulless rooms that lack any type of ambience. Christmas decorations looked like an afterthought and were cheap and tacky. Lighting far too bright .Service lacked finesse, one waitress was in leggings and long cardigan, not the image one expects from a fine dining experience.
The Guildhall tavern nearby offers better food and presentation, impeccable service, lovely atmosphere and therefor better value for money.

3  Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Public Relations Manager at Les Bouviers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We expect our waitresses to serve customers whilst maintaining a smart and professional appearance. I am disappointed to hear that you were served by a member of staff wearing a cardigan, we will be more rigorous in checking our waitresses know what is and isn't fine dining attire. In regard to the lighting comment, we do dim the lighting in the evening to create an elegant and romantic atmosphere but perhaps on this occasion we hadn't turned them down enough. Thank you for raising these important issues, it is very helpful to hear the positives and negatives as we continue to make improvements through-out the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Nothing to dislike the food was first class, the chef is attaining his Mitchin Star status so that says it all really...

1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Booked this restaurant on recommendation and reviews. Firstly the good points. The ingredients were fresh and of good quality and the cooking skilful but not exceptional. The home made bread was chewy to say the least. The avocado, crab and crayfish tail rillette was well presented and flavoursome. The duck breast was succulent and cooked to my liking. The rich chocolate mouse was tasty with a good consistency. However, in a fine dining restaurant one expects a high level of service and this was not forthcoming. Ordering in the lounge did not take too long, but my first two wine choices were unavailable. The atmosphere both in the lounge and the dining room is distinctly lacking. Both rooms are too bright and stark, with virtually no ambiance. Scant Christmas decorations were in evidence, accompanied by Christmas "muzak," the kind that can be heard in a typical lift. A better class of background music could have been used. Both rooms need to be made more cosy and welcoming and, dare I say it, more romantic. If you are going out for an evening at a fine dining restaurant it is all about the total experience, not just the food. The dining tables are unremarkable and surely could have been dressed up for Christmas? There was just a simple cracker to decorate the sparse tabletop. The waiting staff were a mixed bunch in an array of different clothing. Surely it would not have been too much to ask for them to wear a simple uniform of black skirts and white tops to add a little formality to the occasion? Service was on the slow side of acceptable and could have been more unobtrusive. When we were told our table was ready we went through by ourselves to the dining room and were kept waiting for five minutes in the middle of the room and ignored by two staff members before the chef's wife came to seat us at our table. The table was not ready, as the necessary cutlery for our order had not arrived. Luckily we were able to put these shortcomings to one side and they did not spoil our evening, but my high expectations were not realised. To sum up, the food and wine were of an acceptable standard, but not good value for money. More thought needs to go into the decor and ambiance of the restaurant and lounge. The waiting staff need better coaching in customer service and deportment. At these prices you are looking for a total experience; just being skilled in food preparation is not sufficient. Good toilets.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank khm2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Public Relations Manager at Les Bouviers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for you review. We are glad that you enjoyed our food. I think you have raised some important points that we can address. During the busy Christmas period we employed some temporary staff which were expected to wear smart professional attire. Perhaps this rule was not being enforced as much as it should have been. Perhaps we could also look at dimming the lighting further. I will direct all of your concerns to the owner. Thank you for your review and we are confident that if you visit again we will not disappoint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here today with family and friends for a special birthday celebration. This was booked in advance as there were 18 of us, and we had chosen our menu items ahead.

When we arrived we were shown to the dining room, which was set up and waiting for us.
The staff were very nice and courteous and efficient, even though after the starters we kept changing places to mingle and catch up with each other, but they managed to keep track of us quite well (with a little bit of help, sorry for the confusion!). I could sum up the service as excellent and attentive to details.

The food was really excellent, well presented, and outstandingly good.

It was a great place to have a family celebration.

1  Thank bobanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesBouviers, Public Relations Manager at Les Bouviers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for your review. I will direct all of your compliments to our chef and waiting staff, they take pride in their work and will really appreciate the positive feedback. It's great to see customers enjoying their food and their company, so a little table mingling is always forgiven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Bouviers Restaurant also viewed

Wimborne, Dorset
Poole, Dorset
 

Been to Les Bouviers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing