We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stayed nearby”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blue Bell

The Blue Bell
Ranked #20 of 30 Restaurants in Cottingham
Price range: US$5 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Here at The Blue Bell we welcome everyone to join us for a drink or two or a quiet romantic dinner or a dinner party. We offer a wide range of great food from a homemade soup or sandwich to a portion of our award winning fresh haddock & chips or a fillet steak with all the trimmings. We pride ourselves on serving fresh food everyday but still making a fine experience affordable to everyone. With award winning real ales, craft beers and fine wines on sale we offer something for everyone. We have a beautiful garden with heating and lighting all year round, we even have a private garden and Orangery for private functions, it's beautiful for small functions
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“stayed nearby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

a lovely friendly pub serving good wholesome food...steak and ale pie excellent,coupled with a good pint.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank atw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    67
    31
    42
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great pub, wouldn't eat there again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We popped in for a pint and cheeseboard a few days ago; the latter was excellent (although eccentric) say we thought we'd pop in for dinner.
Booking was strange; we had to book for 2045, but were told to get there for 2030 because the kitchen closed for orders at 2100 but the food might take an hour to come. Signs of a neurotic chef perhaps, but we were in no rush so went along with it.
Very friendly staff, and the food came much more quickly than we were warned. But the food did not impress at all. There is the overwhelmingly sense that management thinks that 'more is more' is hospitality but, in the case, more is definitely less. Along with the specials, 29 main courses were on offer, which might go a way to explaining the paranoia about ordering/ services times, but in reality many of the dishes were the same sauce with different meats (just like in an India restaurant you can choose lamb, chicken, prawn etc. with your vindaloo; although the Blue Bell doesn't present it like this, it is what it is). My Wild Boar was huge,, and the potato and courgettes (I think, I couldn't see it properly in the gloom) were all absolutely smothered in a vast amounts of hugely rich sauce, that meant that there was no taste differentiation on the plate because one could not escape the sauce. I don't actually know what was on the plate because I couldn't see or taste anything except for the sauce. I went in hungry, but didn't eat one-quarter of the food. Presentation was non-existent. I find satisfaction in finishing a well-crafted meal; I don't find satisfaction in being presented with a huge plate of slop, although I recognise some others might. My wife's chicken wasn't as bad, but it was still huge amounts of slop smothered in an over-powering sauce. Didn't come cheap either; I have no idea why the restaurant is so busy.
The pub itself is lovely, and we'll regularly go in for a drink. We just won't ever eat there again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RexyRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dinner with a friend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We decided to try this place as we had a voucher for 2 for 1. I had heard mixed reviews to be honest but I need not have worried. It is a bit more expensive than the average pub but then the food is not average!
I had an excellent cod dish - a very generous portion of well cooked and seasoned fish and my friend had the seafood risotto which also looked delicious

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilary3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Almost perfect!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our second visit to the Blue Bell in two years on a family visit to the UK. It came highly recommended yet again and food wise didn't disappoint! A good choice of menu and all four meals were cooked to perfection. The Haddock was to die for and the sauce was delicious! All of us loved our meals. The one downfall was the service!!!! I wouldn't say we had to wait long on the contrary we were served quickly but then we were the only ones in there. This didn't bother us because it was a lunch time and we wanted peace and quiet to catch up. The problem I encountered was the professionalism of the lady that served me. I asked for information on gluten free options and she didn't seem to understand what I was talking about. She looked puzzled when asked and said " I will have to ask the chef". No real problem at this point but when I asked the same question for the desert option her reply made all four of us completely gob smacked! Again I asked if any of them were gluten free and her answer was " oh I have no idea I haven't got a clue" !!!! I couldn't believe what I had just heard and laughed because I was so shocked at her reply. My friend said " well why don't you just go and ask my dear" but she didn't respond. I decided not to make a fuss because we were with friends we hadn't seen for a few years but before I left I quietly mentioned it to another young man who replied " oh she is new I will tell her later". So it didn't leave me with confidence on their level of service improving especially if that's the kind if people they are hiring. She clearly had no skills in the hospitality department and for the standard of food it just didn't fit! So in summary great food but not so sure on the expertise of the staff just hope its improved!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bjornsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“From italy...good beer here in blue bell”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I drank a very good england's beer here. But not a Peroni ;) the pub is beautiful near our college in Hull.

Helpful?
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Bell also viewed

Cottingham, East Riding of Yorkshire
Cottingham, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Cottingham, East Riding of Yorkshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Cottingham, East Riding of Yorkshire
Cottingham, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Blue Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing