We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party Night”

Lazaat Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Cottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: After 12 years, the team behind Lazaat are working towards a new and rebranded restaurant. With new décor, a new menu and a new feel, exciting times are upon us. At the heart of Lazaat is their charcoal and wood burning grill menu. The talented and innovative chefs use lump wood and sustainable wood from the English countryside to cook a range of prime, locally sourced meats. This cooking method is natural, with no additives, and imparts the most amazing flavour and aromas to the food. Loyal regulars wanted Lazaat to retain some of their popular signature Persian dishes, alongside the grill. The result is a classic, second-to-none menu that compliments the use of the unique charcoal and clay oven. The restaurant is located just a five-minute drive from Cottingham centre, and is undoubtedly worth the twenty minute trip from nearby Hull, whether it be for a special occasion, a family outing, or just an indulgent bite to eat after work. Here are the Lazaat Restaurant opening times which show the range of menus available at our Cottingham Restaurant. Breakfast Continental Breakfast Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am Full Breakfast Saturday - Sunday: 8.00am - 10.00am Lunch 2 Course Buffet Lunch Monday - Friday 12.00pm - 2.30pm Sunday Best & Buffet 12.00pm - 3.00pm Dinner Evening Menu Monday, Wednesday - Sunday 6.00pm - 9.00pm Curry Night Tuesday 6.00pm - 9.00pm
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Attended one of Lazaat's party nights this weekend, very enjoyable evening from all of our party (about 30 of us went and all spoke of how great the night was). Paid £30.00 for three course dinner & disco - well worth the money. The food was very good, service fast and friendly & atmosphere was good - dance floor was never empty. We have been before and will certainly go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MPHB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Went for our works Christmas party 2013. It cost us £30 ahead and was a total waste of money. They didn't put us in the function room that we paid for, but put us in the restaurant with regular paying customers . There was no party atmosphere what so ever and the food and service was appalling . We didn't even get offered tea or coffee at the end of our, so called meal, as you do at most dinner dance functions. It's not the first time I have been to Lazzats and more fool me for thinking it would be better then the previous times.
Such a shame as the look of the exterior and interior gives such a different impression.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Boots2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazaat, Manager at Lazaat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Hello Hanson 64, Joanne D, Boots 2003,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your three reviews with respects to your Boots the Chemist Christmas party on the 14th December 2013.

As already indicated to your party we are sincerely sorry that we were unable to refund the deposit for members of your party who cancelled their booking at the last minute. This is not a decision we had taken lightly…the issue is simply that your parties booking was taken in good faith & reserved for you with food ordered.

It is evident that this decision seemed to have caused your party great upset and whilst we apologise for any inconvenience, we stand by our decision.

Moving on to your collective comments about poor food, service, atmosphere and indeed your email comments that ‘our food is not fit for a dog’ etc. we would respectfully draw to your attention that we served over 300 people on the 14th December 2013 and yours was the only complaint that we received. This is not to say that we do not take constructive criticism seriously.

I can also confirm that we host Christmas parties in both our Pavilion suite and main Hotel and we do not allocate guests to a particular area. All of our suites are decorated and furnished to a high and equal standard; we are a little confused as to why you feel that you were relegated to a substandard area of our Hotel.

Having checked our records I note that you were situated in our Monsoon Suite. I can confirm that the Monsoon Suite did open up into the Restaurant which also consisted of guests paying £30.00 per person for the three course dinner and disco, not as you have stated ‘regular paying customers’. This layout has proven popular for numerous occasions both private & public creating a better atmosphere and space for guests dance & relax. As you are aware, the Monsoon suite has its own double bar, is fully air conditioned and is (to our minds) decorated to a very high standard.

I conclude by stating that we are saddened in equal measure at your disappointment and that you did not feel it appropriate to discuss the matter directly with our staff (to allow us the opportunity to put matters right) before seeking to discredit us with your remarks.

Kind Regards,
Helen Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

went on a works christmas party night on 14th december 2013 i can honestly say it was the worst experience of a christmas dinner we have ever had. We booked this in August at £30 per person was told that the function would be in the pavillion of the hotel,this did not happen.We where in the room to the left of the reception which is the restaurant.The pavillion suite was full seem to think some of country park customers may of taken this over due to the flood!!! The food was not served to you but came to you consisting of turkey with a sort of stuffing on top with gravy on a cold plate and a dish of sprouts and NO pigs in blankets.The pudding was dreadful too. As for the young waitress she looked as misserable as we all felt, was not even asked if we enjoyed our meal.May be you should just stick to indian food. Also where was the tea or coffee for afters? Will NOT be recomending lazzats for christmas. what happened to party poppers and balloons on tables not to mention no table linen. What a sham.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank joanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazaat, Manager at Lazaat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Hello Hanson 64, Joanne D, Boots 2003,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your three reviews with respects to your Boots the Chemist Christmas party on the 14th December 2013.
As already indicated to your party we are sincerely sorry that we were unable to refund the deposit for members of your party who cancelled their booking at the last minute. This is not a decision we had taken lightly…the issue is simply that your parties booking was taken in good faith & reserved for you with food ordered.

It is evident that this decision seemed to have caused your party great upset and whilst we apologise for any inconvenience, we stand by our decision.
Moving on to your collective comments about poor food, service, atmosphere and indeed your email comments that ‘our food is not fit for a dog’ etc. we would respectfully draw to your attention that we served over 300 people on the 14th December 2013 and yours was the only complaint that we received. This is not to say that we do not take constructive criticism seriously.

I can also confirm that we host Christmas parties in both our Pavilion suite and main Hotel and we do not allocate guests to a particular area. All of our suites are decorated and furnished to a high and equal standard; we are a little confused as to why you feel that you were relegated to a substandard area of our Hotel.

Having checked our records I note that you were situated in our Monsoon Suite. I can confirm that the Monsoon Suite did open up into the Restaurant which also consisted of guests paying £30.00 per person for the three course dinner and disco, not as you have stated ‘regular paying customers’. This layout has proven popular for numerous occasions both private & public creating a better atmosphere and space for guests dance & relax. As you are aware, the Monsoon suite has its own double bar, is fully air conditioned and is (to our minds) decorated to a very high standard.

I conclude by stating that we are saddened in equal measure at your disappointment and that you did not feel it appropriate to discuss the matter directly with our staff (to allow us the opportunity to put matters right) before seeking to discredit us with your remarks.

Kind Regards,
Helen Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The staff were friendly the food was hot but unfortunately the atmosphere was lacking, almost empty, no music. Such a shame as the food was and service was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We are a couple in our fifties and are currently staying for three nights in the hotel. After a five hour drive the easiest thing to do was eat in the Lazaat restaurant. Having no prior knowledge (I'd TA'd the hotel not the restaurant) my first impressions were good - a short menu of interesting dishes. I had the chicken livers to start, followed by the beef bhuna and my wife had the tandoori chicken as her main course. All was very good but the beef was exceptional. I admit to loving strong savoury flavours so I absolutely adored the bhuna ... the meat was perfectly tender and the sauce divine; whilst it wasn't a hot as your 'normal' bhuna it was a lovely deep flavour with sufficient spice to know you're eating a curry. The waiting staff were excellent. If we didn't live 250 miles away we would definitely return.

Thank lled0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lazaat Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Skidby, East Riding of Yorkshire
Cottingham, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Cottingham, East Riding of Yorkshire
Skidby, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Cottingham, East Riding of Yorkshire
Cottingham, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Lazaat Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing