We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worried about returning!”

Lazaat Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Cottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Cuisines: British, Grill, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: After 12 years, the team behind Lazaat are working towards a new and rebranded restaurant. With new décor, a new menu and a new feel, exciting times are upon us. At the heart of Lazaat is their charcoal and wood burning grill menu. The talented and innovative chefs use lump wood and sustainable wood from the English countryside to cook a range of prime, locally sourced meats. This cooking method is natural, with no additives, and imparts the most amazing flavour and aromas to the food. Loyal regulars wanted Lazaat to retain some of their popular signature Persian dishes, alongside the grill. The result is a classic, second-to-none menu that compliments the use of the unique charcoal and clay oven. The restaurant is located just a five-minute drive from Cottingham centre, and is undoubtedly worth the twenty minute trip from nearby Hull, whether it be for a special occasion, a family outing, or just an indulgent bite to eat after work. Here are the Lazaat Restaurant opening times which show the range of menus available at our Cottingham Restaurant. Breakfast Continental Breakfast Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am Full Breakfast Saturday - Sunday: 8.00am - 10.00am Lunch 2 Course Buffet Lunch Monday - Friday 12.00pm - 2.30pm Sunday Best & Buffet 12.00pm - 3.00pm Dinner Evening Menu Monday, Wednesday - Sunday 6.00pm - 9.00pm Curry Night Tuesday 6.00pm - 9.00pm
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worried about returning!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Having previously eaten at Lazaat, I am potentially faced with a return works visit! Our first meal was a disaster! It was a rare night out for me and my partner. The vegetable curry was horrendously spicy. I was assured on ordering it would be mild. Although I am not a huge spice fan, I appreciate the flavours of a nice curry. My husband tried some and concluded that it was far too spicy too. He loves a hot curry, so on this note I asked a waiter if they could do anything. When he eventually returned I was told they couldn't make anything else other than pasta, so I asked for the manager. When he finally came he was quite abrupt and eventually offered me some plain yoghurt. This was brought in a large gravy boat! Even with this I barely ate a quarter of my meal. We were offered no refund or apology despite suggesting one. Do I return?????

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sunshinedays2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    50
    24
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dire”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just avoid if you like good food.

Where to start - bread rolls awful, a tomato and stilton tartlet consisted of an overbaked pastry case - with one very thin slice of tomato in. This was on top of a lot of cold lettuce on a hot plate. This was smothered in a hot sauce.

Chicken like rubber for main in a tarragon sauce which tasted like soup. Vegetables not al dente but raw.

Bought puddings with squirty cream

Just do not bother.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank greenfield31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Two out of three ain't bad”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Almost left before we started last night after a very rude comment from one of the staff. We arrived at 8.48, which apparently is 3 minutes too late for last orders. I told him i had rung to say we would be a couple of minutes late as we couldn't get away from work straight away. His reply was "Well you will have to order within the next 5 minutes." I looked at him and said "i see customer service isn't on the menu tonight then." He apologised to my mate later for his attitude. I think this was because we actually left before many others who were in before we were. Anyway, onto the food. We had a 3 course meal, the food is mainly Indian and very nice. The choice isn't vast but it is varied enough. I had lamb chops Madras style to start. They came with spiced vegetables and were delicious. Main course i plumped for beef bhuna with cumin rice and naan. It was one of the best Indian meals I have ever had, the beef just melted in the mouth and the curry was so tasty. So two fabulous courses down and one to go. The dessert menu is very minimal, i think it only has 4 dishes on it. We both went for the Eton mess. Oh dear, this was not good. It came in a knickerbocker glory type glass and was fruit free. I thought Eton mess had fresh strawberries and/or raspberries in it, this had neither. It had strawberry puree at the bottom and was topped up with whipped cream and meringue. It was just a sweet, creamy and rather sickly pud which i regretted having. You didn't get any fruit taste until the last spoonful. That said, overall it was very tasty and the surroundings are very pleasant. I would return but i would hope that the service is with a smile rather than a snide comment next time. PS - costs - Starters around £5 to £7 and mains around £12 to £16 pp

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lazatts something different”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Lazatts feels like your abroad somewhere like morocco, but the food is exceptional really tasty and one of the best lamb bhunas I've ever had.
They also have a great ambience I would recommend this place for a romantic couple or a nice family get together .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They didn't have chillies, it's meant to be an indian =_=”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Visited last night as we had a suite booked in the lazaat's
We found we had a meal in the restaurant, as part of our room booking, looked forward to it as we read a few pleasant review's

Wow couldn't of been anymore wrong, first of all got nothing against a restaurant staff as they were a nice bunch but we're was a Asian person in an indian restaurant?

That didn't even take the biscuit, me and my partner ordered a beef buhna & chicken biriyani.
OMG.... the biriyani!! it looked like a pukka pie!! It had some pastry thing on top of it covering it? Didn't understand what it was but gave it ago anyway, all I can say to describe it is, there was 5 pieces of chicken with a few bits of rice stuck to it as for the buhna, it's meant to be dry and a smooth consistency, it was like a cup of tea with beef/lamb in it. !!

To put the icing on the cake, the food had no kick to it so asked a waiter to bring me some green chillies, he went off to come back and tell us to my amazement that they didn't have any green chillies

Wooooow, indian restaurant that don't out chillies in there FOOD!!
How do they get away with it when someone ask's to make there meal spicer/hotter.

Everyone that's wrote a review praising this place clearly have never ever ever ever ever eaten an indian meal!
They don't know what there talking about!!
I couldn't take anyone seriously in there
Not the customers eating in there to the staff serving us!

Also just to say there was music blaring out till 2am so couldn't sleep & the staff didn't have any front of house skill's and the receptionist (girl) was very cold and blunt... Didn't make us feel welcome and if anything was looking down on us.

Don't waste your time coming here to eat thinking your getting an indian meal because it's far from an indian... It's more of a joke.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NoLie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lazaat Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Cottingham, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Skidby, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Lazaat Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing