We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and service at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halfway House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Ballygally B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Along with a couple of friends I use this restaurant regularly. This family-run business exudes welcoming charm, friendly atmosphere and exemplary service - always with humour and a smile. The food is consistently excellent. The "no nonsense" menu offers lots of choice. The owners have exercised sound business acumen by pitching the prices at an affordable level in recognition of the current, difficult economic climate. The staff appear to have the sensitivity to know when the customer wishes discreet privacy or prefers to have a bit of 'banter'. It is absolutely marvellous to find a place which has retained traditional courtesies while, at the same time, recognising the more discerning demands of the diversity of clientiele with whom they interact so magnificiently. And ................. where else would you meet a former World Boxing Champion there to greet you with such a wry sense of humour..,,,?

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank CSH_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Halfway House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is a fantastic place to have your family get togethers. It has attentive staff and owners and provides a truely great experience. Food is amazing and we wouldnt go anywhere else. Top notch!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Having experienced some of the dodgier eateries around this area I feel Halfway House deserves a top rating. Great food, good service, helpful attentive staff and lovely views over the sea. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Missy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed for 3 nights at the Halfway house and wished it was longer,had a wonderful time,very welcoming, food fab. First visit to Ballygally will return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eithne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

The first thing you notice is how clean the hotel is . Had a lovely stay very relaxing , staff friendly , food very good .
Quiet but what else do you go away for . Will be back .

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginger352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

For a great night out The Halfway House is ideal, The atmosphere is fantastic, the food is great, and the staff are so freindly, When I go out I love a steak and nowhere can compete with The Halfway Steaks the flavour is great at the portions are good, all in all a great place for a special meal

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidcgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

we arrived into the hotel and it took a while for the owner to find our bookings even though we had booked months in advance as we had a wedding at the golf club. our room was full of damp, we asked to be moved to another room but the hotel was fully booked due to the wedding. the owners completely disagreed there was a strong smell of damp in the room, they came back with a plug in! the beds were uncomfortable, the pillows were lumpy, the linen and blankets old. the entire hotel/motel has mismatched wall coverings carpets & was dark. we asked for some money to be knocked off the price and were refused bluntly by the mother in law of the owner of the hotel. the breakfast was average, spoilt by our room environment. the customer service was non existant. the only reason this hotel is in existance is due to the wedding service sadly. our advice is - dont stop to stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank lacybrooks09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
0.9 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,384 reviews
7.3 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
540 reviews
13.8 mi away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lynden Heights
Lynden Heights
#3 of 6 in Ballygally
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
BallyCairn House
BallyCairn House
#2 of 6 in Ballygally
24 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairnview Bed and Breakfast
Cairnview Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 6 in Ballygally
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halfway House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway House Hotel

Address: 352 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2RA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ballygally
Price Range: £75 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Halfway House Hotel is a family run hotel, situated on the world famous Causeway Coast/Antrim Coast and Glens. It can be described as the Gateway to the Glens and Causeway Coast because of the location. From the front of the hotel you can see that it is situated in a picturesque seaside village. On clear days, if you look across the sea you will be able to see the mountains of Scotland. Within the hotel there is also a large lounge area (Maidens Lounge) where food and drink are served daily. The menu has a wide variety of food available – from seafood to steaks and a great selection of sweets. Again this area has lovely views over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Halfway House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halfway House Hotel Ballygally, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing