We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner in the Garden Room”
Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ballygally Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
Glenarm, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dinner in the Garden Room”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My family and I had dinner last Sunday in the Garden Room Restaurant at Ballygalley Castle Hotel and i want to compliment the management and staff who provided us with delicious food from the finest local produce with service second to none. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenarmmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    310
    144
    76
    51
See reviews for
332
628
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is my second time staying @ the Ballygally Castle and as ever it didn't disappoint. It was my partners birthday so I decided to book 1 of the executive double rooms as a treat these rooms are located in the the tower which is the oldest part of the castle, are room was the Glenann. The room was lovely and had a real oldie worldie charm about it. The beds are massive and are so comfortable. We ate in the restaurant at night as this was included in the room package the food was first class all locally sourced ingredients I would diffinately recommend the 10oz dexter sirloin steak which I had and my partner had the 14oz Hereford sirloin on the bone he equally enjoyed his meal. We both had the prawn cocktail to start with which comes with the most gorgeous guinness weaten bread. The staff are very pleasant and nothing is to much trouble for them. We had I few drinks in the bar @ night I would recommend trying the fruit salad cocktail yummy!! Another must while you are there is a visit to the ghost room it's diffinately better to visit at night though.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronster1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We came to Ballygally Castle for a wedding and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the time was perfect.

On checkin there was a little confusion with the bookings but this was delt with promptly and the error had been on our side.

The porter then took us to the room and was very friendly and gave us a little bit about the history on the building. Our meal was also perfect. It came out hot and delicious and the staff were very prompt. And even converted my other half to liking chicken and bacon cesar salad (it was delicious)!!

Now the bed was superb, the duvet made me not want to leave! Everything in the room was clean and minimal.

In the morning everything was topped off with a delicious breakfast and a wide choice!

I would most certainly stay here again and would like to thank the staff for making Nigel and Yvonne's wedding so fantastic!!

Room Tip: As for a room with a view, The Views are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyLoughran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

 
Stayed at the Ballygally Castle for the the Ronan Keatingd concert and what a great place to stay. My room looked out on the sea and the it was like a picture postcard. the staff were very proffesional and knowledgeable and i really Couldnt say enough about the hotel and the people who made my stay wonderful. The inly negative was the price of the food and the small portions, but If your every in the area this is the place you want to be your resting point for driving up and down the Irish coast in northern Ireland

 
 

 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misslcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

arrived at this hotel for a 1night stay, had to wait for to get keys to our room so we decided to have a drink at the bar, a glass of wine and a pint of beer shocked to get no change from a £10 note. The room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the sea which was nice,bathroom on the small side with a window right beside the toilet so was a bit apprehensive about being seen from outside using the toilet. Went for our evening meal at 5.30 it was empty except for another couple, had to wait for an hour for our meal which was just ok. Next morning went down for breakfast at about 9.30 no staff about as they were in the kitchen, couldn't find plates and had to ask a member of staff, when we went to get our fry there were no eggs, so had to ask for some. It would have been nice to have some entertainment on for a sunday night as the hotel is in an isolated spot. I would rate this hotel as a 3 star compared to the other hasting hotels i have stayed in. Receptionist friendly but service elswhere could improve.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of the hotel to see the views of the irish sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3barney3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Arrived keys did not open room then got twin ordered double. Dealt with excellently by front desk who upgraded us to the Garden suite. Nice room provided nearly all basic amminites except an iron. Paid for B&B and one extra meal. Service at dinner was rushed with no interaction from the staff which created a lack of atmosphere. Also give a menu which did not have all the available menu items on it. I would be happy to pay any supplement if it meant I could enjoy a full selection. Breakfast had all your usual items except for the service which again felt rushed and lacked interaction. Overal an alright stay but lacked something which you get at other Hasting hotels. I probably would not stay here again as there is other great hotels in the area. On the plus side the food was good an the location is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crrw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Booked a 1 night "luxury for less" deal which included afternoom tea, bed & breakfast. My wife and I arrived early and were surprised that our room was ready. The room was wonderful with a sea view and everything we required. Afternon tea was great altough not available until 3.30, which meant we didn't have dinner until 8.30. Dinner menu was limited as two of the mains, Duck & lamb were finished. Wine is very overpriced @ £23 for the cheapest bottle and not that impressive. After dinner Hotel was deserted with no atmosphere but this was to be expected on a Sunday night. Had breakfast around 9.15, great selection but cooked breakfast was not only cool but undercooked, bread not even coloured. Apart from the view down points I would consider returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notimpressed61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,066 reviews
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
865 reviews
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
526 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Property: Ballygally Castle
Address: 274 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing