We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really pleasant surprise.”
Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ballygally Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My fiance and I had stopped off at Ballygally Castle for coffee while on a day out on the Coast Road and thought that it was pretty enough and perhaps somewhere to have a look at in the future. When it came to my fiances birthday we thought that it was a good opportunity to pay another visit. The first thing that you notice on arriving is the castle itself, although in the grand scheme of things it is a small castle, it looks great and well cared for. The modern extension to the structure that houses the hotel blends in well and is sympathetic to the appearence. Inside the hotel is modern and really nicely furnished. The most striking thing, and something that would occur to us again and again during our stay were staff from the moment that you check in, through dining at dinner and breakfast and sitting in the lounge the folk who work here are really warm and friendly in a genuine way that does not seem forced which made our stay extra special. Our room was on the first floor, apparently part of a newly refurbished part of the hotel and I was more than happy with the furnishings. The sea view was worth the trip alone. I really enjoyed our stay here. The restaurant was lovely, we ate there two nights running and the breakfasts were enough to make me get up on time for- a buffet of as much or as little as you want which was enough to last me all day. Bottom line- This is a great hotel, with beautiful surroundings, fantastic folk looking after you, and great food. I hope to return again before too long.

Room Tip: Our room was on first floor with views facing the sea which were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimi Jam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

932 - 938 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Took my mum for a drive down the coast .Dropped into Ballygally Castle Hotel for afternoon tea, we were greated by warm very friendly receptionist who was most courteous and welcoming , enjoyed the beautiful views , a splendid afternoon . thanks to Ruth the receptionist we will certainly be back . Teresa

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank liouseballymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Ballygally Castle hosted my daughters wedding on 26-04-2014. From the minute the wedding cars arrived, the staff (right from the manager, receptionists, bar staff, waiters/waitresses, maids)were most courteous and helpful. The service provided was first class. The wedding dinner was excellent. The food provided for the evening buffet was superb. Scott was a great help in keeping things rolling along smoothly. The rooms were of an excellent standard with some super views. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandamoore29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Recently attended my niece's wedding and stayed 4 nights. The location is fantastic - right on the coast and easily accessible from the port of Larne. The meals in the Garden Restaurant were excellent, but the breakfasts were just amazing - and all the food was sourced locally. The staff were very friendly and helpful, although sometimes a bit slow - but in a place like this, who cares? Bedrooms were extremely spacious and the bed was the biggest, most comfortable I've ever slept in. Beautiful landscaped gardens and views right across the sea to the Mull of Kintyre. A great base for touring round the Antrim coast. I'm already looking forward to my next visit!!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I attended a wedding at this castle/hotel. Fantastic location, with views over to Scotland on a good day. Just been refurbished - absolutely five star. Brand new (and large) rooms, WONDERFUL beds - all brand new, fantastic bathrooms with great power showers. Tea and coffee in rooms, TV, full wardrobe space and iron/press in the rooms. Wonderful reception area, open fires, good bars, comfortable lounges, perfect setting for a wedding - beautiful and well maintained gardens. Excellent toilets, extremely clean. The restaurant manager - Norma Craig - was excellent at organising the smooth-running of the wedding day. Food was superb, hats off to the chef!! Breakfast buffet - more food choices than I imagined - all wonderful. All in all, a great hotel in a stunning location, with history too - be sure to visit the "Ghost Room".

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

One night stay in 4 star refurbished hotel.

Great setting, good room, excellent staff and very good food.

We stayed in the actual castle (accessed by stone spiral staircase or lift if you prefer). It seemed a shame to stay in one of the newer rooms given the history of the castle. Our room wasn't massive, but had a great atmosphere with 5ft thick walls and small tower window. There was some creaking from floorboards above but given the castle is about 400 years old, I think that's fair enough. Of the 50 rooms in the castle only about four or fve are in the castle itself - so book early if you prefer the character of the castle tower.

The food and waiting staff were fantastic - we really felt well looked after. Breakfast was superb. The standard of finish in the hotel is very high - especially as they have just done a major refurb.

The castle boasts interesting gardens including a river and the setting along the coast is superb. Steps from the hotel car park lead to a nice beach. Ballygally itself is a small village - not much happening there but it has a shop which is handy. You definitely need a car to get around. Glenariff Forest Park is 40 mins further north and Carnfunnock Country Park is 5mins south. Both boast good walks. Carnfunnock is great for kids activities as well.

Room Tip: Rooms in the castle tower have more character and are more sought after but there might be some floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spuran0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I took my mother recently for afternoon tea and an overnight stay for her birthday, in this newly refurbished hotel, and from the moment we walked in the door, we were made to feel special. The refurbishments are amazing and the setting stunning...but what sets this hotel apart is the staff. Afternoon tea was served with a warm smile and friendly chat by a most efficient and friendly waiter who gave my mother a birthday kiss! This made her day. The evening was topped off by the most comfortable night's sleep we have had away from home in ages. We had the most amazing sea front room, newly refurbished and truly 'fit for a king'! Breakfast the next morning was so tasty and again the friendly staff helped to make the experience so pleasant and memorable. Before our departure, we spent time chatting to a fabulous young man called Sam who has recently been promoted at The Ballygally Castle. He is 'a natural' in the hospitality industry and will go far, but more importantly, he has the knack of making his guests feel special. Thank you Sam! We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
19.4 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,199 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
920 reviews
17.3 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
549 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
14.1 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Address: 274 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price Range: £98 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing