We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful, elegant and relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ballygally Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
Carryduff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful, elegant and relaxing break”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

An unexpected beautiful gem in Northern Irelands hotels for a short break. I had no idea of the elegance, the beauty and the absolute tranquility of the Ballygally Castle Hotel. Such a relaxed atmosphere, with peace, quiet and calm. A lovely view of the sea from the windows and the food and staff were just amazing. What a delight and what an absolute find. I will be back, and back and back again.

Room Tip: All rooms were of the highest quality and all you would expect from a Hastings hotel, but if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyMarshall07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, General Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear TracyMarshall07,

Thank you very much for your kind words of praise and encouragement. You can be sure that your comments will be shared with all concerned.

We are delighted that you enjoyed and shared your comments regarding the 'elegance, beauty and absolute tranquillity of the Ballygally Castle', along with 'the food and staff (that) were just amazing'.

We look forward to your return.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your positive reviews of our hospitality and service.

Sincerely

Stephen M. Perry
General Manager
Ballygally Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    290
    132
    69
    48
See reviews for
301
582
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Great Hotel, Visited recently after the refurbishment and they have done a great job with the building keeping the old charm about the place. We stayed in one of the coastal deluxe rooms and felt like royalty! The staff have not changed there charm, from Scott greeting us at the door to Norma in the Restaurant we can't wait to book our next get away to the fab Ballygally! Scott and the team keep up the good work!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I recently returned to the newly refurbished Ballygally Castle Hotel for 2 nights and both myself and my partner loved it, the apperance of the hotel, the staff, the food & bedrooms all perfect however the only tiny moan i have is the wine isnt on the cheaper side :( but everything else perfect. I have always been a fan of the hotel as the staff are always so friendly. Lisa & Norma always go out of their way to make our stays perfect :) keep up the good work :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 321laur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and absolutely loved it! The new coastal rooms are buetiful with an amazing view. Food at the hotel was great and the staff were all very pleasent and helpful. I will definitely be back. Great place for a relaxed weekend away.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

pleasantly surprised -- the place has recently been done up -- looked great inside and out and a super comfortable pillow top bed and feather pillows. staff were very helpful and the grounds are well kept. food was a bit pricey and standard fare.

Room Tip: get a sea view or ask for the ghost tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dathi_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Called at the restaurant after being at the tulip festival , appeared quite busy ( May be just as a result of limited parking) went to reception and enquired about availability of food being served all day. Directed to the buffet lunch , wasn't offered any alternative or price etc. Very pleasantly served table ready quite quickly and buffet directions given, bear in mind it was 3.40 pm so buffet tailing off. Little meat left but enough, got tail end of potatoes and vegetables , starters limited , puddings looked ok. At no point did I suspect it would be expensive!!! Had I known the price at this stage I would most certainly have complained as it was just ok and luke warm. Went to pay.... X3 buffet lunches x1 small white wine, x1 white wine spritzer and a Fanta orange was £97.70 OMG it was NOT worth this, after all this was a quick Sunday Lunch for my friend and my mother, I did suggest it was expensive for a buffet lunch and was told " well I will take that comment on the chin, yes we have put our prices up", I would not recommend at these prices unfortunately it was ONLY a BUFFET not a freshly cooked meal........ Should have called in up the road, less attractive surroundings but better food much more sensibly priced SORRY I rarely complain but felt I had to this time

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, General Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Caroline F,

We have digested your comments and taken the appropriate actions to prevent this occurrence from being repeated.

We would of course be delighted if you were to provide us with another opportunity to reaffirm our position as providers of the finest hospitality.

Should you wish to discuss this matter any further, please feel free to contact me directly.

Yours Sincerely

Stephen M Perry
General Manager
Ballygally Castle
e-mail: gm@bgc.hastingshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My Mum and I called in to Ballygally Castle for morning coffee. Dad and Mum had their wedding reception there in 1949! We have been back since then but were pleasantly surprised this time. The coffee and cake were delicious, but the the best part was when the manager, Stephen Perry showed us around. The function room has a stunning view over the river and side garden. Bedrooms are of a high standard and coastal views are lovely. In the tower, the bedrooms are designed with flair and imagination! The garden is being rejuvenated and we enjoyed a stroll around. Anyone who wants a swim in the sea would not have far to go, just across the road! I hope to stay there some time in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
19.4 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,759 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
751 reviews
17.3 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Curran Court Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
274 reviews
14.1 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
304 reviews
8.2 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Property: Ballygally Castle
Address: 274 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing