We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“CRACKIN VENUE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ballygally Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“CRACKIN VENUE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

what a lovely seaside hotel
crackin views
rooms revamped after refit
sunday carvery very good
giro d,italia route
furnishings n fittings all refreshed
staff r attentive
haute cuisine
beds r luxurious
porridge has a good additive

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    277
    128
    67
    48
See reviews for
284
549
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co Armagh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ballygally Castle is located on the beautiful Antrim coast road so for location it scores highly. It has also been tastefully renovated recently but it has still kept its quaint charm. We called in at the hotel on Monday evening and relaxed in their comfortable sofas. We were served by Stephen (in the bar) and nothing was too much trouble for him. Our son is on a gluten-free and dairy-free diet so he popped in to chat to the chef several times to work out what would be safe for him to eat. Stephen didn't mind helping with the special diet and was very attentive throughout our meal. The food was lovely too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed here for a short overnight break. The hotel has recently been refurbished and although we were not in one of the new rooms, ours was lovely, very clean and spacious and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The new reception area and foyer are very welcoming with lovely seating areas and places to relax with a glass of wine. Staff were very friendly, particularly Anne in the dinning room when we were there for breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was amazing and our poached eggs cooked fresh and to perfection. All the produce is sourced locally in Northern Ireland which is brilliant. Looking forward to being back here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebelnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just reopened after refurbishment and all seem to be eager to please, beginning with Jackie at the front door. The rooms are lovely and well appointed and the beds are great!! There is even a turndown service with chocolates!! Take time to walk thru the walled garden with a stream running thru it. We ate dinner here, not sure anything else is nearby, and enjoyed our meal. Again, service was very good in the restaurant. My only complaint would be parking. The lot is across the street but it is quite small so getting a spot can be a challenge. I understand there is more parking but not sure where it is. Would definitely recommend a stay here just to enjoy the property and area. Not sure I would use this as a base to go out exploring as it seems a bit removed.

Room Tip: Room 103 faces the front so you have a view if the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommaw1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Although we've stayed in the hotel on previous occasions, this time our stay was a surprise birthday present for my partner. The hotel has just recently reopened after being refurbished and the new decor and furnishing are all very impressive. The bedroom was very spacious and the bed very comfortable. The food was the usual high standard even though the hotel was so busy.
All staff were very polite and obliging. The only disappointment was when I went to settle our account we had been charged twice for dinner and wine - I accept no one is infallible but mistakes like this should not occur - thankfully I had checked the account before making the payment!

Room Tip: Bedrooms fronting the Coast Road can enjoy the magnificent views right across to Scotland (on a clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Had a fab time at a wedding in the castle, was checked in by Ruth at reception, very friendly! The bedrooms are amazing, fantastic views and would recommend having breakfast in your bedroom by the window! Overall amazing stay and the food is great too! No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlybap92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in the hotel twice and both times were impressed with this hotel. The food is great the rooms are beautiful and the staff couldn't be more helpful. It's also in a beautiful location right on the sea on the coast road and ideal for exploring the North Coast area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizzyloulabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Leighinmohr House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Property: Ballygally Castle
Address: 274 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing