We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing like an Irish Castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballygally Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing like an Irish Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We'd stayed there as part of a tour group and had both dinner and breakfast there. The surroundings are beautiful and there is a sad ghost in the tower for atmosphere. Our room looked out over the ocean. A fascinating option for breakfast was porridge, which had as toppings cream, honey, and Bushmills. It would certainly set one up for the day. What a fun place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    285
    132
    68
    48
See reviews for
295
572
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal last night with a good friend of mine. Everything was top class, especially the outstanding service from Sam Denning and Scott Weatherup for seating us, at a busy time, as we had not booked. Cocktails were also beautiful and worth the price. Definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I made reservations in the tower rooms based on a recommendation from my sister. What fun! There are only a few rooms in the ancient tower and one of them is reserved for their local ghost. The rooms were wonderful and larger than we had expected.

You cannot beat the location of this hotel. Right on the water with views of small islands and Scotland off in the distance.And the coastal road is a drive that you will never forget.

The bar manager was great and the hotel staff friendly and efficient. If I could make one suggestion it would be to improve the restaurant staff quality. The food that is served is good whether breakfast or dinner. But at times the wait staff seemed inexperienced and not sure what to do. They sincerely tried their best but at times needed guidance.

Don't forget to try some of the "tasty" additions for the breakfast porridge. All in all, an experience you will not forget!

Room Tip: Ask for the tower rooms. It's a few euros more but worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We called in at the Ballygally Castle Hotel for lunch on our way back to catch the ferry at Larne. We had a lovely meal, which was very reasonably priced. The staff were warm and friendly and in particular Jackie was very attentive and even gave us a tour of the newly extended ballroom and a trip up to the Ghost Room - very interesting but you wouldn't get me staying in there even for charity! This was our second visit and we were so impressed with the recent refurbishments, will consider using the hotel next time we're over in Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSA689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, General Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear JSA689,

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review of your experience at Ballygally Castle. We listen with great intent to what you and all our guests have to say.

We welcome both the positive and constructive feedback of valued guests such as yourself, who have given of your time and energy to furnish us with your opinions. I am therefore delighted that you have benefited by being the recipient of such a pleasurable experience.

You may rest assured that you comments will be shared with the team and in particular with Jackie.

We look forward to your return.

Yours Gratefully,

Stephen Perry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The "Ballygally Castle" has a very warm and inviting feel to it. Nicely furnished and decorated with lots of woodwork. Our room was large and well appointed. The setting by the seaside is wonderful. The staff were excellent in all respects. To sum it all up in one word- "classy"!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTravellerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, General Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear AvidTravellerCalgary,

Thank you for your kind words of praise and encouragement, for both the service you received from our staff and for our historic and intimate Castle buildings, with 17th Century Walled Gardens and views of the Antrim Coast and Scotland beyond............

You may be assured that we will share your comments with our team members.

We wish you a safe and enjoyable onward journey and look forward to welcoming your friends, family and anyone whom you may have influenced to stay in light of your review.

Yours Sincerely,

Stephen Perry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Went here to the carvery for Sunday lunch, 12.30 to be sure of freshness and suit the kids. We were a family of 14 and 4 generations. We waited all 14 of us( 9 adults and 5 children) for several minutes before we were eventually shown to our table, by a vacuous person with a clip board, as no-one was at the meet and greet area. On taking our seats no-one welcomed us, explained the carvery or told us what was available. We waited almost 10 minutes for someone to come and take a drinks order, until we were forced to try to attract the attention of the waiting staff, who looked at us and point blankly ignored us. Seriously…..? We eventually got some drinks, but no glasses. The starter selection was excellent, the main course meats were equally good, but the vegetables were well over-cooked and soggy even though we were there as soon as it opened! A good selection of desserts. By far my biggest gripe was the lack of training for the staff and their inattentiveness.Constantly having to try to attract their attention for things that should have come as a matter of course. No one taking drinks order, wine not poured when it eventually came, no glasses for water and juice, tea offered to us while we were eating our main course, plates cleared from table while others were still eating…this is not America! Two members of staff did shine out…Sam and Jude and they were both notable by their efficiency, friendliness and professionalism. Others should take note, not least the management!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgia62uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, General Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Georgia62uk,

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me this morning.

Thank you for choosing Ballygally Castle and our ever popular Sunday Lunch Buffet, for your family gathering.

Again, you have my sincere apology that on this occasion we did not deliver the quality experience that is indicative of Ballygally Castle.

You may rest assured that your candid feedback has been acknowledged and acted upon and that your positive comments will be shared with Sam, Jude and all others involved.

If I may be of any further service, or if you wish to address this matter in further detail, please feel free to contact me at e-mail: gm@bgc.hastingshotels.com

Sincerely,

Stephen Perry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night as we travelled around Northern Ireland for a few days.We got a small room at the rear of the hotel which was not a problem as we booked late in the afternoon and were given a reduction in room cost. The hotel has obviously been refurbished to a high standard and the hotel and room facilities are excellent.
However I was disappointed with my dinner experience .The menu listed the offerings as well as a list of side orders at extra cost.I I ordered cod on a bed of champ.The menu stated that there was also vegetables on the plate and when I enquired of the restaurant manager if I needed a side order of veg I was assured that there was no need to do so.When the food arrived there was essentially a small "garnish" of finely diced veg on the plate.Further enquiry to the manager as to how long it would take to get veg resulted in a reply of two minutes.Sadly it did not arrive in two mins and I was finished dinner when it did.
This may seem to be a trivial complaint and I was not charged for the veg.However this is classed as a four star hotel and the least you would expect is for the restaurant manager to know what each dish contains and if not to go and find out.Sadly the young man in question exuded a superior attitude that gave the impression that such detail may be below him.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, General Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear James C,

Thank you for your review. Thank you for your positive comments regarding your experience of Ballygally Castle over the weekend. Additionally, we appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the food and service and you may rest assured that we have heard what you have said. You have our apology for tarnishing your experience in this manner.

We would be delighted to be of service in the future and indeed I would be delighted to make myself available should you wish to address this matter further. I can be contacted directly at gm@bgc.hastingshotels.com

Yours Sincerely,

Stephen Perry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Property: Ballygally Castle
Address: 274 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing