We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truely Excellant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ballygally Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
Wisbech, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truely Excellant”
Reviewed 26 October 2010

My wife and i stayed here for a night away and what a night! We were allocated the Garden Suite and what a beautiful room with amazing views and a huge bed. The evening meal was fantastic and very tastey and then to the bar for a few drinks and another stunning view even in the dark. The breakfast was lovely as well(porridge with Bushmills!!) and all of the staff were very friendly and very attentive. Would highly reccomend this to anybody what a gem of a hotel in a beautiful location!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuttyian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    290
    132
    69
    48
See reviews for
301
582
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Just home from a very enjoyable stay at the Ballygally . Firstly i could not fault the staff in any way . From we first stepped out of the revolving door we were greeted with welcoming smiles. We went then to the Glenarm room which was located in the Tower, which also home to the resident Ghost , although we did not run into her ( or my wife would not have slept lol) there were stories off her wandering the halls .Added a little edge to our stay. Beds were massive , could have slept 4 . We ate in the bar and resturant and were not disappointed, a homely open fire beside the bar on a cold winters night was heaven .All the staff ,especially management and reception , were excellent , will definately go again .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJANDJACKIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We chose this hotel for its beautiful location.
The rooms are nice and comfortable.
From the window of our room we looked upon the flat roof of the kitchen and the ventilation of the kitchen made a lot of noise.
Apart from a nice lady at the reception in the morning, the staff was not friendly. Not at the reception and not in the restaurant. They ar moody and grumpy.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caronaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballymoney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

no heat in bedroom until 9 30 in the evening after several complaints to receptionist who was quite cheeky but the manager apologised also luke warm breakfast which was served on cold plates waiter staff friendly and helpful and one of them had to heat breakfast in microwave

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franklyn047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We have stayed in this hotel many times over the last 5 years now and I can honestly say we have never been disappointed. The hotel is in a beautiful location overlooking the east Antrim coast.
The hotel has a charming welcoming feel it is full of character and even boasts of having a ghost! The rooms are clean and beautifully presented and the breakfast in the morning is well worth the money-you certainly feel satisfied afterwards!
I honestly cannot think of a bad word to say about this hotel-magnifico!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed here from Sat to Mon and I have to tell you it was OUT OF THIS WORLD.

I could not say a bad thing about it.

Everything was top class. We are def going back. Just back from a very disappointing weekend in Southern Ireland and I have to tell you, I don't know how many times over the past weekend did my husband or myself say "I wish we had have went to Ballygalley Castle" for the sake of paying that extra bit more!!

Best room we ever stayed in.

Hotel was so quaint and so different. Girl playing piano at night in restaurant added a real sense of elegance. Not tacky.

Great location with superb views. Right on the shore.

Good location for visiting the North Coast also.

All in all, the best place in Ireland we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Had 2 nights in this hotel. It is in a quiet village but faces out to the sea so very relaxing and great for touring Antrim which is beautiful. Our room was good size, clean and well equipped. The hotel reception was nice and the bar had a welcoming open fire. The restaurant was nice but the wooden floors and furniture did make it quite noisy as did a coachload of over excited American tourists ! The food was good and superbly presented. The helping was a bit on the large side the first night but on the second the steak was cooked to perfection and tasted great. Breakfast was good too with lots of choice. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bailey061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
19.4 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,761 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
752 reviews
17.3 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Curran Court Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
274 reviews
14.1 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
304 reviews
8.2 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Property: Ballygally Castle
Address: 274 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing