We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bar staff rude”
Review of The Countryman

The Countryman
Ranked #6 of 143 Restaurants in Ballymena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bar staff rude”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Was in the restaurant last nite. Thursday, have to say the girl behind the bar was so rude. Felt like anythin I said was wrong she was right... I was very very disappointed wit it I had my mother out and left really unhappy. Plus side food was nice but staff need better attitude

Helpful?
4 Thank Jolene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    52
    20
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“1st Class Meal and Service”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I dined in Countryman tonight 26th June 2014 at 5.45 having made a booking. Very polite welcome and shown to our table where drinks order was promptly taken and delivered. Order taken and very promptly served again by pleasant and polite staff. I can highly recommend their Open Prawn. This is one of our favourite eating places in Ballymena. Good food and very pleasant and courteous Staff ensure we will return. Well done again The Countryman.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, shame about everything else”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Horrendous service, over-priced drinks. The food was nice but that's the only positive in a low-end, tacky nightmare.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishgal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great food with excellent service. This local restaurant provides generous portions of really tasty food and the service is first class

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS LUNCHES”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I always have lunch out at the Countryman. Food is always beautifully presented even when they are very busy, which is a regular occurance. Staff are very attentive and always obliging and attentive. I have a small appetite and detest getting a plate overloaded. countrym an seems to hit a happy medium. Their desserts deserve a special mention - try the 'cup' desserts ' yummy! Equally good for dinner but we like to eat midday.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaureenandThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Countryman also viewed

Ballymena, County Antrim
Ballymena, County Antrim
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
 

Been to The Countryman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing