We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galgorm Spa - Heavenly !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Galgorm Spa hotel is a must if you wish to go somewhere where it is both beautiful and relaxing. The food in all restaurants is excellent. The outside beer garden beautiful. The spa itself is amazing. Service is excellent. Highly recommened.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmichael15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,132)
There are newer reviews for Galgorm Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,221 - 2,227 of 3,132 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We've stayed twice now at Galgorm and on both occasions we've had a fantastic time. On both occasions we dealt with a lady called Jo on reception and I must say she was very good at arranging our stay.
What to say that hasn't been said in previous reviews. Get the 5 star treatment by staying in Galgorm - you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank normski_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

WOW!! I have just returned home after a fantastic day at Galgorm Spa, I was given a voucher as a birthday present and decided to use it in the thermal spa.
I have used the spa facilities in a few hotels while I have been on holiday but this one was by far the best, the surroundings are really beautiful and the staff are very professional. When I arrived at the Spa I was welcomed by Jenny, she made me feel so welcome and relaxed and because I was a little earlier than the friends I was meeting she showed me through for tea in the secret area which was lovely, I would have had no idea it was there as it had a hidden door, the views of the river were outstanding and it had a very good selection of herbal teas as well as ordinary tea and coffee. While I was in this area Jenny came back to see if there was anything she could do for me which was very thoughtful as sometimes I find the spa assistants seem to forget you are there and I never know if I should wait until someone comes for me or if I should go back out again. Then Jenny came back to let me know when my friends had arrived, she then showed us through to the changing area and explained everything really professionally to us about how the spa area worked and where to go when we were changed. She also arranged lunch for as because we happened to mention we had nothing arranged. Fantastic day!!

We will definitely be back to Galgorm. Perhaps book treatments next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOGCoAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Check in took no more than a few minutes, even allowing for the staff changeover at 1500hrs. Our room was very very clean and well presented. An afternoon was spent in the Spa, again outstanding and very clean, just what we wanted.

The 4 course meal in Gillies was first class, everything from the staff to the choice of menu was very good, we were not rushed at any stage of the meal - outstanding service. Breakfast was again excellent well organised and very good produce.

We shall be back before the end of the year!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I went here for an overnight stay for our Wedding Anniversary, the hotel is beautiful, we booked online and ended up in a room with the river view which was amazing, fantastic size room. The staff in the hotel are so friendly and helpful, we had dinner in the restaurant Gilles and the food was excellent, we also had a drink that afternoon in Gilles bar, it is a lovely bar, very relaxed and chilled. The Spa in the hotel is unreal - again so relaxing could spend hours in it. There is a beautiful area outside the Mulberry Garden where you can sit outstide and have a drink it has lots of little fairy lights - magical. Overall we loved this hotel and cannot wait to go back, cant recommend this hotel enough - book your stay :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephanieA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

On arrival at the hotel, we were warmly greeted at reception however we had a to wait a few minutes as a wedding party had arrived. We were then checked in and made our way from the 3rd floor (reception) up one floor. We left behind a warm, dark homely feel and arrived on a cold almost damp feeling corridor. On entering our deluxe river view room (we had paid more to have this) we thought it was nice, but it lacked the wow factor.

The bathroom was lovely, with nice toiletries and bath robes for the spa, but the rest of the room was a bit disappointing and i felt that the decor could do with an update. The TV in the room only had a few channels and the reception wasn't great. There was a lovely little balcony that looked out over the spa and beautiful river.

The spa facilities are excellent, with so many different rooms there you could easily pass at least a couple of hours here.

We had some lunch in fratelli - the atmosphere and feel of the place was lovely. The starters were just ok but the pizza we shared was quite nice. Later in the evening we had dinner in Gillies, which i had people rave about before. For us it didn't live up the expectations we had for it. The starters were actually really really good and we were disappointed that we didn't order more of these in place of our mains. When ribs are advertised as "fall off the bone" that's what i expect, however they came away with great difficulty, so much so that my fiancee didn't bother eating them all. We explained this to the head waiter who kindly offered us complimentary liqueur coffees after dinner.

We were impressed with the turndown service which we didn't expect and another nice touch was a card and cupcakes for my birthday.

All in all, we did enjoy our stay, but given the price we paid and the disappointing room, i don't think i would return as an overnight guest. I know the prices change for the rooms depending on the day of the week so if you can get a good deal on the suite then book that instead.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I booked a night away for my girlfriend’s birthday, I was suitably impressed from the moment I walked into the hotel with the high standards, staff was very friendly and welcoming, we spend the afternoon in the spa which was also very clean and well maintained. I liked the small touches such a card and chocolates left in the room for my girlfriend’s birthday compliments of the hotel.

For our evening meal we went to Gillies which was very nice with large food portions, on a down side the waitress dropped a spoon with a tomato based sauce on my white shirt which I have haven’t been able to remove ;o(

The next morning we went for breakfast at 10am and on return to the room we thought we would take a quick dip in the pool before heading home again, I called reception to ask what time check out was, they advise it was 11am I asked was it possible to check out an hour later and I was told we would be charged at £20 per hour for every hour after 11am. I felt this a bit greedy and needless after having already spent £250 on our on night stay. I also informed the receptionist the next morning when she asked if I enjoyed my stay but she just advise when they are busy they just try to clear the rooms!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymena
2.2 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
885 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,845 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,381 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
325 reviews
2.9 mi away
Leighinmohr House Hotel
Leighinmohr House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ballymena
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galgorm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galgorm Resort & Spa

Address: 136 Fenaghy Road, Ballymena BT42 1EA, Northern Ireland (Formerly Galgorm Manor)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Price Range: £158 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galgorm Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Ireland's Premier luxury Hotel and Spa situated only 30 minutes from Belfast is the perfect location to relax and get away from it all...and with some fantastic accommodation and Spa offers this Spring, there really is no excuse not to treat yourself...Galgorm Resort & Spa is set in 163 acres of lush parkland near Northern Ireland's most renowned scenic attractions and is just 30 minutes from Belfast city centre, 20 minutes from Belfast International airport and 35 minutes from George Best Belfast City airport.Our facilities include 122 bedrooms and luxurious suites, designed in a contemporary style whilst keeping the focus on superior quality features associated with a classic country gentleman's residence. Full business communications facilities are provided in-room as well as entertainment for when it's time to relax.The resort also offers delightful countryside self catering cottages on site and unique log cabins situated alongside the flowing and tranquil River Maine.With miles of fishing on the River Maine, on-site stables, the most picturesque of walkways and cycle routes and the world class Spa at Galgorm, you'll find plenty to while away the hours as you escape into this home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Galgorm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galgorm Resort And Spa
Galgorm Hotel Ballymena
Galgorm Manor Hotel
Galgorm Manor Ballymena
Galgorm Resort & Spa Ballymena, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing