We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrate in style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Certificate of Excellence
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Celebrate in style”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Can't think of a more impressive venue in Northern Ireland to celebrate a birthday than the Galgorm Resort and Spa! Such a fabulous birthday present - an overnight stay incorporating fine dining at its best in Gillies Restaurant - a four course meal on the evening of our arrival and a hearty breakfast on the morning of departure; we also enjoyed the use of the thermal spa. Our superior room with balcony overlooking the fast flowing and tranquil River Maine also the gardens which reflected a rich tapestry of design was delightful. The atmosphere throughout was warm and welcoming and the staff were all quietly confident and courteous.

Room Tip: Our room on the fourth floor was very spacious with the patio door opening on to a Julian balcony ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,127
    389
    187
    87
    58
See reviews for
546
1,349
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our fourth trip to Galgorm in just over two years this time on the two night delight package and it surpassed all our expectations. Asked for and received on check in the deluxe room we had requested, bottle of prosecco courtesy of the hotel on arrival to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary,with rose petal turn down service as well on the Saturday night. Dined in River Room first night and Fratelli's on the second night. This was our fourth time in the River Room and was the the best meal yet. First time in Fratelli's and it was superb too. Breakfast excellent as usual as were the spa treatments as part of the package. No disruption caused by any of the ongoing building work either. Really like the new conservatory, nice and relaxing and good atmosphere especially with the crooner singing classic songs on Saturday night. Absolutely nothing to fault during our stay, excellent staff service throughout, roll on New Years Eve which is our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browner61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after attending a wedding in the lower great hall! The room was lovely, it was very big and the bed was extremely comfortable! Our room was on the 5th floor and the view was amazing! The setting of the hotel is beautiful! The lower great hall was a beautiful room for a wedding! The food was excellent the best I have ever had at a wedding and breakfast the next morning was extremely good! Guests get access to the spa and it is well worth a visit! The staff are very helpful and can't do enough for you! Will definitely return again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have just returned from an overnight spa break at Galgorm Resort and have been very impressed with the standard of this hotel. The resort is located in a sumptious manicured rural estate setting and sits beside the picturesque Maine river. We had a Superior room on the top floor new wing which overlooked the river - very pretty. The Spa is nicely appointed and you can soak in the outdoor hotpool (I've heard it referred to as a Hot Tub but is more like a small swimming pool)
The hotel has a choice of dining and whilst the food is of a good quality it may lack a little depth of style, however the staff are well trained and the surroundings are very nice. Overall a very good stay. One draw back was the virtual lack of a Vodafone signal so might be a bit annoying if on business.

Room Tip: I would look for a modern room overlooking the river. The 3rd floor has large patio, the fourth smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

heard alot of hype about galgorm so decided to check it out. We booked an offer that included an overnight stay, dinner, breakfast, use of the thermal spa and we also upgraded to a superior room which was well worth it because of the balcony. we arrived early and before check in had a few drinks in Gillies bar. The bar was clean, well presented and staff friendly.
we headed round to check in at 3pm only to find a large que which would cause a bit of a delay however, the staff compensated for this by serving the awaiting guests fresh fudge (totally won me over lol). we only qued for maybe 15mins before being greeted with a very friendly efficient receptionist.

the room itself was delightful and spacious with a large bathroom with both a shower and bath. the bed was kingsize and very comfortable. The galgorm doesnt have air conditioning and the room felt very warm however opening the balcony door brought cool air in from the river and made the room pleasant.

We had dinner in Gillies restaurant which was part of our package and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Negatives were that by the time we were ready for dessert we had to wait nearly 20mins for someone to take our order however the restaurant was very busy and we were enjoying the ambience so this really isnt much of a negative as the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and professional.

we slept like kings and enjoyed the breakfast on offer the following morning. the breakfast buffet had everything from cereals to crepes and waffles to full english and again we enjoyed the food very much.

looking forward to another visit!

Room Tip: paying only slightly more to upgrade from a standard double to superior double is well worth the add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armoy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels in Northern Ireland you will not be disappointed. I booked last min as an extended date night not to far from home but wanted a little escape from the rate race, on a Wednesday night. Reservation (sales) were brilliant very accommodating of my 630pm reservation when we arrived at 7pm everything was as it should be, as if it was booked weeks in advance. This hotel has an outstanding reputation in the local area, I have had the pleasure of staying previously on business and I promised to take my wife she had very high expectations. Rooms are beautifully appointed and spacious, all the staff are well presented and mannered, nothing was a problem. Dinner in gillies was wonderful a large and varied menu and reasonably priced we had 2 courses each with 2 alcoholic drinks total bill £50.50 this is on power with any other restaurant of this standard in the North Antrim area, food was fantastic. Service perfect. The beds are so comfortable on a par with the Sofitel in gatwick, which I still maintain have the most comfortable beds in the world. The reservation team told me that breakfast was included in my room rate despite my protests that I didn't have time in the morning and could it not be cheaper without the breakfast. I was so pleased they included breakfast I woke at 730 and my first meeting wasn't until 9 am in Belfast so we indulged in a wonderful breakfast a great choice to satisfy all and freshly cooked. We checked out at 820 and I made my meeting in Belfast for 9 am so central the location of the hotel

Things we will do differently the next time we stay, escape for longer investigate the spa and thermal pool

I only found one very small thing, which had no impact on our stay, a very very minor maintaince issue many wouldn't of even noticed. After checking out I mentioned this to them, they were so apologetic and appreciative of my comment, the only reason I put this in the review is to highlight to you how good this hotel is they want everything to be perfect

No matter how high your expectations you will not be disappointed
You must stay here top marks

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bregagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had a wonderful stay in Galgorm. Got a great midweek deal which included use of the spa, dinner bed and breakfast. Food was delicious and we were delighted to have been allowed to choose from the normal menu in Gillies restaurant. The service was first class, two of the staff in particular were brilliant (Christian and Kevin). Beds were extremely comfortable and there were nice touches such as water and chocolates left beside the bed. The spa was excellent and very well kept. Definitely worth a visit particularly if you can get it at this great price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grainne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymena
23.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
19.4 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
2.9 mi away
Leighinmohr House Hotel
Leighinmohr House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galgorm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galgorm Resort & Spa

Property: Galgorm Resort & Spa
Address: 136 Fenaghy Road, Ballymena BT42 1EA, Northern Ireland (Formerly Galgorm Manor)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Galgorm Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Ireland's Premier luxury Hotel and Spa situated only 30 minutes from Belfast is the perfect location to relax and get away from it all...and with some fantastic accommodation and Spa offers this Spring, there really is no excuse not to treat yourself...Galgorm Resort & Spa is set in 163 acres of lush parkland near Northern Ireland's most renowned scenic attractions and is just 30 minutes from Belfast city centre, 20 minutes from Belfast International airport and 35 minutes from George Best Belfast City airport.Our facilities include 122 bedrooms and luxurious suites, designed in a contemporary style whilst keeping the focus on superior quality features associated with a classic country gentleman's residence. Full business communications facilities are provided in-room as well as entertainment for when it's time to relax.The resort also offers delightful countryside self catering cottages on site and unique log cabins situated alongside the flowing and tranquil River Maine.With miles of fishing on the River Maine, on-site stables, the most picturesque of walkways and cycle routes and the world class Spa at Galgorm, you'll find plenty to while away the hours as you escape into this home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galgorm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galgorm Resort And Spa
Galgorm Hotel Ballymena
Galgorm Manor Hotel
Galgorm Manor Ballymena
Galgorm Resort & Spa Ballymena, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing