We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect peace and tranquillity”
other travellers have booked this property
Montalto Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montalto Farmhouse
Montalto farmhouse and Skerry Rock Twin Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Montalto Farmhouse
Montalto farmhouse and Skerry Rock
Twin Room
Back double room 3
the kitchen
Bathroom
Landing
Hallway
Garden
Garden
Garden
Sitting Room 2
Sitting room 2
Living Room 1
Living room 1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballymena, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johnrstho...
Towcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect peace and tranquillity”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We took three generations of our family for a five day break,and Montalto was the perfect base for trips along the marvellous Antrim coast and beyond. The welcome was lovely..a bottle of wine, cake and milk in the fridge. And the grandchildren will always remember Donal and collie Toby and the introduction to the sheep and shepherding skills. To wake every morning to the wonderful surrounding was a real pleasure. The farmhouse was very comfortable, well equipped, and so refreshingly tranquil. Our intention is to return again next summer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2017
Thank you John - I am so pleased you had a great time.
I look forward to seeing you next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
The Northern Ireland Tourist Board carried out their Annual Inspection of Montalto Farmhouse on 1st September 2017 (the day before this guest arrived). The Board have their standards and we were delighted to maintain our 3* rating.
 
This guest requested a thorough viewing of the property prior to booking and we were happy to oblige. Following viewing, her conclusion was: ‘It was perfect for her needs’.
 
As soon as we were informed of the unexpected problem, we contacted Environmental Health and immediately acted on their recommendations. The situation is resolved.
 
Montalto is a traditional farmhouse, on a working farm with a 100 year history.  It is decorated and furnished in a traditional style. The premises are thoroughly cleaned and prepared for new visitors.
 
The comments made in this guest’s post were not reflected in the amicable conversations which we had with her when the situation arose.  However, we very much regret that this guest was upset and decided not to complete her stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
roberthel...
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The farmhouse is fantastic well equipped for self catering and loads of space inside.
The farmhouse is well situated to travel round and visit places in Ireland but you do need a car.
The bottle of wine and cake on arrival where very well received. And the milk in the fridge a welcome sight for a well deserved brew.
The two farmers who run the farm behind are two of the friendliest people I've ever met and always willing to help.
A really good find and I would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review Robert. Glad you like the house and hope you enjoyed your stay.
Mairead
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samuelhil...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect - home from home”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for a week in August as we were attending a friends wedding. Firstly the owners couldn't have been more helpful, from providing a bottle of wine and welcome pack on arrival to checking to make sure we had everything we needed and providing advice on local attractions.

The house itself is beautiful and had everything we needed. It has a beautiful garden and lovely scenery and is extremely comfortable.

The location is also good as it is pretty much in the middle of Northern Ireland, so is perfect for exploring this great place.

All in all we had a great holiday and would definitely recommend this place to everybody.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliseperi...
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“A great place to stay for a short vacation!”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were 4 adults and 3 children, and the house was really spacious. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept very well.There were two living rooms, both with real wood fireplaces, and ready stacked, so that we only needed to light them. There was also central heating, so we were kept snug and warm. Our hosts very thoughtfully provided us with a starter pack of bread, cake, butter, milk etc. Donal and Jarlath very kindly brought in new lambs so the children could see them being fed. We had a fantastic four day stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed staying in our home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adehit
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely faultless. Couldn't ask for better”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Two families, four children and more than enough room for all. The cottage is on a working farm and being invited by the farmers to hold new born lambs really made the kids weekend. As for the kitchen, it is equipped to the point that if isn't there, you really don't need it. There is nothing negative you can say about this property. From booking, the pre-arrival phone call to the stay itself, everything was 100% spot on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We only booked a weekend
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was perfect timing to enjoy the lambing season. Look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing