We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B, beautiful rooms and great dinner as well.”
Review of Marlagh Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marlagh Lodge
Ranked #3 of 15 Ballymena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B, beautiful rooms and great dinner as well.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed in July, and had a lovely evening with dinner. Robert was very welcoming as were the chickens and the cats. We enjoyed dinner with two other guests, and Robert produced an excellent meal, asking only one question....."anything that you don't like?" The evening was like a very pleasant dinner party with good quality food. We were in the 'Chintz' room, large and well furnished (like the rest of the house). Private parking off road, and although the property is a little bit out of town being able to have dinner on site meant we didn't have to go anywhere. Breakfast was delightful with the poached plums a particular favourite along with the great crispy and dry cooked fry.

Room Tip: We only saw the chintz room which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polychrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
57
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Robert , our host was full of knowledge and helpful advice. We had dinner there on night which showed he was clearly a capable chef, delightful company and happy to share his enthusiasm of Northern Ireland . We used it as base and headed off west , and were able to comment on his suggestions which we found accurate and useful. We were in the blue room , which was very well appointed. Try high porridge with Bushmills ! You add what you want!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMW1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Really good value, beautiful huge rooms (we stayed in the Chintz Room and our friends in the Blue Room). The owner was nothing but helpful and breakfast was lovely. Louis the rooster and Tertia the cat were also very welcoming!! Very well placed for heading up north to the Giant's Causeway or heading into Belfast.

Room Tip: We chose the Chintz room, but all the rooms looked lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imjustpeachy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is the place to stay if you are exploring this part of Northern Ireland. Robert and Rachel have lovingly restored this fine Victorian house and delight in sharing it with others. A little difficult to find just outside Ballymena (it has no sign) you will be warmly welcomed and shown to your delightful room. You can pick your room in advance - ours was the chintz room ! We had not arranged to eat dinner there (which you can do with notice) but Robert suggested somewhere in town to eat (Blackstones - excellent) and ordered a taxi for us. After a good night's sleep we enjoyed a superb breakfast and left marvelling at the value we had enjoyed.....and singles are charged half of the couples rate for staying in the double rooms ; how refreshing!

Room Tip: Go on their web-site and choose ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Marlagh lodge is the perfect country retreat just outside Ballymena. The Blue room we stayed in was very comfortable enjoying a four poster bed and ensuite bathroom. Robert the owner could not have been anymore helpful and the breakfast was delicious! I would highly recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing break. Marlagh lodge itself is a stunning property dating back to the mid 18th century and has been carefully restored to lovely guesthouse retaining it's original character, we loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrpaulwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

From the moment we arrived to the minute we left, we could not have been made to feel more welcome! The lovely old house was full of character with very well appointed bedrooms.
Pre dinner drinks in the sitting room by the big open fire was so pleasant in the unseasonably cold weather, and then the food was out of his world. Couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: The Blue Room has a wonderful old four poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCW770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed at Marlagh lodge for wedding in Ballymena and it was perfect. From our welcome by Tertia the 14 year old resident cat (who I still talk about!) to the super Ulster fry in the morning - we couldn't have found better.
Robert is a very welcoming host and I was especially grateful to him for letting me have items delivered to the house for me to collect as we were coming to NI direct from Bahrain, you dont get that service with a big hotel ;o)
The chintz room was warm, cosy, nice powerful hot shower and when we arrived Robert served us tea and biscuits.
The house was spotlessly clean and I wish we had been able to stay longer! Thanks ever so much Robert - I hope you and the cats are all well!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissie051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymena
3.2 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
865 reviews
5.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,066 reviews
2.4 mi away
Adair Arms Hotel
Adair Arms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ballymena
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Antrim M2, JCT.1
15.0 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,355 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quarrytown Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlagh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlagh Lodge

Property: Marlagh Lodge
Address: 71 Moorfields Road, Ballymena BT42 3BU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ballymena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlagh Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic country home provides elegant accommodation in the heart of County Antrim. Whatever the reason for your visit, on holiday or on business, Marlagh Lodge combines the best of the old - elegant antiques, the finest bedlinen, lots of books and interesting objets - with all the requirements of the 21st Century guest - great bathrooms, direct dial telephones and wi-fi access throughout the house. Marlagh Lodge is located just three miles from the centre of Ballymena with its excellent transport links to the whole province and is only a short drive from both Belfast International Airport and Belfast City Airport and the ferry ports of Belfast and Larne. The stunning North Antrim coast is only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Marlagh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlagh Lodge Ballymena, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing