We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great place to stay.”
Review of Marlagh Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marlagh Lodge
Ranked #3 of 15 Ballymena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A very warm welcome to a beautiful place with fantastic period decor. They're opening a tea room soon - definitely worth looking out for! If I need to stay in Northern Ireland again I wouldn't hesitate to return. Friends found this by chance when we were going to a wedding and we were very lucky to find the combination of character, quality and welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarquin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Generally, I am not the sort of person who has the time to tripadvise- but I am making an exception for Marlagh Lodge. Firstly, the place is stunning. The rooms are sizeable, and the decor is tasteful and fascinating (we had an ornamental teapot in our room that depicted A Midsummer Night's Dream- lots of lovely little items like that dotted about). Robert and Rachel were simply delightful, and so accommodating; they helped us out a great deal. The breakfasts were delicious- I would find myself lying in bed at night actually excited about the hearty eating experience that was to come in the morning. Wonderful.

Room Tip: We had the front rooms on the first floor (Chintz and Blue), which were delightful. I have no reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benny_P2ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Beautiful big room with lovely en suite shower room (I stayed in the Chintz Room). Very comfortable (including the bed - I slept like a log!) and lovely decor throughout the whole property. One of the best breakfasts I've ever had! The home-made plum compote (with greek yogurt) was superb, followed by a delicious full Ulster fry. And my hankering for a pancake with maple syrup 'on the side' was happily indulged as a little extra. The owners were really friendly and helpful. Just sorry I wasn't there for dinner as well! The owners are just opening a tea room in the property too - definitely worth a return visit. Great value and a very convenient location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed in July, and had a lovely evening with dinner. Robert was very welcoming as were the chickens and the cats. We enjoyed dinner with two other guests, and Robert produced an excellent meal, asking only one question....."anything that you don't like?" The evening was like a very pleasant dinner party with good quality food. We were in the 'Chintz' room, large and well furnished (like the rest of the house). Private parking off road, and although the property is a little bit out of town being able to have dinner on site meant we didn't have to go anywhere. Breakfast was delightful with the poached plums a particular favourite along with the great crispy and dry cooked fry.

Room Tip: We only saw the chintz room which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polychrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Robert , our host was full of knowledge and helpful advice. We had dinner there on night which showed he was clearly a capable chef, delightful company and happy to share his enthusiasm of Northern Ireland . We used it as base and headed off west , and were able to comment on his suggestions which we found accurate and useful. We were in the blue room , which was very well appointed. Try high porridge with Bushmills ! You add what you want!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMW1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Really good value, beautiful huge rooms (we stayed in the Chintz Room and our friends in the Blue Room). The owner was nothing but helpful and breakfast was lovely. Louis the rooster and Tertia the cat were also very welcoming!! Very well placed for heading up north to the Giant's Causeway or heading into Belfast.

Room Tip: We chose the Chintz room, but all the rooms looked lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imjustpeachy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is the place to stay if you are exploring this part of Northern Ireland. Robert and Rachel have lovingly restored this fine Victorian house and delight in sharing it with others. A little difficult to find just outside Ballymena (it has no sign) you will be warmly welcomed and shown to your delightful room. You can pick your room in advance - ours was the chintz room ! We had not arranged to eat dinner there (which you can do with notice) but Robert suggested somewhere in town to eat (Blackstones - excellent) and ordered a taxi for us. After a good night's sleep we enjoyed a superb breakfast and left marvelling at the value we had enjoyed.....and singles are charged half of the couples rate for staying in the double rooms ; how refreshing!

Room Tip: Go on their web-site and choose ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballymena hotels
5.3 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,387 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oranmore Guesthouse
Oranmore Guesthouse
#2 of 15 in Ballymena
64 reviews
7.6 mi away
Slemish Barn
Slemish Barn
#1 of 10 in Ballymena
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Glenfield B&B
Glenfield B&B
#15 of 15 in Ballymena
5 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
978 reviews
16 mi away
UR Needs Holidays Ireland
UR Needs Holidays Ireland
#5 of 15 in Ballymena
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlagh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlagh Lodge

Address: 71 Moorfields Road, Ballymena BT42 3BU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ballymena
Price Range: £93 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlagh Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic country home provides elegant accommodation in the heart of County Antrim. Whatever the reason for your visit, on holiday or on business, Marlagh Lodge combines the best of the old - elegant antiques, the finest bedlinen, lots of books and interesting objets - with all the requirements of the 21st Century guest - great bathrooms, direct dial telephones and wi-fi access throughout the house. Marlagh Lodge is located just three miles from the centre of Ballymena with its excellent transport links to the whole province and is only a short drive from both Belfast International Airport and Belfast City Airport and the ferry ports of Belfast and Larne. The stunning North Antrim coast is only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marlagh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlagh Lodge Ballymena, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing