We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So yum!”
Review of Marlagh Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marlagh Lodge
Ranked #3 of 15 Ballymena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Have been for afternoon tea and lunch.
The food is outstanding with great staff and atmosphere. Food is very different and you can tell it is made from scratch in the kitchen. The afternoon tea is brilliant and so well priced! So much nicer than Belfast Castle afternoon tea.
The owner and cook come out and say hello was is lovely.
The china used is mis matched and it adds such character and atmosphere.
The whole event is an experience!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Marlagh Lodge is a stunning and lovingly restored home. I stayed one night whilst travelling for work and wish I could have stayed longer. My room was cosy and comfortable with a wonderful en-suite shower room. Breakfast was delicious and warming; the poached plums were a delight. Robert was a great host, providing advice about local eateries and being mindful of the varying needs of guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ting_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Well where do I even begin with Marlagh Lodge?! My husband has stayed here for business as he works all over Belfast and I decided to have a weekend in Belfast as I have never been. My first night he surprised me with a stay at Marlagh Lodge and OH WOW! We stayed in the Blue Room, 4 poster bed, free standing bath and the most beautiful decor. The owner Robert is very lovely and his attention to detail is remarkable! Coffee in the drawing and breakfast in the tea rooms (Bushmills Whiskey Porridge and pancakes with maple syrup!) are just some of the finishing touches. This listed building still has the original servants bells and is like being part of the Downtown Abbey cast. I extremely enjoyed my stay at Marlagh Lodge and it will most definitely NOT be mine or my husbands last stay. Totally unique and fabulous stay everyone needs to experience.

Room Tip: The blue room with the four poster bed and free standing bath is fabulous! As it is a listed buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Marlagh Lodge is one of the best places we have every stayed in. Very welcoming, extremely comfortable and the breakfast was the best ever! Plus entertainment from the four cats and the cockerel and hens. The location is excellent. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Chintz Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulinaBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Booked a room as I was working in the area, wasn't really prepared for what was to follow being more used to traditional hotels.

On arrival I was greeted by Robert, a superb host, who showed me to my room which was generously sized, well equipped and comfortable.

Robert asked if I'd like tea or coffee and it was served in the drawing room, again a room which was charming and full of the sense that one really was in a country house in bygone days.

The coffee was served, it was a large cafetiere with china cup and saucer and a lovely slice of cake, free of charge of course and this is typical of the service here.

There are only three rooms, it's very clean and very much like a family residence.

There were two other guests staying, a charming German lady and her daughter and we spent the evening together eating and drinking.

Food was good home cooking, freshly prepared.

Was such a special, surreal experience.

Brimful of character and charm, this is Truly a unique and special place.

As you can no doubt tell if you have read this far, I heartily recommend!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank TinaandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for 1 night in this great, cozy Victorian-era house. We stayed in the Blue Room, which was decorated very well. The host, Robert, was able to provide us with great recommendations for the area and the house was easy to find and very centrally located. Breakfast was very good as well. We had our best night's sleep on our entire vacation here. Good value, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Blue room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

If you want to find customer service at its very best, look no further. This is a wonderful Guest House where Robert, the host, is so engaging and accommodating. All the other reviews allude to the excellent points of this place and there is nothing to beat the warmth of welcome and attention to detail.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DFEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymena
3.2 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
916 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
328 reviews
5.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Leighinmohr House Hotel
Leighinmohr House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ballymena
384 reviews
2.4 mi away
Adair Arms Hotel
Adair Arms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ballymena
329 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dunsilly Hotel
Dunsilly Hotel
#1 of 3 in Antrim
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlagh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlagh Lodge

Address: 71 Moorfields Road, Ballymena BT42 3BU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ballymena
Price Range: £95 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlagh Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic country home provides elegant accommodation in the heart of County Antrim. Whatever the reason for your visit, on holiday or on business, Marlagh Lodge combines the best of the old - elegant antiques, the finest bedlinen, lots of books and interesting objets - with all the requirements of the 21st Century guest - great bathrooms, direct dial telephones and wi-fi access throughout the house. Marlagh Lodge is located just three miles from the centre of Ballymena with its excellent transport links to the whole province and is only a short drive from both Belfast International Airport and Belfast City Airport and the ferry ports of Belfast and Larne. The stunning North Antrim coast is only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marlagh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlagh Lodge Ballymena, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing