We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time and I'll be back.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Misty Burn

The Misty Burn
Ranked #22 of 139 Restaurants in Ballymena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Second time and I'll be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Been before for brunch and it was good. Had the deep fried Brie for lunch and was pleasantly surprised. Portion was generous and it turned out to be made on the premises. Ideally situated for an afternoon in the Antrim hills or climbing slemish or even heading along the Antrim Coast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carnalbanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    9
    4
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“first time visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

dropped in with my son on way home from a long day at a football tournament!!!wonderful home dining.the staff were so friendly and service excellent.truly a hidden gem.will be back with rest of family this week.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fantastic ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Visited multiple times in the past few months. The Misty Burn fry is something truly magical. Coffee is pretty great too.

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We took my mum and dad here for Mother's Day ( they do special meals for these occasions) and we had a excellent meal. No one could complain about anything. The service was friendly and efficient, the choice of meal was varied and the quality of the food itself would be hard to beat anywhere. We still haven't found a Caesar salad to compare to theirs. Desserts are home made and delicious. We have been in regularly for everything from a breakfast to a coffee and bun and haven't had a bad thing to say. Staff are lovely. Don't want to tell too many people in case we can't get a table!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First time visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Today my mum and I went to The Misty Burn for the first time. The staff were very friendly and attentive and there was a great selection of food on the menu which was very reasonably priced and there were also very good number of daily specials. Mum got the 5 piece fry and I had the haddock, peas, garnish and chips. The food was delicious and we had no complaints. We will certainly be back again. They also have a very good shop.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Misty Burn also viewed

Ballymena, County Antrim
Ballymena, County Antrim
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
Ballymena, County Antrim
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
Ballymena, County Antrim
 

Been to The Misty Burn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing