We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken fillet burger and fish to die for”

The Merchant Fish & Chip Shop
Ranked #56 of 149 Restaurants in Ballymena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$3
Restaurant details
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chicken fillet burger and fish to die for”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Best chicken fillet burger, fish and chips I have ever had. They also serve heinz ketchup which is a nice touch. Slick rick

Helpful?
2 Thank Ricky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    16
    1
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Almost gave it 4 stars because of a cold cuppa.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Called in for a quick bite of lunch on a Saturday. At first I was disappointed because they didn't have any haddock. I decided to try the cod and went to sit and wait. After a short wait my tea arrived. Very disappointed. It was cold and like it was sitting a long time. When my cod arrive with some chips my taste buds roared into life. It was the best cod I ever had. The batter was very light and crispy. Delicious. I upgraded my experience to 5 stars because a fresh cup of tea arrived with an apology for the cold one. I never complained about the cold cuppa they just sorted it when they realised. Will visit when I next visit Ballymena.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unreal”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

easily the best fish supper ever ...and im not coddin ye lol....hi all jokes on the side iv tried fish here and iv tried fish there infact iv tried fish everywhere ...but nothing comes close to the merchant in bmena hi

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sherman w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfort food at its best”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Popped in here on our way back to Lisburn and we had a lovely meal. Simple menu but everything is cooked fresh and to order. Staff were lovely and service was quick and efficient.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliona90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fish is to die for, 5 star fish and burgers.”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Always bring the family here for a treat we have had everything on the menu and its always been quality food :) if u want good fish and burgers look no further

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Merchant Fish & Chip Shop also viewed

Ballymena, County Antrim
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
 

Been to The Merchant Fish & Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing