We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Ritz" of B and B's”
Review of Whitepark House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballintoy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whitepark House
Ranked #1 of 3 Ballintoy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The "Ritz" of B and B's”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We arrived with high expectations and certainly were not disappointed. Cosy, comfortable and choc a bloc with interesting items it certainly is full of character and charm. Bob has found his niche is life as the amiable chef/patron and is full of local knowledge. Highly recommended. Tea in front of the fire and delicious freshly cooked breakfast puts it well ahead of any hotel in the area

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms would be as charming as ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    16
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
155
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We spent only one night at this beautiful B&B but with host Bob's guidance we were able to make the best of our time in the area. Loved the welcome tea in front of the fireplace. The room was beatiful and comfortable with everything you may need. Breakfast was delicious! We had a small accident hitting a backpack against one of Bob's beautiful lamps and it broke. Bob was nice to make sure we did not feel too bad about it and despite the offering he refused any money for the broken item. The lcation and service could not be better. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiong Northern Ireland for aday or a week. I am sure Bob will make you feel at home! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alethea16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINESBURG
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We booked into Whitepark House during our recent trip to Northern Ireland and Bob advised us to arrive between 4 and 5 to have a cup of tea with him. On our way to Ballintoy, our rental car gave out and we discovered that our cell phones would not work in Northern Ireland. We were stranded in a rural area outside of Coleraine with no cell service. A lovely young couple stopped to help us and we used their cell to contact Bob to let him know our situation and that we wouldn't be arriving until much later than tea time. Bob jumped into action and started making phone calls to Hertz. When we finally did arrive, we were greeted with open arms, hot tea and he made a small call to the local restaurant so they would stay open long enough for our dinner. We ended up cancelling our room in Belfast and stayed the who week at Whitepark House. Bob was the most gracious host and Whitepark House far exceeded our expectations on all levels. The rooms are stunning, the bed, pillows, linens, towels, etc. were top notch, breakfast was amazing and through it all, Bob set a tone of warmth and welcome. And this accommodation is a steal at 120 per night. We left over a week ago and this is the message I sent Bob today:

Dear Bob,

We are home safe and sound in Vermont, but I wanted to send you a small note to thank you for your uncommon hospitality during our stay. From the start you were nothing but gracious, thoughtful and just lovely. Whitepark House is our gold standard and you can trust that none of the other six accommodations in which we stayed came close to our experience at Whitepark House. Thank you so very much!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karents435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesburg, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

I could not give an adequate review for the fabulous Whitepark House. We had a lovely room with a wonderful bed so comfortable you could stay there all day. It was elegant but also comfortable. Bob an incredible host, just take his advice on where to go, eat and explore he does not steer you wrong. I really hated to leave. I will be back and recommend this B and B without reservation.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasco, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It is a beautiful house with lovely grounds and setting. I loved hearing the Atlantic Ocean at night. Bob is a kind and engaging owner who will help you plan out your days. The breakfasts were tasty and the rooms were large, wonderfully appointed with a great bathroom. It is a great place to stay to see the Antrim coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulFiorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of man
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

3 days in the luxury of Bob's home was excellent. Spotless and luxuriously appointed I am so pleased we chose to stay here for our base along this coast. Having now moved on to a 5 star hotel however, who are charging £10 per night less for amazing hotel, spa etc I think that Bob needs to think about his prices. With a restricted breakfast menu Bob certainly controls his service and for £120 per night I would have expected a more extensive breakfast choice and at least a radio in the room. Again what he cooks is excellent but he even takes the order the night before with limited choice. No mention of a continental option, hams? Cheeses? Croissants? What is provided is beyond excellent but Bob's very attentive presence may for some people detract from the ambient calm of the surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likesquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Straight out of the pages of the Best home magazines, everything is in the right place in this Home - well at least Home for the number of nights you stay in. Bob keeps the place in immaculate condition with various curios, carpets etc collected over the years in his travels, carefully placed around the House. The room itself is well appointed (no TV), and Bob is happy to give the wi fi code to connect to the Internet. We had a view of the Ocean from our First floor room. Breakfast, along with the other guests, is a happy affair, with good food and conversation. The Giants Causeway is a 5 min drive and a good location to explore the coast.

Room Tip: View to the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballintoy
5.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,783 reviews
4.5 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
754 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
653 reviews
10.0 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
696 reviews
1.3 mi away
Causeway Lodge
Causeway Lodge
#1 of 2 in Dunseverick
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitepark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitepark House

Property: Whitepark House
Address: 150 Whitepark Road, Ballintoy BT54 6NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballintoy
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ballintoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Whitepark House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and characterful bed and breakfast situated on the north coast of County Antrim , Northern Ireland, between the famous Giants' Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede rope-bridge above Whitepark Bay Established 25 years...Many awards and recommendations AA 5 Gold Stars Guide de Routard Lonely Planet Frommers Cadogan Alistair Sawdays' Special Places Georgina Campbell guide Karen Brown Michelin ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whitepark House Hotel Ballintoy
Whitepark House Ballintoy, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing