We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Picturesque”
Review of Ballintoy Harbour

Ballintoy Harbour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$62.66*
and up
'Game of Thrones' Film Location Tour from Dublin Including Giant's Causeway
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Ballintoy
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very Picturesque”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Balintoy has always been a beautiful old harbor but has recently become famous for its use a location for Game of Thrones. The road down is interesting so say the least and it is essentially just a picturesque old fishing harbor. Still very nice with a small restaurant and toilet facilities. Nice stop on a drive along the coast.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    116
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
119 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Prettiest Place I've Ever Seen”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This place! It's on the Giant's Causeway Drive so we saw it as part of a day tour but I fell in love. We were able to walk about 2 miles of beach and I'm pretty sure we filmed every step trying to capture it. We weren't able to. There were nearly 50 shades of blue in the water. It was great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

One of the loveliest places I've visited, with waves crashing over the rocks, colourful boats in the harbour - just lovely. The coffee shop was a bit disappointing, and this is what stopped me rating it excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Balintoy Harbor”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It's a hair-raising drive down to the harbor, with zigs and zags -- be careful. But, it is worth it. The ride down is breathtaking but so is the beauty of the little harbor. We saw seals on the rocks sunning themselves and there is a little store/cafe there. We found ourselves going back to this beautiful spot several times during our stay in Northern Ireland. And, since it gets dark there so much later (around 9:39-10:00p.m.) we would go there after dinner and just drink in the beauty of the place. One of our fondest memories of our trip to Ireland.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank deeloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushmills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awful dry cake!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We visited as per recommendation , we ordered 3 cakes and they was the most dryest cakes I have ever eaten. Infact the Nutella chocolate cake was rock hard. I believe it's because they was sat out all day uncovered. When mentioned to the young staff member that the cakes were dry she just said, 'yeah I know' .... Which was a odd reply.

Spent £15.40 on 3 cakes, 2 teas and a bottle of pop.

I won't be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazziem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ballintoy Harbour also viewed

 
Ballymoney, County Antrim
 

Been to Ballintoy Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing