We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rope bridge & more”

Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.57*
and up
Game of Thrones Filming Locations Tour from Belfast including Giants Causeway
Ranked #3 of 4 things to do in Ballintoy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rope bridge & more”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Close by to Giants Causeway and worth the drive. If you don't mind the walk to the bridge the views are extraordinary along the path. Make sure to stop and take pictures. Getting across the bridge was made easy by the guides who are always present at either end to prevent congestion. They will also take your picture on the bridge. Be sure to stop and take a moment to get a picture of the waves crashing against the rocks. He color of the water reminded us of the Bahamas. The small island the bridge connects to offers more great views and has cliff sides several hundred feet above the water. Be careful near the edges as there are no barriers to prevent anyone from falling off.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,609
    901
    347
    70
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A bridge too far”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Visited on our way to the Giants Causeway. A 20 minute walk each way with some stairs. Lovely coastal views en route. The bridge is quite short but crosses over water and rocks about 100 feet down. It was quite exhilarating and a test of ones nerve. If you don't like heights or non rigid structures I would give this a swerve!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Scary”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Just by the Giants Causeway, this si really beautiful and if you are brave enough to cross the bridge, its well worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterville, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Thrilling!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

If you can handle the height & the swaying movement of the rope bridge, do not miss crossing Carrick-A-Rede. It's a huge adrenaline rush & a chance to test oneself. If in doubt of an adverse reaction - or the likelihood of a panic attack - I would pass. Crossing it is a huge confidence booster! I loved it! (Actually crossed about 5 years ago.)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank patbullard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to check out.”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were on our way to Giant's Causeway when we saw a sign for Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge and decided to check it out. It was a bit of a walk but worth it. The day that we were there, it was very windy which made the walk across the bridge a bit more exciting. The bridge is one way so be patient if you have to wait to cross and enjoy the views. There was not much to do on the other side of the bridge so this stop could take less then an hour of your time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge also viewed

Bushmills, County Antrim
Ballymoney, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing