We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in a country location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Ballynahinch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nice hotel in a country location”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This hotel has a beautiful grounds and would be nice for families. The suites are outstanding but the regular rooms are spacious but very basic. There is a tea kettle and some cookies in the room but little else. In fact there is not even a drinking glass! We used a coffee cup to brush our teeth. The rooms and bath are clean and well kept. the restaurant/bar seem to be popular. Breakfast is good, other meals average.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judylaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do sincerely apologise for the lack of a water glass provide. This would be normal practise and this has been an oversight on our part.

We are so glad you enjoyed the setting of the hotel and the large gardens that are suitable for walks etc. We are currently refurbishing the hotel. The main hotel reception, function suites, conference rooms have all been completed. We have also two Master bedrooms and The Rectory Suite now complete. The refurbishment will continue to the remainder of the bedrooms but we must work around our daily business for this programme to roll out.

We are a little surprised that you say you had nothing offered to you in the room other than your complimentary refreshment tray. All of our rooms are provided with flat screen tv's, iron and ironing boards and hairdriers. We would very much like to point this out as we would not want other readers to feel that there was very little in the room.

We trust that on your next visit to Northern Ireland that you will revisit The Millbrook Lodge Hotel and again thank you for forwarding your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    45
    41
    20
    15
See reviews for
84
62
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Green Green Grass Of Home
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Went to the Millbrook Lodge on Sunday past with my husband and 20 month old daughter to try the carvery for the first and I have to say we were not disappointed!! Having got married in the Millbrook almost 5 years ago I have always been very fond of it, it is a lovely homely place with a warm, welcoming atmosphere and although it has been given a 'facelift', it certainly hasn't lost its charm.
We paid at the reception area for our tickets and then were shown very quickly to a table in the function room which was lively and busy. The waiter took a drinks order straight away and got us a high-chair.
What I liked most about this carvery that differs from other places is that you are left to your own devices to choose as much or as little as you like. There is a server there to carve the meat (who was more than generous) but after that you could just take your own side-orders/gravy etc and fill your plate to your own taste. (Instead of having someone looking over your shoulder!)
All of the food looked and tasted really fresh and all of the dishes were well topped up when running low.
Personally, I have never had a bad meal in the Millbrook however, as a local who works in the Ballynahinch area-word of mouth about the food in the Millbrook has always been very up and down and has never in recent years been very consistant.
What always bothered me was a hotel serving frozen chips/frozen veg & tinned fruit....could never quite get my head around this!!
However, there was not a frozen pea in sight on Sunday and lets keep it that way - Great food, great value and the service was exactly as it should be. Keep it up - I just hope that the bar meals, restuarant meals have been brought up to the same standard as the carvery - if so - you should have no more issues with dodgy reviews.
We will definately be back, and probably bring more people with us next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Country_Girl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carvery and we are really delighted that you enjoyed lunch with us. If visiting us during the week meals are served in the restaurant and Bistro from 12 noon each day with daily specials. Friday Night is Steak Night if you fancy something different. We have Early Bird Specials and a Senior Citizens offer if you have guests with you that this may suit - and to top it all not a frozen pea or chip in sight. We hope that you will return again to Millbrook Lodge and once more thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our Son had his wedding reception here on Easter Tuesday and we had a lovely day. The newly refurbished public areas are really clean and very welcoming. The food at the reception was fantastic and the service mostly faultless. Unfortunately the staff removed some of the glasses which meant guests hadnt a drink to toast the Bride and Groom with. The speeches were after the meal and mostly they are beforehand now so maybe thats why. But we all had a really lovely day and the grounds are kept immaculate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizG070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you for taking the time to review the Millbrook Lodge Hotel. We greatly appreciate all of your kind comments and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We do apologise that we removed your glass and that you were not able to toast the Bride and Groom. It is always are intention to tidy and clear our guests tables with all used tableware and glass ware after service.

Again thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again to the Millbrook Lodge Hotel.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

I have 2 night inhalating paint fumes made me feel really sick , they should have not put guess near !! The room really oldfashioned to be honest i dont really mind but the cupboard freaked me up at night .. Have a clasto feelling thou the room was huge with 1 double and single bed , again i was questioning myself why they put a single reservation to triplle room ? But one made me pissed was ordering coffee during breakfast i got coffee but no cup should i drink my coffee from that little kettle ? Oh believe me i would love to if i was alone in the dining room -:) .. Or maybe this is the way they they drink coffee in the village? Nauw i dont think so .. But it might be my own fault to book a hotel last minute should have prepare myself better , anyhow would i tell my friends and folks to stay here? Big No thank you !!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ephie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Dear Madam thank you for taking the time to review Millbrook Lodge Hotel. We are currently refurbishing the hotel and did paint the entrance corridor on route to your bedroom. We have kept all of our guests bedrooms as far away as possible from this area but unfortunately we cannot avoid our guests having to walk through this space to get to their bedroom. Although your stay was for single.occupany we do not have bedrooms with only a single bed. Most bedrooms would have a double and single bed to accommodate the majority of guests. As far as the wardrobe or cupboard is concerned our furnish is standard hotel furniture and we apologise if this caused you upset. I believe the breakfast waiter delivered your coffee in a small coffee pot (not kettle) and overlooked that you had no cup already on your table as you had sat down at a table not set for breakfast but once you brought this to his attention he quickly brought you a coffee cup. We apologise for this oversight and assure you that this was a slight oversight. We again thank you for your comments , customer feedback is very important to us and we will address all of the matters you have highlighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We were attending a function nearby so needed somewhere to stay. It looked okay on its website so we booked. When we arrived there was a notice pinned to the door apologising for the inconvenience of the renovations. This turned out to be major buliding work with all the halls and corridors were stripped back to the bare brick or plaster and the electric plug sockets were hanging loose from the walls. It was quite off-putting so a bit of prior notice should have been given to at least give us the option of reconsidering. But it was just one night so we ventured on...

When we reached our room it was unlocked - bit strange - and when we went inside the bath tap was running - very strange! But worse still I turned round to discover someone had used the toilet! Still being robust individuals (and as we were already running late) we flushed the loo, gave it a good wipe and soldiered on.

We arrived back to the hotel around midnight so had to ring the doorbell for the night porter. We must have rang it about six times before he appeared - and when he did he happily told us he had been watching the television so hoped we hadnt been waiting too long. Too tired to complain we went to bed.

Next morning at breakfast no choice of menu options were offered - it was assumed you wanted "a fry". Too bad if we had been vegetarian....

Those are all the negatives but it wasnt all bad. The girls at reception were very nice and helpful as were the bar staff and the bedding and towels were spotlessly clean. This could be a such a good place as the building and setting are lovely but it lets itself down in so many ways - it is a real shame.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank she1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

booked christmas night entertainment stayed over and had bed and breakfast. Entertainment and meal was great. We had a group of 6 and had a fantastic night out would highly recommend it. Room was basic, clean and was value for money. Staff very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was freshly cooked for each customer could not fault it. If it suits all of us again this christmas would consider doing it again. great value for money. well done to the Millbrook.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We went to this hotel as a family for Sunday lunch. We ate from the a la carte menu which was expensive considering the setting (ie a bar in a 3 star country hotel). The waitress got our order wrong and my aunt has to wait for 20 minutes for her main course after we had been served. Another waitress was off hand and basically dumped the cutlery in a pile in the centre of our table. She had no manners or finesse whatsoever. The food was very average with poor quality food further compromised by serving large portions of chips as if this would compensate for mediocre food. We were offered desert but we had coffee instead however the waitress did not clear our table and thought it was good enough for us to have coffee/desert with chips and vegetables lying on the table.

Basically, I have rarely experienced such bad service. I would not recommend this hotel for a meal and I suggest that you go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gasman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballynahinch
12.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
123 reviews
11.4 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
150 reviews
11.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Spa Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Spa Cottage Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Ballynahinch
15 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Mourne Lodge
The Mourne Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kilkeel
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Lodge Hotel

Property: Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Address: 5 Drumaness Road, Ballynahinch BT24 8LS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Ballynahinch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ballynahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Millbrook Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from the scenic Mourne Mountains, The Millbrook Lodge is a family-owned hotel, where the charm of a beautiful Georgian building has been carefully integrated with modern comfort and amenities. The hotel has sixteen bedrooms all en-suite, offering comfort, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Exquisitely landscaped gardens provide six acres of tranquility and a perfect setting for photographs. The Head Chef provides a wide range of mouth-watering food options from breakfast through to dinner and Sunday lunch with Pensioner's lunches and Early Bird Menu also available. Afternoon Tea, with a sumptuous selection of scones, traybakes and sandwiches has become one of the hotel's most popular eating experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Millbrook Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Ballynahinch
Millbrook Lodge Hotel Ballynahinch, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing