We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel convenient for Belfast and the Mournes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Ballynahinch B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Hotel convenient for Belfast and the Mournes”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here recently due to being in the area for a family wedding. Arrived and we were promptly checked in by a nice girl at reception. Room was good, if a little on the basic side. The bathroom in our room could be doing with being updated; the shower for instance was very tempermental, and had odd controls - the water was either too hot or far too cold, and the dial had only turned a millimeter! My cousin was also staying here at the same time, and said she had the same problem in her shower. We were also woken up during the night due to other guests returning to the hotel and being really drunk - they were pretty noisy in the corridor, and woke our three year old up.

We did notice in the room information folder that there are a couple of rules that you have to stick to when staying here, none of which bothered us but may be of concern to other travellers - you are not allowed any alcohol in any of the rooms at the Millbrook, and if you are bringing alcohol into the hotel, it has to be left at reception until you check out. This didn't affect us in the slightest, as we don't drink alcohol, but having stayed in many hotels throughout the world, this was the first time I had ever seen this rule.

Breakfast was good, with a selection of cereals, pastries etc as well as cooked items. My husband ordered cooked food both mornings we were there and was impressed with the generosity of the portions as well as the quality of the food. The grounds of the hotel looked lovely, although we didn't really get a chance to look round due to the wedding we were attending. Staff all seemed friendly enough too.

We're not sure if we'd stay here again - the hotel is well placed for getting into Belfast, or going south to the coast and the Mournes, but maybe a bit more work is needed to upgrade some of the bedrooms and bathrooms first.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    42
    38
    19
    15
See reviews for
81
59
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
co down
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My family and i went to the Millbrook for their Sunday Carvery last sunday to celebrate our Sons 18th Birthday. I did hesitate initially after reading some of the negative reviews, tho in end, based on the fact that you cant please everyone all of the time, we decidided to give it a go! We were very pleased that we did. The Millbrook is a beautiful hotel, recently done up and set in beautiful grounds. The very friendly welcome at the Reception desk on arrival put us at ease and we were directed to the function room. (I also liked the fact that you paid on arrival). A minor moan would be that when directed to our table we were left wondering what to do so had to approach the waitress who then explained the routine. A waiter came quickly and took our drinks order. Again, liked this system as you paid when drinks brought so no nasty surprises at end of day when settling your bill (tho as i said carvery food paid for on arrival). This Carvery is excellent value. It may not have been very busy, we put this down to the exceptionally hot weather, but that probably worked to our advantage cause we had no waiting to do whatsoever. Their were 5 courses. The salad selection starter, then soup & roll, then Main Course, then Sweet and finally tea/coffee ( which we had outside in a seating area and was lovely and relaxing!) There were plenty of choices for each course and you could take as much as you liked. Some of the Main may have been a little cool but we think this was because it was quiet and the food sat longer. It may perhaps be an idea for staff to try and keep it warmer. However, it was not bad enough to spoil our meal. We found the whole setting beautiful and relaxing. The staff where all extremely helpful and courteous. We had brought a Birthday cake for our Son and after our tea/coffee outside the staff brought it out so as we could sing Happy Birthday!! As it was so hot by this stage we moved into the Lounge area where the staff supplied a knife to cut the cake and napkins. We ordered more drinks and happily continued our celebrations for some time. So dont go on poor reviews.Give it a go and see what a lovely Carvery this is. A small suggestion for the Management.....It may be an idea to set up in another room a play area for children like the La Mon does. I think if you had this facility you would def give them big competition!! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

my wife and i booked a table on 23/6/13 for sunday carvery and i must say it was a disappointment we went to the salad bar and we had to wait for the waiter to fill it up with fresh food.we went back up for our soup and no soup bowls again we had to wait.i went to the bar for a drink and no one was there again i had to wait .we went up for the main course and the chief was on a walk about we had to wait again .the roast meat had fat in the middle of it only 3 meats on any where else 4/5 on .the potatoes could have been better with a little milk and butter on them. the only desserts look good was the pavlova but was only ok ,not worth 16,50 wont be back

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selwyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband and I were in the Ballynahinch area on Sunday 9th June, and as we were close to Millbrook Lodge we decided to try their carvery. What a disappointment! We were shown to our table and immediately went to choose our starters. Starters were quite good, but after that everything went downhill. Went to get main course, on returning to the table we had no cutlery and had to ask for it. we hadn't been asked if we would like a drink right throughout the meal, couldn't get anyone's attention so we just made do without. Also, my husbands roast beef had been pre sliced and was cold, the roast potatoes were awful, and mash not much better. Even the desserts were poor, although the pavlova looked nice, it was lacking in taste. On top of that they hadn't bothered to clear our table and we had to eat our desserts with the dirty mains plates etc still on it. Before leaving we did make one of the staff aware how disappointing the food and service was, and although she apologised we definitely won't be back. Terrible carvery not worth 16.50 each, what a waste of money..

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 380Trudy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to forward your review. We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy dining with us. As part of our procedures on service at the Carvery when first seated the waiting staff invite our guests to order a drink and then advise of the layout etc . We have checked with your food server and they are certain that they made this offer to you. For some reason this has been missed and we apologise that a second offer was not made. We have also checked your comments regarding plates and meats being sliced and the chef clearly remembers carving the meat as you approached the table and we apologise if you feel that he shouldn't not have done this. On checking we have noted that you selected a child's plate ie a cold plate and our chef didn't notice this. Our Carvery at The Millbrook Lodge Hotel is extremly popular and we have many happy guests who return to us many times. We can only apologise that you were not happy and assure you this is not the experience that we wish you to have had and we hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back to the Millbrook Lodge Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This hotel has a beautiful grounds and would be nice for families. The suites are outstanding but the regular rooms are spacious but very basic. There is a tea kettle and some cookies in the room but little else. In fact there is not even a drinking glass! We used a coffee cup to brush our teeth. The rooms and bath are clean and well kept. the restaurant/bar seem to be popular. Breakfast is good, other meals average.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judylaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do sincerely apologise for the lack of a water glass provide. This would be normal practise and this has been an oversight on our part.

We are so glad you enjoyed the setting of the hotel and the large gardens that are suitable for walks etc. We are currently refurbishing the hotel. The main hotel reception, function suites, conference rooms have all been completed. We have also two Master bedrooms and The Rectory Suite now complete. The refurbishment will continue to the remainder of the bedrooms but we must work around our daily business for this programme to roll out.

We are a little surprised that you say you had nothing offered to you in the room other than your complimentary refreshment tray. All of our rooms are provided with flat screen tv's, iron and ironing boards and hairdriers. We would very much like to point this out as we would not want other readers to feel that there was very little in the room.

We trust that on your next visit to Northern Ireland that you will revisit The Millbrook Lodge Hotel and again thank you for forwarding your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Green Green Grass Of Home
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Went to the Millbrook Lodge on Sunday past with my husband and 20 month old daughter to try the carvery for the first and I have to say we were not disappointed!! Having got married in the Millbrook almost 5 years ago I have always been very fond of it, it is a lovely homely place with a warm, welcoming atmosphere and although it has been given a 'facelift', it certainly hasn't lost its charm.
We paid at the reception area for our tickets and then were shown very quickly to a table in the function room which was lively and busy. The waiter took a drinks order straight away and got us a high-chair.
What I liked most about this carvery that differs from other places is that you are left to your own devices to choose as much or as little as you like. There is a server there to carve the meat (who was more than generous) but after that you could just take your own side-orders/gravy etc and fill your plate to your own taste. (Instead of having someone looking over your shoulder!)
All of the food looked and tasted really fresh and all of the dishes were well topped up when running low.
Personally, I have never had a bad meal in the Millbrook however, as a local who works in the Ballynahinch area-word of mouth about the food in the Millbrook has always been very up and down and has never in recent years been very consistant.
What always bothered me was a hotel serving frozen chips/frozen veg & tinned fruit....could never quite get my head around this!!
However, there was not a frozen pea in sight on Sunday and lets keep it that way - Great food, great value and the service was exactly as it should be. Keep it up - I just hope that the bar meals, restuarant meals have been brought up to the same standard as the carvery - if so - you should have no more issues with dodgy reviews.
We will definately be back, and probably bring more people with us next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Country_Girl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carvery and we are really delighted that you enjoyed lunch with us. If visiting us during the week meals are served in the restaurant and Bistro from 12 noon each day with daily specials. Friday Night is Steak Night if you fancy something different. We have Early Bird Specials and a Senior Citizens offer if you have guests with you that this may suit - and to top it all not a frozen pea or chip in sight. We hope that you will return again to Millbrook Lodge and once more thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our Son had his wedding reception here on Easter Tuesday and we had a lovely day. The newly refurbished public areas are really clean and very welcoming. The food at the reception was fantastic and the service mostly faultless. Unfortunately the staff removed some of the glasses which meant guests hadnt a drink to toast the Bride and Groom with. The speeches were after the meal and mostly they are beforehand now so maybe thats why. But we all had a really lovely day and the grounds are kept immaculate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizG070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you for taking the time to review the Millbrook Lodge Hotel. We greatly appreciate all of your kind comments and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We do apologise that we removed your glass and that you were not able to toast the Bride and Groom. It is always are intention to tidy and clear our guests tables with all used tableware and glass ware after service.

Again thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again to the Millbrook Lodge Hotel.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballynahinch
12.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
10.0 mi away
Premier Inn Lisburn Hotel
11.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
23.6 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
11.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Lodge Hotel

Property: Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Address: 5 Drumaness Road, Ballynahinch BT24 8LS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Ballynahinch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ballynahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Millbrook Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from the scenic Mourne Mountains, The Millbrook Lodge is a family-owned hotel, where the charm of a beautiful Georgian building has been carefully integrated with modern comfort and amenities. The hotel has sixteen bedrooms all en-suite, offering comfort, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Exquisitely landscaped gardens provide six acres of tranquility and a perfect setting for photographs. The Head Chef provides a wide range of mouth-watering food options from breakfast through to dinner and Sunday lunch with Pensioner's lunches and Early Bird Menu also available. Afternoon Tea, with a sumptuous selection of scones, traybakes and sandwiches has become one of the hotel's most popular eating experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millbrook Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Ballynahinch
Millbrook Lodge Hotel Ballynahinch, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing