We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff need better training”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Ballynahinch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just home from Millbrook lodge was really looking forward to Sunday dinner what a disappointment staff no where to be seen and when they did come to the table they where rude food cold no one near us to ask if everything was ok did intend to have dessert but after sitting 20 minutes after main course was finished we just ask for a bill it then took a further 10 minutes to pay bill even though I was the only one there MILLBROOK TAKE NOTIE OF THE REVIEWS

Room Tip: Don't go to the Millbrook and say nothing if the service is poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Staff were rude and ignorant, food was cold, dry and far too expensive. We waited 30 minutes in the restaurant before any of the staff even looked at us, and when we FINALLY got out food, we were greatly disappointed by the quality.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wedgewelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed for one night, never been here before. Receptionist on arrival very nice, staff throughout the hotel very friendly and accommodating until....We thought checkout was 12, at 11.20 the phone in the room rang, I answered 'hello' and a woman's voice said curtly 'check-out was 11'. I apologised explaining our (most hotels have a 12 o'clock checkout) and she promptly hung up without another word. When I handed our key in at reception 20mins later she hardly looked up. She did not ask if we had enjoyed our stay, if everything had been ok.....nothing! I am a business owner, albeit not in hospitality, but we do have a receptionist. If anyone in my employ, but especially a receptionist, was as curt as the lady in this hotel they would no longer have to worry about being pleasant to members of the public because they would no longer work for me. Such a shame as this hotel seems to have been upgraded recently and everyone else was very nice. My husband and I are in our forties and the days of accepting this rude manner from anyone are long gone!

To the owner of the hotel I would say-sack the middle-aged blonde receptionist who was on the desk Sunday 29th September because no amount of improvements will make up for rude staff.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank paula r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My daughter's wedding was held here on the 21st and it was a magical day. Everyone was so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff. We had stayed the night before and fully booked the hotel for the night of the wedding too. No one had a bad word to say about the accommodation at all. Although I only found out the coffee/tea equipment was in the wardrobe of our suite when we were leaving lol. The food was beautiful, homemade vegetable soup, roast beef melted in the mouth and the pavlova was to die for. Everything was arranged beautifully and the room for the evening disco was really well laid out. The courtyard outside was so lovely to sit in as it was a balmy night and the guests all appreciated being able to sit in elegance and watch the water cascading down the big granite wall. This Hotel was once very tired looking but it has had one heck of a wake up call. Well done Millbrook and thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Suites and it was lovely. So quiet and just the birds to listen to in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We went here for dinner and carvery, fairly average I would say, nothing good or bad to report, it was just ok, would prob go back but it wouldnt be one of my favourites!

We did look at this hotel for our wedding, but didn't receive very helpful advice, no one there to help or show us around, so we quickly decided this wasnt the place for us and moved on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 527LauraH527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are a bit concerned and confused that you have mentioned that you did not receive helpful advise. We are happy to supply our guests with all the information that they would require when viewing the hotel for a wedding or any type of function. This information is available freely at anytime in printed brochures or on our website. For those couples who wish to meet with a wedding co-ordinator we would alway encourage them to make an appointment so that the maximum amount of time can be given to them as their wedding day is something very special and therefore requires sometime to sit down and discuss. We gather that it was a Sunday that you visited the hotel and given that this is one of the busiest days we endeavour to make as many appointments as possible with the banquet department and our future bride and grooms. We can only apologise that we were not perhaps able to fit you in at late notice or a member of banquet was not free at the time. We do collect couples details if an appointment has not been made and always make contact with them to ask if they would like to meet with the wedding co-ordinator. We can only again apologise if you did not receive all of the details you require and would graciously request that you might consider contacting us again and we will be not than happy to schedule an appointment with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Wanted to stay somewhere different near to Newcastle Co. Down. Book hotel on the net. Hotel was an old Rectory and has been updated and has 16 bedrooms. My main problem with the hotel was that we were given room 6 for our 2 night stay. The room was clean and tidy but it was directly above the front door and reception area... Very noisy with people coming and going, taxis also, people standing outside talking etc, We contacted reception on the first eve to try to change rooms but all rooms were occupied, we needed to close the window because of the noise and we were roasted ,due to the humid weather . I rang reception an asked for an electric cooling fan which was brought to us from the kitchen, this helped a little but not great... The next night was just the same, lots of people turning up for a disco, i rang reception again at 11.30pm and did this time we got a room further away from the front door.. This helped but hated the thought of moving rooms at that time of the eve. I must say the staff were very nice and friendly at all times and food was good, but a wee bit expensive if you wanted steaks . I would recommend this hotel but be aware of the rooms near reception.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broxi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for forwarding your review. As at the time of you being in the hotel we apologised that you found your room noisy and we did explain due to being fully booked on the Friday night we could not move you but we were able to do so on the Saturday evening to a much quieter room. We do politely ask our quests to be as quiet as possible at a late hour but cannot force them to be. We are glad that we were able to bring you a fan to cool your room during the heat wave. We hope that you will be able to return to Millbrook Lodge Hotel once again and if requested we will ensure you receive a bedroom further away from the front of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I visited the Millbrook on a Thursday evening as I wanted to see the recent refurbishment of the hotel and grab a bite to eat. We browsed the a la carte menu which (given that most establishments (including hotels) offer a Mon-Thurs special) was pretty expensive! £11.95 for chicken,gravy and side. We both selected the goujons @ £9.95 which were served with a side salad and chips; this was tasty but very average. There were lots of flies in the lounge, which may be unavoidable at this time of year, however the table had not been wiped from the previous customers and the drinks stains were attracting them even more. The coke was flat and cost £2 each.......will I rush back; probably not!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alley999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to forward your review. We are disappointed that given the facilities that the hotel has to offer and the recent refurbishment that has taken at the Millbrook Lodge Hotel that you felt that £11.95 was much too dear for Roast Chicken and Baked Gammon served with homemade stuffing, 2 vegetable selection and roast and creamed potatoes but we are glad that you were able to select something To suit you. The Chicken Goujons are one of our most popular dishes so much so that our guests order them for starters as well as main course. On Thursday evening past due to all of our residents attending The World Police and Fire Games Opening Ceremony they had all ate earlier and our special for that day had been finished at the time you had arrived. We were quiet when you dined. and selected your own table rather than being seated. It would not be our intention to seat you at an unwashed table but should the waiters attention had been drawn to this fact we would have been more than happy to address this. We apologise for this and also for the flys that you noted. During the earlier part of the day we had been laying new carpet and due to the smell from the glue that carpet fitters use we had opened as many doors and windows as possible to remove the smell, closed all the windows later and sprayed the room with fly killer etc. while we had no guests in the room. We do not ignore flys that travel into the building but given the weather that we are having at present and customers choosing to open doors and windows in the restaurant, bedroom area or simply coming into the building we can only do our very best to remove as many as possible. We do hope that you will return to The Millbrook Lodge Hotel again and maybe this time you will have a chance to view our new facilities. Again many thanks for your review and we do appreciate all of your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballynahinch
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
128 reviews
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
159 reviews
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
279 reviews
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Lodge Hotel

Address: 5 Drumaness Road, Ballynahinch BT24 8LS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Ballynahinch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ballynahinch
Price Range: £89 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millbrook Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from the scenic Mourne Mountains, The Millbrook Lodge is a family-owned hotel, where the charm of a beautiful Georgian building has been carefully integrated with modern comfort and amenities. The hotel has sixteen bedrooms all en-suite, offering comfort, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Exquisitely landscaped gardens provide six acres of tranquility and a perfect setting for photographs. The Head Chef provides a wide range of mouth-watering food options from breakfast through to dinner and Sunday lunch with Pensioner's lunches and Early Bird Menu also available. Afternoon Tea, with a sumptuous selection of scones, traybakes and sandwiches has become one of the hotel's most popular eating experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Millbrook Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Ballynahinch
Millbrook Lodge Hotel Ballynahinch, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing