We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Ballynahinch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hhave not been here for a while and wont be rushing back. My scampi was good but my husbands steak burger was terrible, tasted like kebab meat. champ cold out of microwave. Manageress offered no charge for burger but that is not a solution. Go to AJs diner in Crossgar and taste their burgers. no comparision. bacon in burger used was denny instants microwave bacon, £10 price of kebab burger went into charity box.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank bridget l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Madam Thank you for taking the time to forward your review. We are very disappointed that your husband did not find our burgers to his liking. We can only assure you that we do not use Kebah meat as you suggested and apologise as we did yesterday. Your husband did point out that this was not noted to the manager to get something removed from your account but simply to draw our attention to the matter. We did offer to replace or to bring you another dish or complimentary dessert as a way of making the situation more to your liking but this offer was refused.
We can only again apologise that you were not happy and assure you that we take the preparation and delivery of your meals very serious. We of course will take all of your comments on board and we thank you again for your review. We trust that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Millbrook Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We recently had our reception of our wedding in the Milbrook Lodge Hotel and what an amazing day we had! From the beautiful gardens for pictures and to relax in, to the beautiful meal alongside the excellent service provided by Deborah and all the staff our day ran smoothly and everything we could have wished for. A massive thank you to all at the Milbrook Lodge Hotel for a fabulous day Laura & Michael Reynolds x

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We trust that you enjoy your honeymoon and have a long and happy life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Laura & Michael had wedding reception Sat 5th July 2014 and what a reception they had !!!!
A big thank you to Management & Staff - function room, gardens & food to perfection I could not have asked for better !!!
Granddaughter needed medical attention following morning & they were so helpful & provided all support possible !!!
Again many thanks to all - would have no hesitation in recommending Millbrook Lodge !!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for all of your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your day with us. We trust that all is well with your grand daughter and we wish her good health. We look forward to seeing you back in Millbrook hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Easily spotted from a distance, this B&B extravagantly stands high on a hill. After checking in, I received a great key to an even greater room! It was large, easily heated or cooled. The bathroom was spacious, and although I was always in a hurry to run into Ballynhinch and Belfast, I longed to take a nice long bath. My window from room No. 16 (which so happened to be my lucky number) overlooked the hill, which had six horses grazing peacefully outdoors. Overall, a great experience overall. The food was amazing, the service was even better. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to experience what a B&B should be, and all other B&B's should strive to be like the Millbrook! Be sure to meet the owner, as she is a kind woman who will assure your stay will be perfect.

Room Tip: Get room 16! Even though it is down a long hallway, the view is ridiculously great!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review and great and many comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope that your onward trip was as enjoyable. The beautiful horses now in our front meadow are proving to be an added attraction for our guests, giving a feeling of relaxation which is a must. Again many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My brother in law got married here last October. I was very impressed at the function room and the grounds. The food was delicious. The room my husband and I booked had a balcony over the main entrance. The people who stayed in it before us had obviously used the balcony as a smoking area which meant that our room smelt of stale smoke. We spoke to the receptionist who was very apologetic and said to leave it with her and she would see what she could do. She approached my husband later and told us they had upgraded our room. We were upgraded to a lovely room. We would definitely stay here again and really appreciated the effort the receptionist made.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amci87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We do apologise for the smell of smoke in your room. We do advise our guests of the non smoking policy but this is something that some people will ignore from time to time. We are sorry that you have to moved so that you could enjoy your stay with us but delighted that your upgrade was to your liking. We trust that we will have the pleasure of your company sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

On arrival the receptionist was short and stiflingly cold. My other friends noted this too. It cost nothing to smile. Rooms are dated but functionary. Lunch Food was simple and lots of it....Too much. My main gripe were the staff. Untrained and dull. Across the board. Breakfast the next morning was sub standard. Greasy greasy fry. Dull unimaginative buffet. Girl working there on her own was under pressure. Small tea pot for 2 people. All served on fresh linen??? I must say there was a blonde manager who was pleasant. OH and your coffee machine is the same as in certain motorway garages.. No need.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Cherryville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest thank you forwarding your review. Your comments are all very important to us and we will most certainly take them on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We recently went to the Millbrook for an evening meal and I have to say I was very impressed. The steak was very good, as I told Alan, the Chef, when he came out of the kitchen. The portion sizes are very big so a starter here may not always be necessary. The staff were friendly and helpful - my daughter loves desserts and they were very accommodating when she couldn't quite decide on what to have.
The décor has significantly improved and it looks like a modern Hotel when you are there. I have to say I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and so glad that your daughter left happy with dessert. It is very important to us to receive feedback from our guests. Again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballynahinch
12.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
127 reviews
11.5 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
158 reviews
8.0 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
9.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
277 reviews
12.1 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Lodge Hotel

Address: 5 Drumaness Road, Ballynahinch BT24 8LS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Ballynahinch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ballynahinch
Price Range: £85 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millbrook Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from the scenic Mourne Mountains, The Millbrook Lodge is a family-owned hotel, where the charm of a beautiful Georgian building has been carefully integrated with modern comfort and amenities. The hotel has sixteen bedrooms all en-suite, offering comfort, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Exquisitely landscaped gardens provide six acres of tranquility and a perfect setting for photographs. The Head Chef provides a wide range of mouth-watering food options from breakfast through to dinner and Sunday lunch with Pensioner's lunches and Early Bird Menu also available. Afternoon Tea, with a sumptuous selection of scones, traybakes and sandwiches has become one of the hotel's most popular eating experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Millbrook Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Ballynahinch
Millbrook Lodge Hotel Ballynahinch, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing