We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Denvir's Hotel(Downpatrick)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Down Royal House(Lisburn)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
112
52
43
21
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
52
43
21
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carverymillbrook lodgewedding receptionfunction roomon arrivalsteak burgerwedding venuenext morninglast fridaygrounds are lovelyfood was lovelyhoneymoon suitewonderful hotelsalmontea and coffeesaturday nightan overnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here recently for 1 night following a get together with family.

Firstly we had the Sunday carvery buffet lunch which really was excellent. The food and service was excellent, so no complaints there. In fact the lady organising the lunch room with her ear-piece asked us several times throughout lunch if we had everything we needed. Our group of 16 had a great lunch.

Later that evening we went to our room. On first inspection, the twin bedroom was quite nice, with nice bedding, a reasonable amount of space and a good bathroom, but when we went to shower the next morning, we found the shower head did not fit the shower rail??!! So it just would not stay put and you had to hold it by hand. This action was further impacted by the fact that there was a hose clip in place preventing you from pulling the shower head and hose away from the shower rail to any useful degree. In short it was a pain in the xxxx and we ended up soaking the floor and everywhere trying to have our showers.

I cannot believe that this has not been reported before or been noticed by housekeeping. We did report it when checking out, but to be honest I got the impression that the lady checking us out did not care and her nonchalant attitude made me feel like we were reporting something very insignificant.

We then went for breakfast and was told to go through and find a table whilst the waitress took a few minutes to finish her private conversation with the receptionist checking us out. It was a Monday morning and there were only a handful of people staying but that does not exclude poor service. In fact on the dresser in the public breakfast room was an open make-up bag with eyeshadows etc laying out on the dresser. I felt like I was in someone's bedroom.

All I can say, is what a shame! We have stayed here before and know it is a popular place and you can clearly see that they decorated the hotel nicely etc. will we stay there again, I am not sure....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luxtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for all your kind comments regarding our Carvery. We are delighted that you enjoyed it so much. The Carvery is proving to be a very popular dining experience both for large and small gatherings.

We do offer our apologies for the shower head coming away from the connection and are very sorry that it wasn't drawn to our attention sooner and we had the opportunity to facilitate you with another room or fix it for you. We do appreciate by the time you did notice it you may have felt it was too late. We can only assure you that this is not the normal standard. Your complaint about the shower head was noted by the receptionist on the date and time that you did report it. All our guests comments are very important to us.

In regard to breakfast, we do trust that you enjoyed this meal with us and after further investigation regarding the make up, these items belonged to an elderly guest who had dropped them from her handbag and the staff were in the process of tidying things up for her. We do apologise if you found this off putting over breakfast.

Again thank you for all of your comments both positives and negatives and we trust that you will visit us once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hhave not been here for a while and wont be rushing back. My scampi was good but my husbands steak burger was terrible, tasted like kebab meat. champ cold out of microwave. Manageress offered no charge for burger but that is not a solution. Go to AJs diner in Crossgar and taste their burgers. no comparision. bacon in burger used was denny instants microwave bacon, £10 price of kebab burger went into charity box.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank bridget l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Madam Thank you for taking the time to forward your review. We are very disappointed that your husband did not find our burgers to his liking. We can only assure you that we do not use Kebah meat as you suggested and apologise as we did yesterday. Your husband did point out that this was not noted to the manager to get something removed from your account but simply to draw our attention to the matter. We did offer to replace or to bring you another dish or complimentary dessert as a way of making the situation more to your liking but this offer was refused.
We can only again apologise that you were not happy and assure you that we take the preparation and delivery of your meals very serious. We of course will take all of your comments on board and we thank you again for your review. We trust that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We recently had our reception of our wedding in the Milbrook Lodge Hotel and what an amazing day we had! From the beautiful gardens for pictures and to relax in, to the beautiful meal alongside the excellent service provided by Deborah and all the staff our day ran smoothly and everything we could have wished for. A massive thank you to all at the Milbrook Lodge Hotel for a fabulous day Laura & Michael Reynolds x

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We trust that you enjoy your honeymoon and have a long and happy life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Laura & Michael had wedding reception Sat 5th July 2014 and what a reception they had !!!!
A big thank you to Management & Staff - function room, gardens & food to perfection I could not have asked for better !!!
Granddaughter needed medical attention following morning & they were so helpful & provided all support possible !!!
Again many thanks to all - would have no hesitation in recommending Millbrook Lodge !!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for all of your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your day with us. We trust that all is well with your grand daughter and we wish her good health. We look forward to seeing you back in Millbrook hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Easily spotted from a distance, this B&B extravagantly stands high on a hill. After checking in, I received a great key to an even greater room! It was large, easily heated or cooled. The bathroom was spacious, and although I was always in a hurry to run into Ballynhinch and Belfast, I longed to take a nice long bath. My window from room No. 16 (which so happened to be my lucky number) overlooked the hill, which had six horses grazing peacefully outdoors. Overall, a great experience overall. The food was amazing, the service was even better. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to experience what a B&B should be, and all other B&B's should strive to be like the Millbrook! Be sure to meet the owner, as she is a kind woman who will assure your stay will be perfect.

Room Tip: Get room 16! Even though it is down a long hallway, the view is ridiculously great!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review and great and many comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope that your onward trip was as enjoyable. The beautiful horses now in our front meadow are proving to be an added attraction for our guests, giving a feeling of relaxation which is a must. Again many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews