We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Day Buffet Dinner at the Millbrook”

Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Restaurants in Ballynahinch
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Christmas Day Buffet Dinner at the Millbrook”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Went with my family of four to Millbrook Lodge on Christmas Day and had a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Price was competitive and hotel was beautifully decorated and the grounds/setting was very scenic and rural. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was fresh, hot, delicious and plentiful. Plates were lifted regularly and any extras requested were quickly brought to the table. I am a vegetarian and chef met my prior request for a veggie tartlet which was very tasty and off menu. All in all highly recommended by our family. The only improvements I could suggest for next year would be more direction/instruction where to go etc on arrival and for the soup course to be further away from the starters as there was a bit of confusion with the queuing system. Overall, thank you very much for a lovely Christmas experience for my whole family.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbyboo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    10
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
n.ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant experience!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Went for Sunday Carvery with husband and young daughter. The food was OK (not great, but OK) but the attitude and service-ability of the staff was appalling. There were at least six staff members huddled round the door as we went in, with little or nothing to do. I had booked a table, and one of the six just pointed across the room to a tiny table and told us to go over there. The Dining Room is a big empty white square - no atmosphere or ambience at all. This wasn't helped by the extremely noticeable lack of customers around 1pm - 1.30pm on a Sunday.

The hotel takes payment for the meal at reception before you go into the dining room, so then you have to pay for drinks separately, and they take payment every time your order a drink - no such thing as paying at the end for the whole meal! Despite the abundance of waiting staff, the chef was nowhere to be seen - he kept disappearing so we and the handful of other diners had to stand at the serving area waiting for him to return to be served. We found him chatting to people in reception as we were leaving - so that solved the mystery disappearances.

Horrible experience we will definitely not be repeating.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank k-leagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Dont expect fancy food!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Menu limited and food cold when it arrived. Service was poor. Would not eat here again. It appears that this hotel relies on wedding packages (big board say's so at entrance) but needs to make an effort for tourists and business travellers if it is to survive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank yentl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Newly refurbished restaurant”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Restaurant looks so much brighter and modern. Okay, it was due an overhaul, and thankfully this is now complete - much better!
Went with party of 16 on a Friday, and rather surprised to find only 1 other table (x4) there. Perhaps there were more customers dining in the bar.
The order was taken without any drama, and we all received our starters, main, dessert promptly.
Tea/ coffee was also provided and as usual with may larger parties we all paid individually - nightmare for waiting staff - but with tip included everything went like clockwork..... Everyone enjoyed their meals immensely.
Great venue for an afternoon's get together for folks who haven't seen each other for a while, and it was most relaxing. The location catered well for those with mobility restrictions and for others with hearing impairments.
Staff pleasant & courteous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valtpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“cannot fault.”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

went for dinner with family the service was great very friendly and helpful the food was excellent plenty of choice and lots of it, the surroundings are very pleasant and clean in all a great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Millbrook Lodge Hotel also viewed

Ballynahinch, County Down
Ballynahinch, County Down
 
Ballynahinch, County Down
Ballynahinch, County Down
 
Ballynahinch, County Down
Ballynahinch, County Down
 

Been to Millbrook Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing