We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced processed food”

Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Restaurants in Ballynahinch
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We visited here because of family recommendation but found that the carvery was nothing more than more special than I could have thrown together from Tesco. From the frozen prawn starter to the Sara-lee meringue it was just awful. I'll not be tempted back soon.

4  Thank The_weeman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to forward your review. We are very disappointed than you did not enjoy our Carvery. The Sunday Carvery at the Millbrook Lodge proves to be a very popular dining experience with our guests. We can assure you that we do not provide frozen prawns on our Carvery or use the product Sara Lee but at the same time are by no needs running down the many great products supplied by Tescos. As previously stated our 5 course Carvery with a selection of salads, hor d'oeuvres, fish, etc for starters, a freshly prepared soup course, a choice of Roast Turkey, Dressed Ham and Rost Sirloin of Beef, along with mini sausages, Yorkshire pudding, a selection of vegetables and potatoes, a dessert table of approx 10 desserts plus tea and coffee all for only £18.45 for adults, £7.25 for children and our special little diners under 5 eat free proofs to very popular. Again we are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us and hope that we have the chance to welcome back to the Millbrook Lodge Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Millbrook Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Had lunch here today and was very pleased with the quality of the food. The portions were very generous and the surrounding very pleasant.
The standard of customer service was excellent and the girl who served us was very friendly and helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Went with my family of four to Millbrook Lodge on Christmas Day and had a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Price was competitive and hotel was beautifully decorated and the grounds/setting was very scenic and rural. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was fresh, hot, delicious and plentiful. Plates were lifted regularly and any extras requested were quickly brought to the table. I am a vegetarian and chef met my prior request for a veggie tartlet which was very tasty and off menu. All in all highly recommended by our family. The only improvements I could suggest for next year would be more direction/instruction where to go etc on arrival and for the soup course to be further away from the starters as there was a bit of confusion with the queuing system. Overall, thank you very much for a lovely Christmas experience for my whole family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bobbyboo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Went for Sunday Carvery with husband and young daughter. The food was OK (not great, but OK) but the attitude and service-ability of the staff was appalling. There were at least six staff members huddled round the door as we went in, with little or nothing to do. I had booked a table, and one of the six just pointed across the room to a tiny table and told us to go over there. The Dining Room is a big empty white square - no atmosphere or ambience at all. This wasn't helped by the extremely noticeable lack of customers around 1pm - 1.30pm on a Sunday.

The hotel takes payment for the meal at reception before you go into the dining room, so then you have to pay for drinks separately, and they take payment every time your order a drink - no such thing as paying at the end for the whole meal! Despite the abundance of waiting staff, the chef was nowhere to be seen - he kept disappearing so we and the handful of other diners had to stand at the serving area waiting for him to return to be served. We found him chatting to people in reception as we were leaving - so that solved the mystery disappearances.

Horrible experience we will definitely not be repeating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank k-leagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Menu limited and food cold when it arrived. Service was poor. Would not eat here again. It appears that this hotel relies on wedding packages (big board say's so at entrance) but needs to make an effort for tourists and business travellers if it is to survive.

Thank yentl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Millbrook Lodge Hotel also viewed

Ballynahinch, County Down
Ballynahinch, County Down
 
Ballynahinch, County Down
Ballynahinch, County Down
 

Been to Millbrook Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing