We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun and entertainment”

Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Restaurants in Ballynahinch
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed over 1 night me and hubby and are 2 friends. Rooms were lovely. Plenty of room and spotless. Bar prices are expensive at over £5 for a vodka and pump cranberry. Entertainment that night was Lisa McHugh. Breakfast was not too bad. Hard egg when I asked for soft. And hubbys was plastered in pepper. He choked on his. Be aware before ordering if you dont like eggs with your pepper. All in all a good but expensive night away.

Thank weneedahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Bar pricing is clearly displayed at all bars in the hotel to offer our guests the opportunity to check and make their choice before ordering. We do apologise for the eggs being seasoned which would not be the usual way that these dishes would be presented to our guests. This would be left for our guests to decide upon themselves therefore we cannot understand what has actually happened on this occasion. It is always our aim to please our guests and if a staff members attention had been brought to this matter we would happily replaced/ changed your husbands dish. We trust that this will not put you off returning to visit us again and assure you of our best service and attention at all times. We are delighted that you enjoyed the very talented Lisa McHugh who provided the entertainment on your night with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Millbrook Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Sunday carvery was great - super selection of fresh food for starter, main and dessert..... looking forward to going back again. Friendly staff too which is very important to me and great value :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jacksbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Being a regular of the Millbrook and always getting a good meal with equally good service lately the food has not been up to its usual high standard. I don't know if they've changed chefs or what the problem is but definitely not as good as it used to be. The vegetables were boiled into mush and any goodness was completely lost.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jock221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you taking the time to forward your review. We do apologise that you did not enjoy your vegetables that you received with your meal. We have not changed any of our chefs and always strike to maintain a high standard. We would have very much have liked for you to have drawn our attention to this matter at the time and we could have had the opportunity to make sure that you were completely happy with your entire meal. You mentioned that you are a regular visitor to the hotel and we trust that this would mean that you have been happy on many occasions and hence you return often to the hotel. We do hope that you will return to the hotel and that we will have the opportunity to look after you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Just had a drive by impromptu lunch here. Dressed causally we asked for bar food but were directed into the formal dining area as the bar had been taken over by a wedding. Some discomfort. Service was OK although the staff came three times to remove our plates before we had finished eating leaving me feeling very hurried. It's not like the place was packed... Asked for my grandsons meal to come with the starters, it didn't and we had to ask again. My daughter and son in laws burgers were fine apparently but my husbands meal was cold. That brings me to my vegetable lasagne... I have no idea what I was served but in no universe could it be called lasagne. It was a dish of soggy broccoli, cauliflower and green beans covered by a sheet of pasta and some cheese. It was vile. Pure mush. Then when I went to pay the bill I noticed it had been listed as vegetable curry (which wasn't even on the menu!) and had been charged extra for my side. When I queried it I was greeted with a raised eyebrow but after an animated chat between the manageress and the waitress the bill was amended. Fair service, poor food and obviously all concentration focused on the wedding reception that was being held. Seriously disappointed, expected much better, won't be rushing back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Madam

We did indeed have a wedding yesterday. In order to accommodate all of our guests, bookings and non bookings the wedding was in the bar area and our guests who wish to dine are place in the restaurant area for their comfort. We find that our diners whether full meals, snacks or coffees are more comfortable this way. We apologise for asking 3 times if you were finished eating this was not a case of trying to get you to finish but making sure you are taken care of. We also apologise that a meal did not come out when you require it and hope that this was quickly sorted for you. Your table was comfort checked and we have no report of a meal being cold. You did say that that at the particular time that you dined that we weren't overly busy. At the time you dined we have approximately 30 persons eating and as meals were ready they were removed directly from the kitchen to you. If this had have been drawn to our attention we would have been more than happy to make sure that you were looked after. The staff who were looking after the wedding at the time you were with us were all bar staff and the 6 members of staff that were in the restaurant were all looking after our diners. All of our guests are very important to us both bookings and non bookings. When you drew our attention to the bill where you were charged for an extra side of garlic fries we did apologise , you then said your veg curry was a veg lasagne and we promptly apologised and removed it from your account. This account was produced and we again apologised for the inconvenience to you. At no time did we have raised eyebrows, you were being charged for something you did not get and your account had to be amended quickly for you, we listened to your comments, we apologised, went to the till system, removed and amended your account returned quicky to you with the new account. We Requested you checked it, you said you were happy and payment was taken. Your waitress in passing apologised to you directly for making this error. We trust this explains the situation to you and hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We visited here because of family recommendation but found that the carvery was nothing more than more special than I could have thrown together from Tesco. From the frozen prawn starter to the Sara-lee meringue it was just awful. I'll not be tempted back soon.

4  Thank The_weeman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to forward your review. We are very disappointed than you did not enjoy our Carvery. The Sunday Carvery at the Millbrook Lodge proves to be a very popular dining experience with our guests. We can assure you that we do not provide frozen prawns on our Carvery or use the product Sara Lee but at the same time are by no needs running down the many great products supplied by Tescos. As previously stated our 5 course Carvery with a selection of salads, hor d'oeuvres, fish, etc for starters, a freshly prepared soup course, a choice of Roast Turkey, Dressed Ham and Rost Sirloin of Beef, along with mini sausages, Yorkshire pudding, a selection of vegetables and potatoes, a dessert table of approx 10 desserts plus tea and coffee all for only £18.45 for adults, £7.25 for children and our special little diners under 5 eat free proofs to very popular. Again we are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us and hope that we have the chance to welcome back to the Millbrook Lodge Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Millbrook Lodge Hotel also viewed

Ballynahinch, County Down
Ballynahinch, County Down
 
Ballynahinch, County Down
Ballynahinch, County Down
 
Ballynahinch, County Down
Ballynahinch, County Down
 

Been to Millbrook Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing